We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful service”
Review of The Fat Seagull

The Fat Seagull
Ranked #22 of 85 Restaurants in Cowes
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed December 27, 2012

they sent one of our pizzas out with a tour bus order, and they didn't notice one of us sitting waiting while the rest of us ate. they never came back to check if all was well, or if we wanted more drinks (which we did). we went up and asked where the last pizza was, the chef cooked it and brought it out (as i was finishing mine). waited at the end for a drink offer, or if we were interested in desserts - gave up and went to the counter and asked for the bill. I asked them to knock something off, they refused and said there was nothing wrong with the pizza.

Go elsewhere...plenty of choice

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 19bison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 301 of 310 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

The pizzas were great. Thai prawns and roast lamb both had fantastic flavours. The service was ideal with time for conversation and polite effecient service. Also has upstairs room with great sea views.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ronald p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob3922, General Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Hi Ronald p,

How wonderful to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to us in 2012! We sincerely apologise for being so delayed in our response but rest assure we appreciate all feedback provided!

Kind Regards,

The Team @ The Fat Seagull.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The main course was very nice and there was an extensive menu to choose from. There was a deal which included a glass of wine. It was very busy. We were not able to order coffee or dessert as they seemed too busy to serve us.

Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob3922, Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Hello janpurcell,

Glad to see you enjoyed the menu options, and the main course you had. We are sorry that our response is delayed (by a few years) but want you to know all feedback is read and received and taken on board by staff to improve with.

We would love to welcome you back at any time to dine with us again!

All the Best,

The Team @ The Fat Seagull!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We dropped into the Fat Seagull and asked for a table, the very pregnant waitress said if we could wait 20 mins she would clear a table. She was on her own and very busy.
We were happy to wait and eventually got a our table and ordered our meal.
It was a long wait for the meal as they were very under staffed but the meal was delicious. The Lamb roast pizza was one of the tastiest pizza's I have ever eaten, all the meals looked very presentable and pregnant waitress was doing her best. We found it hard to get a drink as she was to busy.
All in all a good meal under difficult circumstances for the staff. Would recommend to eat here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ADFmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob3922, Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Hi ADFmum,

Albeit very delayed we would love to thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review about your experience, and for your patience and understanding on the night!

Unfortunately the staff member you are referring to is no longer with us but she did see this review before she moved on to her new job as a mum! We have also taken steps to ensure we can provide more staff where possible to eradicate this issue occurring, being so seasonal our restaurant can go from zero to hero without a moments notice!

We hope you've joined us again since, and would love to welcome you back again!

Best Regards,

The Team @ The Fat Seagull.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We visited with friends and we all chose something different from their vast menu, everyone of us enjoyed what we had which is an excellent endorsement of any restaurant. It can get a bit busy in the holiday period, but that is to be expected.

Thank Salibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob3922, Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Hi Sallybu!

How lovely to see you and your friends enjoyed all of the different options chosen during your dining experience with us! We're sorry it's taken us this long to get back to you but we hope we have (or already have had) the opportunity to welcome you back again since!

Best Regards,

The Team @ The Fat Seagull.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Seagull also viewed

 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to The Fat Seagull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing