We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Margaret B”
Review of Glen Isla House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Isla House
Ranked #1 of 10 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Beautiful bed and breakfast in idyllic location. Beautiful room, friendly, welcoming hosts and delicious breakfast. Very helpful with restaurant suggestions.
Beautiful beach a 2 minute walk and very close to town shops. Garden setting is cool and relaxing even in very hot weather

Room Tip: All rooms excellent, but Anderson suite is something special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thanks Margaret for your kind words about Glen Isla, and the Anderson Heritage Suite (our genuine historic accommodations offering)...

Since you have mentioned the heritage suite (and enjoyed it), some information for other readers!

Originally part of the main heritage house (dating back to c1870), the Anderson Heritage Suite offers old world charm and elegance, with period furnishings, a king-size four poster bed, and a sitting area in front of the gas log fire. The spacious en-suite bathroom, offers a large corner spa bath (the only room at Glen Isla offering a bath), and then there is of course the private terrace - all adjacent to the walk-way direct to the beach.

We hope to see you here at Glen Isla again soon...

Kind regards,
Ian and Madeleine, Owners and hosts at Glen Isla House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 262 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a Saturday night and found Glen Isla to be a beautiful getaway. So quiet and calming and the hosts were extremely friendly. Highly recommend if you are considering a bed and breakfast (delicious breakfast) escape.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPD3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Many thanks for your comments and review.

We appreciate you taking the time to pass on your most kind words and thoughts about your experience at Glen Isla, and hope to welcome you again soon...

Kind regards,
Ian and Madeleine - Owners and Hosts at Glen Isla House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

we stayed at glen isla house for two nights whilst attending a wedding at philip island. it was a very relaxing break - the setting, wonderful garden, very attractive and comfortable rooms, and great communal lounge and dining room, not to mention very attentive and friendly hosts. the breakfasts were wonderful and freshly cooked. it was close to the beach for walking and i had to have a swim in the sea. glen isla made the long trip worthwhile. an excellent standard facility.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Judith,
It was great to meet you and your husband here at Glen Isla, and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with others here on Tripadvisor.

Many guests comment on our special breakfast by one of our professional chefs and hand-crafted from freshest ingredients, including culinary herbs from our own kitchen garden.

Thanks for the kind words, and we do hope to see you again here at Glen Isla for a swim at the beach here (just 100 metres from the back gate of Glen Isla!)

Sincere regards,
Ian and Madeleine - Owners and hosts at Glen Isla (c1870)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

From the booking on the phone to the goodbyes on our departure Ian and Madelaine offer the perfect hospitality and getaway accommodation in Cowes! We felt so welcome once we arrived at Glen Isla. Madelaine sat us down at a table with a local map and showed us places to dine for dinner and places to see. We had booked a classic room "The Gold room" for one night. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated. Ian cooks a fantastic breakfast, you first have the choice of cereals, fruitsalad, yoghurt, juices etc then your choice of cooked breaky, eggs, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms or for the sweet tooth, pancake stacks with berries and cream! Ian and Madelaine were friendly, helpful and professional at all times. Will definately return again. Loved our little getaway at Glen Isla!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks indeed for your review.

We treat our guests just as we would expect to be treated if we were standing where you are... As seasoned travellers ourselves over 30+ years, we thought a lot about the design of our accommodations, and the sort of experiences people are seeking.

We're pleased you liked our style of hospitality here at Glen Isla, and hope to see you again soon.

Ian and Maddie (Owners and hosts at Glen Isla House)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for just one night as we were travelling from Sydney to Melbourne and found it be one of the best B&Bs (or even hotels) that we've ever stayed at.

The house itself is lovely - a mixture of original and new characterful buildings that are all really pretty and set in absolutely gorgeous grounds.

The room that we had was next to the main house and it also was fantastic - light, airy, clean and well furnished with a great separate space for luggage and a superb bathroom.

The location's great - we used it to explore Phillip Island and go and see the Penguins and the Koalas. The beach is also just outside of the back gate of the property if you want to swim or a walk.

Finally, what makes this most special are the people. Ian and Maddie are doing a superb job here of making sure that everything is perfect for your stay (even for us doing just one night) and they are so welcoming and friendly that it really does make it a special place to stop.

Finally, finally - Ian's food at breakfast was fantastic - it compares very well to food we've had anywhere in the world.

Top marks - I'd go back and stay again any time I could.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

A fantastic 3 night stay, great food and perfect rooms with complimentary sherry a welcome addition. Also just 40metres to the beach. Would definitely stay again, Madeleine and Ian are great hosts. Just a short drive from central Cowes with penguins, koalas and surfing also with 20 mins drive.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwytb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you for your review - and we're pleased your 3 day stay was a great experience on Phillip Island and at Glen Isla. Great weather at this time of the year to be out and about...

As frequent travellers, over many years, we have fond memories of properties in Europe, UK and the USA where we found hands-on owners and hosts, who were able to provide local knowledge and advice, to make our stay enjoyable.

At Glen Isla, we're always sought to offer an accommodation experience with some personal touches and interaction with our guests, never like a sterile 'hotel' stay...

The swimming beach - just out the back gate from Glen Isla (direct access), is pristine and never crowded. Surf beaches are however on the southern side of the island, but just 20 minutes drive as you say...

We wish you a safe journey in Australia and back to the UK...

Ian & Madeleine
Owners and Hosts
Glen Isla House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

A lovely shiplap collection of houses on a manicured estate in an otherwise typical Ozzy town. Very French, cute pond surrounded with old trees. The best place in town to stay if you want atmosphere, great service and wonderfully detailed interior design.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kontessa230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Many of our guests describe Glen Isla House as a 'haven' - set in 2 acres of very private and secluded heritage gardens dating back to the late 1800's, and just 100 metres from a pristine sandy beach!

French? - Indeed we have spent many holidays in France and love the architecture you see in the countryside of France, and yes some of that rubbed off when we were designing Glen Isla House!

Thanks for your review and taking the time to write... We hope to welcome you back to Glen Isla again soon...

Ian & Madeleine - Owners and Hosts at Glen Isla House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.2 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
1.2 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
238 reviews
4.5 mi away
Oak Tree Lodge Luxury B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Seas The Day B&B
Seas The Day B&B
#1 of 4 in Ventnor
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
4.2 mi away
Clifftop Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Isla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Isla House

Address: 230 Church St, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range: $201 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glen Isla House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award-winning boutique country-house accommodations offering discerning travellers finest surroundings, absolute privacy and unobtrusive service from internationally experienced and well traveled owner/hosts. Set in the grounds of the historic Glen Isla Homestead (c1870), we offer genuine historic and purpose architected guest accommodations all with modern bathroom amenities and separate entrances, secluded and very private heritage gardens, refined elegance & old-world charm just 100m from a pristine sandy beach. Enjoy chef-inspired breakfasts in the elegant dining room overlooking the authentic heritage gardens (kitchen may be closed some days), and local nature/wildlife experiences at Phillip Island Nature Parks (close to Little Penguins, Koalas and the Seal Watching Cruise). Highly recommended Frommers Australia Guide as the best place to stay. Recommended Fodors, and Lonely Planet Guides since 2007. Member of Small Elegant Hotels since 2004. TripAdvisor HALL of FAME inductee for TriAdvisor excellence awards 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016. GLEN ISLA HOUSE is not associated in any way with another property nearby called Apartments at Glen Isla. Glen Isla House is the original and historic Glen Isla dating from c1870 with private heritage gardens and direct beach access, warmly welcoming discerning travellers since 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glen Isla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Isla House Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing