We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a cozy venue with warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Castle Villa by the Sea
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Cowes
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a cozy venue with warm hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We had such a nice time visiting Phillip Island recently, and the highlight for us was staying at The Castle. The place feels homey and relaxed, with an old-fashioned log fireplace in the central common room blazing merrily in the evening. Our host Jenni was very helpful to us, and understood what it's like being with two young kids. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble for her, and we felt that we were the only guests there. Because the weather was pretty drizzly, we actually hung around indoors for two days. Most children would get seriously bored with that, but because of the size of this place, and it's garden, there was always something for them to explore. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words
Harley & Jenni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
13
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

The owner Jenni was very unprofessional. At times she would talk bad about other guests. She falsely accused us of repeatedly leaving the front door open. The rooms had an awful smell. It was a terrible experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sarahw07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
We are really sorry you did not enjoy your stay
Harley & Jenni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

We got married at The Castle and although we had our children (g6 & b11) staying with family in Phillip Island, we had them there with us at The Castle during the pre-wedding preparation, ceremony & luncheon.
I was disappointed to find that my children were 'in the way' during the last few minutes leading up to the wedding, my husband being asked by Jenny the proprietor "Do you know who these kids belong to?" and harshly instructed to control them when they are far from misbehaved and quite frankly, very well behaved! It was harsh for my husband to have to deal with in the few minutes leading up to getting married when he was in such good spirits beforehand.
We were horrified to be in the middle of vows on the deck and hear the loud ringing of the business line left to almost ring out whilst we tried to speak louder to be able to hear eachother!
We were rushed during the luncheon, I did not get the wedding luncheon dish that I had asked for but dealt with that, we felt invaded privacy wise, with knocks on our suites' door delivering towels by Jenny when we were in the middle of something very private! Overall the property's standard's, accommodation wise, are good and we've traveled the world, but we were not pleased with the host (whose husband we never met so we can only comment on one proprietor) during our weekend stay. We did not feel our children were welcomed and as a family first and foremost that gets the thumbs down. When your paying almost $3000, you should be treated more respectfully (maybe unplug the phone for 10 mins during future ceremonies!)
D & S.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Selina-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

We stayed at their separate apartment "La Mer" in Warley Ave, in the heart of Cowes, overlooking the ocean. We're a family with two infants, and so safety was our top priority. We were able to relax in there, which is hard to do in some places. The room was secure and comfortable and had everything we wanted, even a washing machine, free of charge. The beach was just across the road. It felt like a home away from home. A real pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afamilytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank You for your lovely words
harley & jenni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed at The Castle in July last year with our 2 young kids.

It is hard to find places that I am comfortable taking them as I like to have all the conveniences of home, but The Castle has all this and more.

Our room was beautiful and welcoming, as were the hosts.

As it was the middle of winter we were happy to curl up in front of the big beautiful open fire with a glass of wine. There was no need to go venturing, we had all we needed right there.

We can't wait to go back again and visit, we like to think of it as our home away from home, with treats.

x

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice words
Jenni & Harley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed in the Castle on
Steele street which had been recommended by a couple we met by accident in Dublin. They raved about the laid back town life and, in particular, about a small hotel called The Castle. Talk about charm. It knocked our socks off. Lovely couple running the place. Jenni is an artist and Harley we'd call a yarn spinner - we could listen to him for hours. If you're heading down to see the fairy penquins which are spectacularly unique, stay the night and get pampered.

Helpful?
1 Thank ozwinghamemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice words
Jenni & Harley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imartos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

We stayed in this house for two days in October, we book two rooms for 5 people, probably our worst travel experience in years, the rooms were old, dirty and badly maintained, is not a castle, neither a villa and is not by the sea, actually you do not see the sea at all, you have to walk out 200 mts to see it.
We ordered breakfast one day and were charged 125 dollars for a horrible breakfast served on a small and unsuitable table. We have to left it almost untouched, we still are wondering about the composition of the 'orange' juice.
The lady that manages the house is intrusive and makes you feel really unwelcome and mistreated.
The day of our departure at 10 am we told her that we were going out for breakfast and come back in aprox one and a half hour, we left one of the two rooms and keep the other, she agreed on that and when we arrived at 12 we found our luggage in the stairs, and our spare belongings on top of it (some of them still on the cabinet of the room). She just told us that she was trying to help us packaging.
Phillip Island is full of fantastic apartments and guess houses, this is not one of them.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank imartos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willywagtail, owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, December 15, 2009
We thank Trip Advisor for the opportunity of right of
reply as to read such wonderful reviews of The Castle and then something so
negative must make readers curious as to what actually prompted the writer
to post such a review
Let me explain
The guest in question and his family up until his time of departure and to
the best of our knowledge appeared to be quite enjoying their stay however
this quickly disintegrated apparently when the guest checked out
The guest, on settling his account noted that on his copy of the C/C receipt
given to him the account amount in Australian $ was also indicated in Euros
which is now the custom with all credit card transactions from a foreign
country – it simply indicates to the purchaser what the value of the goods
are in their own currency.
The guest was most irate and accused us of charging him in Euros and
inflating the cost – we tried to explain that this was not the case but he
would not accept the fact.
It was in this mood that even though it was after check out time announced
he was off to play mini golf with his family and left taking the room key
with him.
We had assumed that he had taken his luggage to his vehicle however when we
entered the room to clean we found that the guest had in fact left his
luggage and other items in the room.
As we had an arrival at 1.30pm we stored the luggage out of the room.
On arriving back at approx 12noon the guest entered the room confronting the
housekeeper asking what she was doing in the room stating that “I own this
room” and indicated she had no right to be in it – it seemed totally useless
to remind him that his checkout had been 2 hours previous and we needed to
service the suite
This persons character is best summed by his final act of throwing the keys
at me as he departed which incidentally are large brass keys which proved to
be quite a a missile.
All sounds very petty but these are, we perceive, the facts re his
displeasure.
...actually the rooms in
question have in the past been occupied respectively by a Victorian Governor
General and a USA ambassador to Australia whom I’m sure would not have
requested the same rooms on their return visit if the rooms had been as
described.
Incidentally you can see the sea and the orange juice was juiced from fresh
oranges
Jenni Boyle
Owner/Prprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 10 in Cowes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.1 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 10 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Island Spa - Wellness Retreat & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Villa by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Villa by the Sea

Property: The Castle Villa by the Sea
Address: 7-9 Steele St | Phillip Island, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cowes
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Castle Villa by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Luxury Villa offers you your own island oasis and perfect carefree holiday accommodation, footsteps from the beach-front and hidden away in a magical garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Castle Villa by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Cowes
The Castle Villa By The Sea Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing