We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity at its best!”
Review of Glen Isla House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen Isla House
Ranked #1 of 10 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Serenity at its best!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

A recent trip to Glen Isla for an overnight relaxing stay just before the Xmas rush was ultimately breath-taking. The moment we drove into the property, we were mesmerised by the gardens and tranquility of the place. The staff were hospitable and very friendly and made our stay one to remember. Even the family dog made us feel welcome! Our breakfast the following morning was fresh and delicious. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Alayne,
Thanks for your kind words about your experiences at Glen Isla! The heritage gardens date back to the late 1800's with a number of the trees being more than 100 years old.

An established heritage garden of 2 acres certainly makes for serenity, and plenty of private spaces to enjoy in the gardens, and all of this just 100 metres direct access from the sandy beach.

Nancy (the family dog) is a pedigree English Staffordshire, She is somewhat of a 'fixture' here at Glen Isla, and at 11 years old, she's a grand old dame having retired to Glen Isla from 'show' career some years back. She just loves people and as you have experienced is always keen to make guests feel welcome.

Thanks again and we hope to see you here at Glen Isla again soon...

Ian & Madeleine, Owners and Hosts at Glen Isla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
165
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Our time at the Glen Isla House was superb. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, our every need was well taken care of. The Heritage House is an amazing property with a warm, embracing feel that cannot be beaten! Ian and Madeleine are outstanding hosts, their attention to detail, hospitality, and wonderfully layed out breakfast made the stay ever so memorable. My only compliant is that they are located in Australia - working on convincing them to come the Napa Valley in California, USA. OH PLEASE DO!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Robin,
Thanks for your review of our property and your stay with us at Glen Isla.. We think breakfast is one of our features at Glen Isla (many guests comment about how much they enjoyed our chef's 'to order' special breakfast in the dining room here on Tripadvisor and in the guest book at Glen Isla).

Both our professional chefs (Ian and Martin) are passionate foodies, and bring their travel and work experiences from the USA, Europe, and Asia to dining at Glen Isla.

Indeed we have travelled in Nappa and Sonoma in California more than once (especially since Ian is a wine lover and this is one of the great wine regions of the world). Some wonderful memories and B&B experiences there from our travels. It reminded us of the Yarra Valley here in Victoria, and we will be back there to Nappa one of these days, but unfortunately no plans for a "Glen Isla House Nappa" anytime soon...!

Ian & Madeleine, Owners and Hosts at Glen Isla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Everything from arrival to departure was such a wonderful experience. The unique accommodation is stunningly beautiful and our hosts Ian and Madeleine couldn't have made us more welcome. They are superb hosts and such enjoyable company. Ian booked our VIP Tour for the Penguin Parade and recommended the "must do's" and best restaurants for evening dinner. Local knowledge always the best. Breakfast was worth a review all on its own, simply amazing. A return visit is a must. Many thanks to Ian & Madeleine at Glen Isla House.

Room Tip: This is boutique accommodation at its best. A small, luxury country house. All rooms are stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Moira,

Well, what can we say! We sincerely appreciate your very kind words and comments on Glen Isla House!

We have travelled extensively over the past 40+ years, and lived in a number of overseas countries during that time. Glen Isla represents what we feel is the best of those travel experiences in terms of genuine personal hospitality from hands-on owners, and our accommodations have been architected to be elegant, comfortable, uncluttered and practical - all with a touch of authentic history.

Our breakfast service in the dining room receives many positive reviews and comments in our guest book and here on Tripadvisor, and we seek to make every breakfast individually special (also, our chefs are very experienced with special dietary requests!)

Your thoughts echo what so many of our guests have told us over the past 10 years of operating Glen Isla House and we appreciate them very much.

We're very glad indeed you enjoyed you stay here on Phillip Island and here at Glen Isla, and we would love to see you again here at Glen Isla...

Warm regards,
Ian and Madeleine
Owners & Hosts at Glen Isla House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

During my recent trip to Australia my two night stay at Glen Isla House,was to be my 50th birthday treat to myself...........it did not disappoint in any way shape or form.From start to finish my stay lived up to all expectations based on the reviews i'd previously read about Glen Isla House.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan30663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Jan,
Thanks very much for your kind words, and pleased to hear we lived up to your expectations during your recent stay with us!
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a great review, and we hope to see you when you are down in Australia next time.
Belated happy 50th birthday wishes...
Ian & Madeleine Baker
Owners and Hosts
Glen Isla House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Beautiful B & B with beautiful hosts to match. We spent a night in the Heritage Cottage and loved all of it. The room was beautiful and cosy.

The gardens are perfect and peaceful. You feel like you are in heaven as you walk around the manicured gardens and all this is metres from the beach.

Breakfast in the morning was amazing.

We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryann_farrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Maryann
We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review - indeed thanks for the very kind words. The Heritage Suite is of course our authentic historic accommodations, and we're very pleased you liked it...
Breakfast here at Glen Isla is a special part of the Glen Isla experience, so glad you liked 'chef's breakfast'!
We hope to welcome you back to 'heaven' again soon...
Kind regards,
Ian & Madeleine Baker
Owners and Hosts at Glen Isla House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Gateway cottage was the perfect place for our romantic getaway with its peaceful charm and tranquil setting. The grounds was an oasis of calm beauty, and yet so close to everything - restaurants, beach, and tourist attractions. We experienced utmost seclusion as if we were the only ones there and enjoyed our stay in this quaint cottage. Our host, Ian, was delightful, helpful and friendly and his recommendations proved spot-on. We enjoyed our stay so much, we are already talking about a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Chris,
Thanks indeed for taking the time to express your thoughts on our Gate Cottage, and Glen Isla.

The 2-story gate cottage with dorma windows overlooking the heritage gardens, is somewhat unique - providing seclusion and privacy in a garden setting, and being self-contained. Tucked under the canopy of two 100 year-old oak trees, its a blissful setting with old-world charm and elegance!

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and remarks, and hope to welcome you to Glen Isla again...

Kind regards,
Ian (& Madeleine) Baker
Owners and hosts
Glen Isla House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

When I was a little girl I used to walk past this property and think how amazing it was and also imagine how magical it was inside those walls...and I have to say it was all that and more! The breakfast was fabulous and the hosts Maddie and where like staying with old friends!
This is now one of my favourite places to stay and we will definitely be back and recommend it to everyone we know. It was a perfect place and way to spend our 1st wedding anniversary. Thank you again Maddie, Ian & Nancy (the 4 legged customer relations consultant )

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexya_Doller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Alexya,

Thanks indeed for your fabulous review and comments on Glen Isla. Coincidentally we have been partnering with Crabtree & Evelyn as part of their launch of their "secret garden' range in the lead up to Christmas!

Indeed the 2 acres of authentic heritage gardens here at Glen Isla are in effect a 'secret garden' and date back to the late 1800's. In fact the English oaks are 100+ years old!

As well as the 'secret garden' there is of course the breakfast experience in the elegant dining overlooking the gardens as well. Chef's breakfast is something else we think too.

We really appreciate your wonderful feedback, and hope to welcome you back to Glen Isla again soon....

I'm sure Nancy - our guest relations officer (four legged variety) will be pleased to see next time as well.

Ian Baker
Owner & General Manager
Glen Isla House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.2 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
1.2 mi away
Holmwood Guesthouse
Holmwood Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
1.8 mi away
Seas The Day B&B
Seas The Day B&B
#1 of 4 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 10 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Isla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Isla House

Property: Glen Isla House
Address: 230 Church Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Glen Isla House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award-winning boutique country-house accommodations offering discerning travellers finest surroundings, absolute privacy and unobtrusive service from internationally experienced and well traveled owner/hosts. Set in the grounds of the historic Glen Isla Homestead (c1870), we offer genuine historic and purpose architected guest accommodations all with modern bathroom amenities and separate entrances, secluded and very private heritage gardens, refined elegance & old-world charm just 100m from a pristine sandy beach. Enjoy chef-inspired special breakfasts in the elegant dining room overlooking the authentic heritage gardens (kitchen may be closed some days), and local nature/wildlife experiences at Phillip Island Nature Parks (close to Little Penguins, Koalas and the Seal Watching Cruise). Highly recommended Frommers Australia Guide as the best place to stay. Recommended Fodors, and Lonely Planet Guides since 2007. Member of Small Elegant Hotels since 2004. TripAdvisor HALL of FAME inductee for TriAdvisor excellence awards 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016. GLEN ISLA HOUSE is not associated in any way with another property nearby called Apartments at Glen Isla. Glen Isla House is the original and historic Glen Isla dating from c1870 with private heritage gardens and direct beach access, warmly welcoming discerning travellers since 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glen Isla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Isla House Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing