We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for breakfast”
Review of MadCowes Cafe

MadCowes Cafe
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal for breakfast”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Busy cafe with tables available outside overlooking the beach. Service can be a little slow but food is very good and reasonably priced. Friendly atmosphere. Must be good because frequented by locals as well as tourists.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank olive255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    197
    42
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the best in Cowes”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fantastic, friendly service, even when incredibly busy. The home made baked beans are incredible. Have had many breakfasts here, always wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TakeMeAway031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have been to this cafe heaps of times and it's always good. It's the place to go when in Cowes. Good food and service and great water views. Dogs are welcome too. It's a busy place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalia z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Arkansas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good for breakfast”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We ate breakfast here on a Sunday morning. It was very crowded, but we did find seating for two at the counter. Excellent breakfast menu. Right on the Esplanade.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RickBeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drouin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“horrid coffee”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I actually left my coffee and walked out it was so aweful , I put 3 sugars in to try and help the taste but it was undrinkable. burnt and UGH! staff were lovely, food that people were eating looked great ..I am not one to leave a cafe.. id usually suck it up and finish coffee if it was pertty adverage..but this was shocking.
Best coffee on the island l found was at Cafe Laganos. I hope others have a better experience..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thelma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MadCowes Cafe also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to MadCowes Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing