We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was terrible!!”
Review of The Fat Seagull

The Fat Seagull
Ranked #22 of 85 Restaurants in Cowes
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived at this place thinking it was going to be good, the menu was good had what we thought nice food... First off took 10mins to be seated (btw no one In front of us), then another 20mins to order the food, ordered entree took 45mins for bread and dip then an hour and a half for our mains and we asked not once not twice but three times before anyone would tell us what was going on with out food. Overall disappointing with the long food wait was ridiculous I would suggest no one go there if your wanting a quick meal!!!' Hmmm shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TunkaJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob3922, Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

I was very sorry to read that the experience you had with us, was not enjoyable for you. We do try to ensure that our staff are always on top of things, and never would never intentionally leave a table waiting to be served, or even seated and apologize that this happened while you were here. Unfortunately sometimes things don't go to exactly plan. However, this is no excuse for our staff to not inform you, or communicate with you on the whereabouts of your food especially when asked. We do always try to make sure that if for some reason there may be an issue or delay that the table are informed of this immediately. We have been striving for a number of years now to provide consistent service and an enjoyable experience for all customers, and we do invite you to dine with us again in the hopes of being able to extinguish the previous unpleasant experience you have had as we know we can provide one much better!
If you do wish to contact us in regards to your dining experience, and discuss in further detail your issues please don't hesitate to contact us Monday - Sunday from 11am onwards on (03) 5952 3106 or alternatively send us an e-mail to rob@thefatseagull.com.au and we will do our best to rectify any and all issues.
Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 294 of 310 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a birthday and was very surprised at the poor service! Wow it was so rude and really unhelpful! We waited over 1 hour for our food and there was no one here! Food was average at best and everyone left feeling really unwelcome. I suggest you spend your hard earned dollars somewhere where they actually care about their customers.

Avoid avoid avoid!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nickodundai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob3922, Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2015

Hi Nickodundai,

I was naturally quite disappointed to see that you didn't have an enjoyable experience with us, it's upsetting that you found the wait time and cuisine sub-par and I'm sorry that we weren't able to rectify this issue for you.

We have been working hard for many years to increase our ability to provide delicious meals, enjoyable service and minimized wait times as much as possible and welcome you to join us again at any time to experience a much more enjoyable evening!

Warm Regards,

The Team @ The Fat Seagull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food was good with the exception of the sea food melody which had very tough squid. If you sit outside you have to pay for your meal first. No bottled water supplied, you have to go in and get it yourself. The service was average. Probably wouldnt go there ever again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob3922, Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2015

Hello Peter F,

Its disappointing for us to see that you found our establishment to only be of an average standard. It was nice to see that you found the food to be enjoyable except for the squid which unfortunately can sometimes be tougher than we would like it to be and we always try to ensure that the cuisine provided is to the best standard we can.

Unfortunately it is difficult for us to allow unpaid bills to sit outside as we have had in the past customers leave without paying and so, outside dining requires payment upon ordering.
We now provide plastic water jugs outside, we didn't previously as they were glass carafes that we were using and on busy days when the seagulls are out in force many of the carafes would end up broken on the ground and weren't made of shard proof glass like our water glasses are which then poses an issue for safety for those who may not be wearing shoes.

Nonetheless, we do encourage you to join us again so that we may improve on your previous experience!

Warm Regards,

The Team @ The Fat Seagull!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was told to help myself to water at the bar, but there was no water there and I had to wait. We had to wait 35 minutes for our food - a chicken parma (+$1 for ham) and oriental chicken salad. The chicken salad was a basic here's chicken salad. What made it oriental was the bottle of sweet chilli sauce used for dressing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank phyx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob3922, Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2015

Hi phyx1!

It was disappointing to see that you didn't enjoy any aspect of your experience when you dined with us.

We take all feedback both positive and negative seriously and have previously discussed your comments on our establishment.

Unfortunately being a seasonal area it is generally very busy for us from December through to the end of March and we try to keep up as much as possible with the influx of customers. The self service water jug is re-filled as often as possible but as mentioned when it's quite busy it can be forgotten and we do make every effort to ensure it is re-filled or jugs of water are provided.

We have, for years now tried to implement new ways of providing our service and cuisine to minimize wait times as much as possible. However, sometimes it is unavoidable to eradicate.

We would love to welcome you back in at any time, so that we may build on your previous experience and provide you with the food and service we are proud to offer.

Warm Regards,

The Team @ The Fat Seagull!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our group of eight stumbled into The Fat Seagull when we couldn't secure a table at the Thai restaurant around the corner. To be honest I didn't expect too much (seemed to be one of those places aiming to please everyone by serving every style of cuisine known to man) but we were all pleasantly surprised. The service, although at times patchy was generally friendly and attentive. The food was very good. For entrees a shared platter of crispy, battered fresh seafood was delicious as were the Chinese dumplings and the pesto pizza. The deep fried whole flounder was scrumptious and the trio of curries authentically good. The wine list offered a good selection and we really enjoyed a couple of West Australian vinos. A couple of our group returned the following evening and reported the same standard.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank misskja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob3922, Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2015

Hi Misskja!

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind words on the experience you had here with us at The Fat Seagull!

It's always nice to hear when customers such as yourself enjoy the service and cuisine we provide and it's encouraging to the staff when they hear such nice feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,

The Team @ The Fat Seagull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Seagull also viewed

 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to The Fat Seagull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing