We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, elegance and privacy all served by the friendliest people topped with a delicious first class breakfast.”
Review of Glen Isla House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Isla House
Ranked #1 of 10 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We never felt like we were paying customers, instead we felt that we were being cared for by friends who simply wanted us to relax. Comfortable bed, quiet and beautiful surroundings made the place a retreat.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnDal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 251 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

Hosts, Madeleine & Ian, are so, super friendly!! The rooms are neat, tidy, and clean. The hosts adapted to our need for an early check out & had breakfast for us before their usual serving time. Our only complaint, is that we could not spend more time at Glen Isla House, with these lovely people!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunsmilemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Outstanding service, excellent food, and lovely rooms...without doubt the best place I have stayed for a long time (and I do have the good fortune to travel a lot for pleasure, and the misfortune to travel a lot on business). No hesitation at all in recommending this as a great place to stay while on the island. Oh, and the scrambled eggs - truly the best in the world.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BauHaus_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

On the road to Phillip Island we were looking in a guide book and saw a good listing for Glen Isla House. We rang them to see if they had availability for 2 nights. They only had one but we took it. We didn't regret it. It turned out that they were off the island the second night and consequently closed but they kindly allowed us to keep the room for the 2 nights with a generous discount for the lack of breakfast on the second morning. The hosts are charming and very well travelled worldwide. They take pride in providing a pleasant, well thought out and peaceful place to stay.
Car parking is on site and secure, the rooms are not huge but very pleasant and each is different in decor. As well as their standard units, they have at least one other, more specialised unit for self- catering needs. The breakfast is a cold buffet plus a cooked meal of your choice done to order. The bathroom has a shower and basin only but to a good standard and the second separate dressing room with hanging and storage space and a safe, fridge and tea / coffee is a nice touch. Bed is very comfy! Mature gardens all round you and a summerhouse to sit in and read or work. Our hosts returned from their trip at lunchtime and were happy to allow us to use the lounge to work in until mid-afternoon. There is good WI-FI coverage - about to be further improved apparently!
Local eating possibilities are explained to you on request. Cowes is really the only small town of any consequence on the island and by all accounts Isla House is the best available accommodation. It is aimed I think, at couples or singles and is not the ideal place for families with children. We thank our hosts for their hospitality and kindness in allowing us to stay longer. We're pleased we came!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terence57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My partner and I recently made a trip to Philip Island and stayed at Glen Isla house after reviewing recommendations from Tripadvisor - and we are so glad we did. I had originally asked for a yellow room, but when I arrived we were given a green room - as the other wing of the house was occupied by three families who were traveling together. However, the green room turned out to be a nicer room and secluded (really good for us, as we are young couples) and they even gave us a complimentary champagne for not having the yellow room available for us. I am gluten intolerant and when they found out, they even made me a gluten free pancake for one breakfast! They have the most beautiful garden with spacious parking
lot and very nicely located to the other parts of the town. However, it might be worth to know that the regular rooms do not come with bath - only the suite does. It would have been nice but the whole place was still fantastic. Heater was sometimes bit noisy but we still slept relatively well. The hosts were very helpful in where to visit and where to eat in the town - and that's exactly what we did and experience could not have been better. I highly recommend Glen Isla house to anyone who visits Philip Island.

Room Tip: The 'green room' is very quite and right by a beautiful garden area. The furnishings are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great location ,close to beach but kind of secluded amongst the well established gardens.
Friendly hosts made us very welcome and the food was excellent.
Rooms have different themes which are tastefully done.
Superb getaway for couples.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Thanks for your comments on Glen Isla House.

Our philosophy has always been to treat our guests as we would expect to be treated when we're staying somewhere!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights during the 3rd and last week of our holiday and after staying at a number of expensive resorts & hotels up in Queensland, I was very pleased to find that this B&B is just as good, if not better than the previous reviews had stated.

My husband and I had become quite practiced at casting a critical eye on the positives & negatives of all the places we had stayed. We decided that the reason Glen Isla was so good was simply down to the small things that actually make a big difference. I've noted these below so that others can decide how important these things are.

Positives:
Lovely location and setting within spacious private garden.
Nice jug of skimmed milk and bottled water provided daily - at no charge!.
Nice tea and Coffee Bags (my husband hates that Nescafe instant stuff you get everywhere else, so this made his day).
Nice bathroom, good sized bedroom and comfy bed with all the usual amenities. Very nice to have a pleasant seating area right outside your room should you like to make the most of the sunshine.
Liquid soap in the bathroom - another of my husbands points, as he hates all the bars of soap you usually have to use (especially annoying in so called eco friendly resorts who replace them with new bars each day!)
Free internet access - although we were in the furthest room from the main lounge where the router sits. So it wasn't a brilliant connection - but as far as I can tell they don't get very good bandwidth in Australia anyway. It was good enough to check and update whatever you need to though.
Lovely Breakfast - plenty to choose from. Nice dining room with lounge area.
Personal service - a nice break from your typical corporate attitude. Friendly advice on best routes up to the Yarra Valley was most appreciated.
Lovely friendly dog which came to say hello every day when she knew how much attention she would gain from us. I'm sure if you don't like dog's she wouldn't bother you - she knew very quickly that we would make a fuss of her though - that's why she came back whenever we were outside our room.
Just 100 yards from the beach - just a short walk out the back of the grounds and you can either swim or as we did, rent kayaks and paddle along the shore.

Negatives: None - this B&B offered far more than the so called 5 star hotel we stayed at in Cairns for the same price. If you are going to see the Penguins - stay here! In fact if you want to go to Philip Island for any reason, stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRD_Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Thanks for your kind words.

Like you we have also stayed at many larger "5 Star" properties over the years (mostly on business), and when we created Glen Isla House, we were determined to engineer out the bad things we've seen, and engineer in the great things we have seen in our travels all over the world over the past 30 years or so - all with a touch of history and personal attention.

These days when we're travelling, we seek out smaller properties where the owners are hands on, there's local knowledge, and usually lots of little things that make a difference to our stay...

Here at Glen Isla, our deluxe classic rooms all offer a walk-in luggage/utility room where we've housed the bar fridge (not a mini-bar full of overpriced beverages - but offering fresh milk for tea/coffee and complimentary bottled water), extra large luggage rack and apparel handing space, tea/coffee making facilities (we hate those UHT milk packages too!), and a hotel safe for guests to secure valuables etc.

We've recently revamped our WiFi internet access in a bid to improve access from all over the property with multiple routers. That said, we unfortunately don't have massive bandwidth on the island! Access is better - but it can be slow at times it seems.

Thanks again for your comments - we appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us and others reading this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.2 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
1.2 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
232 reviews
1.1 mi away
North Pier Hotel
North Pier Hotel
#10 of 11 in Cowes
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Seas The Day B&B
Seas The Day B&B
#1 of 4 in Ventnor
297 reviews
4.5 mi away
Oak Tree Lodge Luxury B&B
1.2 mi away
Holmwood Guesthouse
Holmwood Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Cowes
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Isla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Isla House

Address: 230 Church St, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range: $182 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glen Isla House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award-winning boutique country-house accommodations offering discerning travellers finest surroundings, absolute privacy and unobtrusive service from internationally experienced and well traveled owner/hosts. Set in the grounds of the historic Glen Isla Homestead (c1870), we offer genuine historic and purpose architected guest accommodations all with modern bathroom amenities and separate entrances, secluded and very private heritage gardens, refined elegance & old-world charm just 100m from a pristine sandy beach. Enjoy chef-inspired breakfasts in the elegant dining room overlooking the authentic heritage gardens (kitchen may be closed some days), and local nature/wildlife experiences at Phillip Island Nature Parks (close to Little Penguins, Koalas and the Seal Watching Cruise). Highly recommended Frommers Australia Guide as the best place to stay. Recommended Fodors, and Lonely Planet Guides since 2007. Member of Small Elegant Hotels since 2004. TripAdvisor HALL of FAME inductee for TriAdvisor excellence awards 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016. GLEN ISLA HOUSE is not associated in any way with another property nearby called Apartments at Glen Isla. Glen Isla House is the original and historic Glen Isla dating from c1870 with private heritage gardens and direct beach access, warmly welcoming discerning travellers since 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glen Isla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Isla House Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing