We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, lovely view and different service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai on the Island

Thai on the Island
Ranked #19 of 72 Restaurants in Cowes
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/346/1618927/restaurant/Victoria/Phillip-Island/Thai-on-the-Island-Cowes#all_reviews
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely view and different service”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I had an early dinner at Thai on the Island on our way to see the Penguin Parade. We chose it as 1) it rated well on TripAdvisor, 2) it looked to be clean and comfortable, and 3) it has a pleasant view overlooking the bay. Well, we were not disappointed. We each had curries with coconut rice. Both our meals were delicious. Among the best Thai meals we have ever had. The owners of the restaurant said they moved to Cowes from Melbourne a number of years ago. I am sure their Melbourne restaurant was very popular. Let me mention about the service. The lady who served us (she was the owner), was very direct and just a little abrupt. We didn't find it bad, actually. We ended up having a good talk with her after her meal, and she is clearly a caring and passionate lady. All in all, we had a great experience and we would be delighted to eat there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    71
    18
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Good food, nice view, reasonablw price and fast sevice. Highly recommended. We would go there anytime. One of the nice thai restaurants.

Helpful?
1 Thank Praj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice food fair price”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Only had take away from here so cant comment on wait staff. However, the food was quite nice we had a couple of mains and an entrée. We went there the weekend of tough mudda so it was quite busy. Upon arrival we were told it would be an hour wait on take away but we didnt mind assuming most places we would have to wait. They offered to call us when our meal was ready and about 45 min later we got the call. Food was resonably priced around the same as we would pay at home.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Top notch Thai food”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We only had a take-away so cannot really comment on the restaurant. The food was pricey but truely excellent and well worth paying for. Almost better dishes than we have eaten in Thailand. We can highly recommend this place which is in a town sporting some very poor establishments.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A bit chaotic.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

To be fair, I went as part of a largish party - but we had booked well in advance - which might mean my experience was not 'normal'. The service was pretty chaotic, the waiter seemingly having no idea of who had ordered what. Six of us had ordered beef massman and the poor guy had to come back to the table to tell us it was 'off'. Oh dear.
The food, when it did arrive, was OK - but not outstanding. There are better places to eat in Cowes.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai on the Island also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Thai on the Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing