We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Glen Isla House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Isla House
Ranked #1 of 10 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This place turned out to be one of our favorites on our trip to Australia. We stayed in the Anderson suite, a separate cottage which was delightfully charming. For starters, Ian and Madeleine were incredible hosts and welcomed my partner and I for our brief visit most warmly. Treats and champagne were provided in our cottage, and they gave us great recommendations on places to visit and things to see throughout the town, which were easily accessible. The cottage was tastefully decorated and preserved its historic period nicely, complete with refined yet modern conveniences. The grounds were gated and felt secure, coupled with charming courtyard and an easy short path to the beach, as well. We wished we could have stayed an extra night. The gas fireplace adds extra charm, and the cottage features a modern AC/heater unit if needed, plus a refrigerator. Restaurants in the area close early, and sometimes, without advanced notice, so be sure to consider your dining options in advance (of which Ian and Madeleine are happy to make recommendations). I would definitely recommend this place for a quality experience accompanied by refined hosts. The Penguin March is nearby (pay the extra funds for the Ultimate Ticket, which will separate you from the crowds) as well as the Koala Bear conservation center and the Heritage Farm. A great way to experience Phillip Island.

Room Tip: The cottage, while a bit more in price, is worth the extra costs to enhance your experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtgrubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 262 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is more than just a B&B! Enter the gates of Glen Isla on Philip Island; you enter your own retreat. There is nothing like this anywhere else on Philip Island. For the couples looking for quality, character, hospitality and excellence ~ this estate is tranquil, but only 100 meters from the beach, accessed through a private walkway, and 2 minutes from Cowes centre. I see international travellers stay at Glen Isla – but this place should be booked by Victorian couples where they look for a retreat to re-charge. Chefs in the kitchen for breakfast use local fresh produce and every dietary requirement catered for.
We have stayed in many B&B’s and Luxury Small Hotels in Australia – as we travel locally. This is a star (and I would only rate Bloomfield in Queensland at the same level).

Kerry and Christine Gore - Melbourne

Room Tip: If you book the top selection (for just a small increase in price), it will not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Kerry and Christine...

Thank you so mush for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at Glen Isla House...

Its gratifying to receive reviews such as yours. We seem to have managed to delight guests for 10 years now, and comments such as yours are very pleasing indeed to both Madeleine and I.

We have the opportunity to welcome many guests to our historic property, and over the years we've met some most interesting guests from all over the world, and our underlying principle has always been that we offer 'hospitality' as we would hope to receive when we travel - not just a room and breakfast!

Since we've had the opportunity to travel extensively and experience great hospitality and accommodations, we have aspired since opening Glen Isla House to offer world-class hospitality here at Glen Isla and your feedback greatly encourages us to continue with that quest...

We hope to welcome you back to Glen Isla again.

Ian & Madeleine - Owners and Hosts - Glen Isla House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Glen Isla is a wonderful place to stay. It is comfortable, breakfast is terrific, service is great and thier dog is just about the friendliest that I've ever met. All this and it is reasonably priced. What more can one ask for? If we ever revisit Philip Island we will look no further.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon_Bennet_senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle this is the place to visit.
My partner and I have travelled many places near and far but have never been greeted and welcomed in such a way, felt like a home away from home.
The owners are as gorgeous as the place itself. Welcoming, warm and inviting. The food the Chef creates is all from local produce which is amazingly fresh, the Chef brings out gorgeous flavors in the food he creates, who would have thought breakfast would be so tasty. Please ask about the history of the property, every inch of the property has a story, from the trees to the paintings on the walls, fascinating! Enjoy a good story, as I did. This place is quite, romantic and relaxing. After breakfast me and my partner went for a walk down the beach, quite secluded in this particular area and only a 3 min walk. It was also nice to see all age groups staying here, both older and younger couples. Thank you for your hospitality this weekend Ian and Madeline, we will definitely be back. Regards, C & R.

Room Tip: They are all great and consistent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 711Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Well, thank you for the review and very kind words...

With an authentic history dating back to the late 1800's and surrounding heritage gardens, Glen Isla certainly offers something a little bit different in terms of accommodations and surrounds.

Add in some personal hospitality, a breakfast experience under-pinned with local ingredients where possible (some from our own organic garden on the property), and a chef who is a passionate foodie, an elegant fine-dining restaurant-style dining room, and as as you say - its 'serenity and history' at its best!

We hope to see you again here at Glen Isla House...

Ian & Madeleine - Owners and Hosts - Glen Isla House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at Glen Isla House this weekend. After a warm, personal welcome, some local information and suggestions as to where to eat dinner, we were taken to our lovely room. Next morning was a breakfast living up to Chef Ian's promise, fresh fruits and local yoghurt and a cooked to order breakfast served by Ian's hospitable wife. FAbulous gardens and a shoert walk to the beach. A perfect night's stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. If you have 2 nights, try the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have just returned home from spending our fourth year staying with Ian and Maddie for the weekend of the Phillip Island Classic. A serene oasis in Cowes with the most wonderful accommodation. The attention to detail is second to none from Ian's fabulous breakfasts to Maddie's beautifully decorated rooms, complete with Molton Brown toiletries in the bathrooms to the gorgeous gardens and surrounding grounds. We love our annual stay at Glen Isla and have come to consider Maddie and Ian not only as our hosts for the weekend but our friends. This is world class accommodation without a doubt!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamandMally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Pam and Mel, Indeed thanks for your kind words...

We appreciate feed-back and strive continually to offer the highest and professional standards of hospitality and accommodations here at Glen Isla. Seems from your comments we achieved that again!!

Madeleine and I have travelled extensively around the world, and lived in Europe, Asia and USA, over the past 30 years or so, with those experiences influencing much of what we offer here at Glen Isla. We're very pleased to hear your thoughts about our 'world class' facilities!

We have you penciled-in for next year, and look forward to welcoming you back...

Ian & Madeleine - Owners and Hosts - Glen Isla House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Highly recommended without a doubt. Wonderful rooms, gardens and hospitality with a personal touch. Ian and Maddie were amazing, with great recommendations for things to do and see on the island, along with tips to make those experiences perfect. We must make mention of the amazing breakfast too. Nothing was too much trouble for Ian and Maddie, you really felt genuinely welcome. A very special experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaikmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Sincere thanks for your comments - its been our objective since opening Glen Isla in 2003 to treat our guests - just as we would expect to be treated (and we've travelled all over the world over the past 30 years).

Hospitality is all about the complete experience, not just a room and breakfast here at Glen Isla...

As we often say - if you're looking for e corporate hotel, and a corporate hotel experience - well you're in the wrong place at Glen Isla!

We've always offered a personal welcome, advice on things to see and do, and of course accommodations which are well thought out, comfortable and practical, in a setting with a genuine touch of history and great (chef-prepared) food...

Hope to see you again...

Ian & Madeleine - Owners and Hosts - Glen Isla House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.2 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
1.2 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
238 reviews
4.5 mi away
Oak Tree Lodge Luxury B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Seas The Day B&B
Seas The Day B&B
#1 of 4 in Ventnor
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
4.2 mi away
Clifftop Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Isla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Isla House

Address: 230 Church St, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range: $201 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glen Isla House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award-winning boutique country-house accommodations offering discerning travellers finest surroundings, absolute privacy and unobtrusive service from internationally experienced and well traveled owner/hosts. Set in the grounds of the historic Glen Isla Homestead (c1870), we offer genuine historic and purpose architected guest accommodations all with modern bathroom amenities and separate entrances, secluded and very private heritage gardens, refined elegance & old-world charm just 100m from a pristine sandy beach. Enjoy chef-inspired breakfasts in the elegant dining room overlooking the authentic heritage gardens (kitchen may be closed some days), and local nature/wildlife experiences at Phillip Island Nature Parks (close to Little Penguins, Koalas and the Seal Watching Cruise). Highly recommended Frommers Australia Guide as the best place to stay. Recommended Fodors, and Lonely Planet Guides since 2007. Member of Small Elegant Hotels since 2004. TripAdvisor HALL of FAME inductee for TriAdvisor excellence awards 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016. GLEN ISLA HOUSE is not associated in any way with another property nearby called Apartments at Glen Isla. Glen Isla House is the original and historic Glen Isla dating from c1870 with private heritage gardens and direct beach access, warmly welcoming discerning travellers since 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glen Isla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Isla House Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing