We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Phillip Island Nature Parks - Koala Conservation Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.16*
and up
Phillip Island 3 Park Pass: Penguin Parade, Koala Conservation Centre and...
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Cowes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: koala conservation centre. Meet our koalas ‘face to face’ from our amazing treetop boardwalks at this unique ecotourism attraction. This area of natural bush land isalso home to an amazing variety of birds and wildlife.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Whilst you will see a few Koalas they are usually asleep very high up in the trees. Not really worth the visit unless you are desperate to see them in their natural habitat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Freakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    313
    165
    32
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“koalas are... all sleeping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Came here as part of a Gray Line Philip Island tour on a Monday afternoon. The hubby was really excited to see the koalas but all he got was a a view of them all sleeping - these koalas are pretty anti-social! Perhaps we came at a bad time where they were all resting. The hubby was kind of disappointed. As we had limited time at this attraction, we only managed to walk 2 of the shorter trails. I did enjoy the scenic walk, but perhaps next time the koalas will be more active hopefully.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jos_Katz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
156 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Koalas up close”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We enjoyed much seeing koalas so close, though we had seen even closer in our trip. The good thing is there are many: babies, youngsters, adults and older koalas and staff makes sure they would be close enough to paths by putting fresh eucalypti leaves nearby. Also, they were careful and making sure noone touched the animals, which I appreciate (apparently, people can't help caressing them when they see them so close).

We were also able to see a wallaby in the bigger loop, so I recommend you try that too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Koala frenzy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

- lots of koalas in their natural habitat
- informative
- family friendly
- great service
- affordable
- cafe insight
- free car parking
-

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ccstewart26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lots of Koalas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was well worth the stop. We saw many Koalas sleeping in trees, as well as Kangaroo and Wallaby. If you go in the winter, just plan on it raining, and grab a $5 poncho. Even so, you will love your visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanCAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillip Island Nature Parks - Koala Conservation Centre also viewed

 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Summerlands, Phillip Island
 

Been to Phillip Island Nature Parks - Koala Conservation Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing