We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rules, rules and more rules”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phillip Island Apartments
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2011

What a shame that a really nice property is ruined by the over the top approach to guest management.

These peple are in the wrong industry. It was like staying at a fussy aunties who doesn't let you sit on the nice couch or use the good cups.

I should have realised this when confronted on booking with the properties very punative cancellation policy.

On checking in and before anything else was done I was given a large list of rules and regs that I had to sign. Despite being with my wife and two young children I was told I must sign this because of problems with schoolies. Ummm, guys, it's not schoolies week.

The list of rules and crimes for which you can be evicted (that are helpfully duplicated in their compendium and all over the rooms) with no refund is long and interesting.

The two bedroom apartment was littered with warning signs and rules including not one but two warnngs and precise instructions on where the toaster may or may not be used and the a warning that failure to put dishes in the dishwasher would result in additional charges (no mention of this when I booked....).

The beds were hard, there was a single pillow per bed and the pool was closed because it was broken.

It's such a shame thst they work so hard to make their guests feel uncomfortable - it really is a nice property.

They really do need to find a career more suited to their personalities.

Room Tip: nice sea view from the top floor overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 200 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed in a two bedroom apartment at the Quest Phillip Island in September 2011 for one night. Having not been to the island previously we relied on a map and reviews to gauge suitability - we were not disappointed. The apartment was nicely presented with a basic kitchen, dining and living area upon entry and two bedrooms at the rear. An interesting feature was the two way toilet flanked either side by the bathroom and laundry which each had a shower: a great idea to allow both main bathroom and ensuite but there was only one vanity though (bathroom) which I believed limited the usability if it were intended for more flexibility with couples or friends sharing the apartment. As a family it was not an issue!

The beds were very comfortable and good block out curtains have been installed for a lovely nights sleep. One issue that cropped up was noise which may well have been varied on a weeknight night or with different neighbours. The guests in the apartment directly above had moments of 'loudness' but the party did not continue through the night and we were able to get a good nights sleep in. It could have been very different though...

Location is great. No sea views but the beach is only a short walk away as is the main street which has some great restaurant choices. Parking is tight with only one car per apartment permitted, however, street parking is ample.

We will happily return to both Phillip Island and the Quest apartments.

Room Tip: Request a top floor apartment to avoid noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aussie_travel_mum_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We spent two nights here andwere very impressed. The rooms were spacious,bed very comfortable. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Our accomodation package included a $40 voucher for a dinner at The Fat Seagull where we had a delicious meal.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birgitbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Stayed in this 3bedroom apartment for 1 nite. Place was clean spacious & comfortable.
Room was basic, Kitchen well equip w microwave oven / oven / dish washer.
Noted the location is near town but we didnt really had the opportunity to visit / walk ard. Partly its winter, too cold to be walking ard. Partly our plans are all laid out (penguin parade / churhill island / choc factory / koalas observation, hence didnt also have the extra time to venutre ard anyway.
there were however few things which we found "interesting"...
1. the toilets/bedrooms had no locks. Then after staying in few other apartments in melboure we realise all toilets had no locks. It's only after I told a fren of this then was inform this is probably a safety measure to prevent / avoid children from being accidently lock-in.
2. there's no aircon unit in the individual room. only 1 central unit in the living room. Not tht it matters much for us since it was winter we definately wont be needing the aircon. However i'm just curious wat abt during summer times when the heat comes in? how to sleep with no aircon??
3. request for a ground floor unit if u have lots of luggage / heavy luggage. there's no lifts (or at least i didnt notice any lifts). Thankfully we were given a ground unit!
Overall, we enjoyed our stay there! recommended!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
Thank paStillieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

For family accommodation in Australia / New Zealand, consider Quest serviced apartments first. We, for one, are now very 'Quest-loyal'. You can rest assured you are checking in to a very comfortable and well-equipped place. On our road trip, we looked forward to our Quest stays to just realign ourselves a bit (having stayed in a variety of B&Bs and motels) - get a 'proper' shower, do our laundry, and plenty of space for the family.

Quest apartments really feel like a 'home away from home' - and this is no different for Quest Philip Island. Modern looking and comfortable - the 2 room apartment has a fully equipped kitchen, a washing machine and dryer (you might need to buy your own soap powder), not forgetting the living area with comfy sofas and a large flat-screen television with some Foxtel channels and wi-fi (at a fee). As for outdoor facilities, there is an outdoor pool, which looked inviting, but we decided to hang out at the beach instead, some 2 minutes away by foot. There's only one thing missing from the package - and that would be that there are no units with a proper sea-view. That, however, isn't really a problem since the beach is so near.

We paid AUD205 for our two-bedroom apartment and were very satisfied with what we got. Quest Phillip Island also has one and three-bedroom apartments at equally afforable prices. For the best deal, check out their website for their "Best Available Internet Rate". Parking is available for free at this facility.

Read more about our Phillip Island experience here - http://herethereoutandabout.blogspot.com/2010/06/phillip-island.html

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eric-n-lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

This Hotel was excellent in many respects , the room was spacious, very clean with modern furniture and was well stocked with all the basics. The staff were friendly , very helpful and pleasant. The pool was wonderful with the kids, clean, very well fenced.
The location was good for a short stroll to the shops,cafes,and the beach . The location of the hotel was very nice in the daytime, but at night , we were kept awake by loud pub music thumping from about 10:30pm until about 3 am. So the location over a busy weekend, may not be the best for a quite restful nights sleep. But during the week the location could be possibly be quiter?? Or even a room in a different location could have created a more peaceful experience .I don't know ?? This was no fault of the hotel though, just simply the location , just simply being close to night life didn't make the nights peaceful. The only other thing that let our experience down was the Queen bed. It was rock hard and very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyvacation_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

My family and i had to get away at least for one night and we tried so many places but they were fully booked but the great staff there gave us one night.
Bit noisy there
The pool was okay
The rooms were good for the price
They dont have room service but they breakfast but I would'nt eat it if you know what I mean.
But othere then that great place to say [for a bit]

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waves92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.1 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
9.6 mi away
Silverwater Resort
Silverwater Resort
#1 of 3 in San Remo
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropicana Motor Inn
Tropicana Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Cowes
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phillip Island Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phillip Island Apartments

Address: Corner Bass Avenue and Chapel Street | Reception entrance located on Chapel Street., Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Price Range: $164 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phillip Island Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the vibrant township of Cowes, Phillip Island Apartments are a short stroll to local shops, restaurants and recreational beaches as well as within easy travelling distance to Phillip Island’s many attractions including the Penguin Parade, Grand Prix Circuit and the islands many beautiful surf beaches and walking trails.Phillip Island Apartments offer comfortable and spacious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self contained apartments. Full kitchen and laundry facilities along with open lounge and dining area are available in each apartment as well as private balcony or patio.Phillip Island Apartments have an outdoor pool, gas heated spa and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phillip Island Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillip Island Apartments Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing