We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and relaxing and also overpriced”
Review of Glen Isla House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Isla House
Ranked #1 of 10 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice and relaxing and also overpriced”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We found that our experience in this overpriced b and b, fell short of the mark.
Our expectacions were high and we were a little dissapointed with the whole experience and especially the hole in our back pocket. Many other classy b&b's to choose from on phillip island.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thanks indeed for your review and feedback.

We welcome all feedback both positive and negative, and have taken on-board your comments. It's an important means for us to be able shape our accommodation offerings and guest experiences going forward.

We've been operating Glen Isla House for just over 9 years now, and we receive guests and reviews from all over the world, including travel writers and journalists. Your comments certainly assist us in positioning our accommodations in both the domestic and international marketplaces - both of which are important to us.

We always encourage guests to speak to us if there is anything they find not quite right or are unhappy about so that we can address such things - immediately, but it seems we missed the opportunity on this occasion... Our contact details (email and phone) are on this site if you wish to make contact.

Thanks also for your comments on a nice and relaxing stay - one of the many reasons guests choose to stay at Glen Isla in our experience. We trust you enjoyed our very fine breakfast, as well as the surrounds of our heritage property during your stay.

Ian and Madeleine - Owners and hosts at Glen Isla House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
165
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ry, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Having spent 6 weeks travelling around NZ and Australia and staying in some fabulous places Glen Isla House was simply one of the best. Beautiful surroundings, lovely accommodation, very welcoming hosts and to top it off, a wonderful breakfast. Peace and quite and a sandy beach a short walk away but close enough to the centre of the pretty town of Cowes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Glen Isla for our wedding anniversary.

Glen Isla is located in a very peaceful location away from the 'hustle and bustle' of the main street of Cowes in the most beautiful grounds with 100 year old oaks and manicured gardens.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. I made a comment that after a long wet drive I was looking forward to checking into our room and making a cup of coffee. Madeline immediately offered to make us a fresh plunger of coffee and brought it over to our suite. Fantastic!

We stayed in the Anderson Heritage suite. It was absolutely amazing. The room had a beautiful king-size, 4 poster mahogany Chippendale bed with lovely linens. Bed was super comfortable! There is also a gas log fire in the room which was great as it was quite a chilly weekend. The bathroom had a large 2 person spa with gorgeous bathroom products.

Breakfast the next morning was possibly the best we've ever experienced in our many travels. There is a great selection of cereals, fresh fruit salad, various compotes, stewed fruits and the yummiest Gippsland yoghurt.

Madeline then takes your order for your cooked breakfast which Ian prepares fresh for you in his amazing kitchen. Bacon, free range eggs, stuffed mushrooms and vine ripened tomatoes. Yummy!! Ian also held an impromptu "master class" in his kitchen where he showed us how to prepare the most perfect poached eggs. Thanks so much!!

Overall, a superbly relaxing weekend at a guest house operated by fabulous hosts who make you feel completely at home from the moment you arrive until they personally bid you farewell.

Thankyou Madeline and Ian. Can't wait to return.

P.S. Please give Nancy a big hug from us. She's coming home with me next time!!

Room Tip: For a special treat stay in one of the Heritage suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Endless-Summer-Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thanks indeed for your wonderful comments - we appreciate your feedback on the Anderson Heritage Suite (our historic accommodations offering) and our breakfast service.

Glad you enjoyed the 'master-class' in the kitchen! We may need to consider offering these going forward as a part of the experience, as its not the first time we have requests and run an impromptu class....

We (and Nancy - our loveable Staffordshire Terrier) look forward to welcoming you back to Glen Isla...

Ian & Madeleine - Owners and hosts Glen Isla House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2012

From the moment Ian greeted us in the driveway upon our arrival until we scraped the last tasty bites off of our breakfast plates, we enjoyed every minute of our stay here. The attention to detail in our room (the Green Room!) was first class, including complimentary port and cookies. The breakfast was more than amazing with farm raised eggs, locally made yogurt, fig compote and a raspberry tart made by Ian and more. We definitely would stay here again and will recommend to all our friends!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Many thanks for the kind words. Your review embodies the guest experiences we aspire to achieve consistently here at Glen Isla, and we sincerely appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire,UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This place is just beautiful. The rooms are spacious and every last details have been thought of. The breakfasts were some of the best we have had anywhere in the world. The gardens are beautiful and there are plenty of chairs to sit and relax. It is also only a few minutes walk to the beach.
Ian and Madeleine couldn’t be better hosts, giving lots of information about what to do and see while you are on the island.
It is a bit of a walk from the centre of Cowes but that is a good thing. I found Cowes a bit touristy for my liking but being out at Glen Isla was perfect. This was by far the best place we stayed on our trip. I would say to everyone stay here you can’t beat it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50_s0methings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

A wonderful B&B. My boyfriend and I booked in last minute over the Australia Day long weekend using wotif.com. Glen Isla matched the wotif description perfectly. Upon check in, our host described features of the area and recommendd some lovely restaurants for dinner. We stayed in the oriental room which was lovely and comfortable. Highlights were complimentary water in our room, plus tea and biscuits which we enjoyed in the afternoon before headed out to dinner (at one of the recommended restaurants, just lovely). After dinnre and a visit to the night market we returned to our room and enjoyed a (complimentary) bit of port before bedtime. The next morning we were treated to a delicious gourmet breakfast before heading off exploring to the farmer's market. All around, Glen Isla house is a great place to stay on the island - great location, lovely rooms, lovely hosts and very comfortable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This B&B was adorable!!! The grounds are immaculately kept! The staff was extremely nice, helpful and attentive. The breakfast is delicious! The rooms are very clean and well kept! Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBrianne715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.2 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holmwood Guesthouse
Holmwood Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Cowes
143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seas The Day B&B
Seas The Day B&B
#1 of 4 in Ventnor
278 reviews
4.5 mi away
Oak Tree Lodge Luxury B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Isla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Isla House

Property: Glen Isla House
Address: 230 Church Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Glen Isla House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award-winning boutique country-house accommodations offering discerning travellers finest surroundings, absolute privacy and unobtrusive service from internationally experienced and well traveled owner/hosts. Set in the grounds of the historic Glen Isla Homestead (c1870), we offer genuine historic and purpose architected guest accommodations all with modern bathroom amenities and separate entrances, secluded and very private heritage gardens, refined elegance & old-world charm just 100m from a pristine sandy beach. Enjoy chef-inspired breakfasts in the elegant dining room overlooking the authentic heritage gardens (kitchen may be closed some days), and local nature/wildlife experiences at Phillip Island Nature Parks (close to Little Penguins, Koalas and the Seal Watching Cruise). Highly recommended Frommers Australia Guide as the best place to stay. Recommended Fodors, and Lonely Planet Guides since 2007. Member of Small Elegant Hotels since 2004. TripAdvisor HALL of FAME inductee for TriAdvisor excellence awards 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016. GLEN ISLA HOUSE is not associated in any way with another property nearby called Apartments at Glen Isla. Glen Isla House is the original and historic Glen Isla dating from c1870 with private heritage gardens and direct beach access, warmly welcoming discerning travellers since 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glen Isla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Isla House Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing