We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was better last time - but still good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phillip Island Apartments
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“It was better last time - but still good”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This was the second time that we stayed at the Quest Phillip Island. It is a good reliable apartment hotel and the staff are really good. However it is starting to show its age. Good location, good pool, good parking. Good place for kids. Time for a renovation inside though.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    83
    37
    8
    7
See reviews for
90
44
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I booked this accomodation last minute, and the family and I are so happy we did. The room needed a bit of freshening, but activity wise it was perfect for us. Close enough to the beach and to the town. It was quiet enough for us too. Only problem was that only access to floors was via stairs, and the TV picture was pixelating alot (the kids complaint). I dont think it was expensive for a 3 bedroom apartment. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cossieclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This accommodation is spacious and well located in the town of Cowes. The general ambiance of the two bedroom apartment we had was fine and although a little wear and tear is showing we were quite comfortable.
The downfall here is the kitchen. There was not the basic kitchen utensils, pots and pans etc. we have come to expect in serviced apartments. This meant we were not able to prepare the meal we had planned and needed to go to a restaurant for dinner.Mind you it was a good restaurant.
Phillip Is is a fabulous place to visit even in the stormy weather that we experienced for the two days we were there. Make sure you visit the A Maze 'N Things, it is great.

Room Tip: Take your own kitchen stuff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2painfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We have a gift voucher which expired six months ago so i called to see if they would be kind enough to extend the voucher so that we could redeem it and was told after many calls back and forth (the franchisee was away) that "they would meet me half way" by me having to pay an additional $285.00 for one of the nights. The two nights voucher was already paid for at $430.00, making the total two night stay $715.00! Wotif is showing the property at $570.00 for two nights...........

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Spent a fabulous weekend getaway at quest cowes. Had a two bedroom apartment for three people which was fabulous. Loved everything about this place, it was clean, quiet, comfortable and had everything we needed. The location was perfect being a two minute walk to the beach and shops but tucked away from noise. We were there on schoolies weekend and had no issue with noise whatsoever. The manager was very helpful and we loved the outdoor hot spa and pool. Will definitely be going back for another weekend. Thank you quest cowes!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeangenie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for a one night stay on Phillip Island because of the Penguin Parade viewing which would end late. A 2 hour drive back to melbourne was not desirable.
The location was right in Cowes, within walking distance to the main shopping and dining street. Close but not noisy.

It was good value for a 2 bedroom apartment, but note that there was only one toilet / shower.

The apartment was clean and tastefully furnished with a nice basic kitchen. We had asked for a ground floor apartment as this property is all stairs - no elevator. So families with accessibility issues please make a request for a ground floor unit.

Appliances seem to be slightly worn - the dryer unit timing dial was stuck at 150min. It still functioned but no way to set the timer - just turn off the power at the mains when you are done. The stove control dials had all icons scrubbed off by the enthusiastic cleaning staff. No biggie, just trial and error to get it going.....Probably just an issue with that particular unit....

Note to bird watchers: There were plenty of wild parakeets and lories in the surrounding trees on the property, so its nice to see these birds in their natural environment.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor unit if you have accessibility issues. All stairs and no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrChristophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

What a shame that a really nice property is ruined by the over the top approach to guest management.

These peple are in the wrong industry. It was like staying at a fussy aunties who doesn't let you sit on the nice couch or use the good cups.

I should have realised this when confronted on booking with the properties very punative cancellation policy.

On checking in and before anything else was done I was given a large list of rules and regs that I had to sign. Despite being with my wife and two young children I was told I must sign this because of problems with schoolies. Ummm, guys, it's not schoolies week.

The list of rules and crimes for which you can be evicted (that are helpfully duplicated in their compendium and all over the rooms) with no refund is long and interesting.

The two bedroom apartment was littered with warning signs and rules including not one but two warnngs and precise instructions on where the toaster may or may not be used and the a warning that failure to put dishes in the dishwasher would result in additional charges (no mention of this when I booked....).

The beds were hard, there was a single pillow per bed and the pool was closed because it was broken.

It's such a shame thst they work so hard to make their guests feel uncomfortable - it really is a nice property.

They really do need to find a career more suited to their personalities.

Room Tip: nice sea view from the top floor overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
0.1 mi away
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
0.2 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.2 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 10 in Cowes
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phillip Island Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phillip Island Apartments

Property: Phillip Island Apartments
Address: Corner Bass Avenue and Chapel Street | Reception entrance located on Chapel Street., Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phillip Island Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the vibrant township of Cowes, Phillip Island Apartments are a short stroll to local shops, restaurants and recreational beaches as well as within easy travelling distance to Phillip Island’s many attractions including the Penguin Parade, Grand Prix Circuit and the islands many beautiful surf beaches and walking trails.Phillip Island Apartments offer comfortable and spacious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self contained apartments. Full kitchen and laundry facilities along with open lounge and dining area are available in each apartment as well as private balcony or patio.Phillip Island Apartments have an outdoor pool, gas heated spa and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phillip Island Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillip Island Apartments Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing