We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in a very long time [+ gluten free]”

Rusty Water Brewery Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 76 Restaurants in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: European, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Rusty Water Brewery Restaurant & Bar is home to Phillip Island's only handcrafted ales plus a selection of ales from other like minded craft breweries. We are sure to have an ale to tempt you.Our team of Internationally trained Chef's will amaze you with the variety of dishes they create, using the freshest,locally sourced products and ingredients wherever possible. Our menu changes with the seasons and is complemented by a variety of special dishes using seasonal produce. Gluten Free & Vegetarian Dining Options are available.Whether it's enjoying the relaxed atmosphere on the outside decking or warming yourself in front of the cosy wood fires, The Team at Rusty Water will make you feel most welcome.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Best meal in a very long time [+ gluten free]”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We dined at the Rusty Water Brewery after a recommendation from the owners of the Cliff Top accommodation that we were staying at. It had a very nice up market family restaurant feel about it yet still felt like you could have a private conversation. I was very pleased to see so many gluten free options on the menu, including entrees and desserts. My partner had the pie, which he said had the best pastry he had ever tasted which the staff informed us was made by them. I had the seafood broth and it was by far the best seafood I have ever eaten in a restaurant- the fish and calamari were perfectly cooked. We also squeezed in dessert- creme brule and a gluten free chocolate mousse. Perfection! Highly recommended and we will definitely make sure to eat here again on our next trip down.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    147
    24
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delivered on all counts”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Excellent service and delicious food not to mention the koala pale ale and the amber ale! We were en route to the penguin parade and phoned ahead to see if we could be accommodated, explaining we were tight on time. The attentive and friendly staff took our order promptly on arrival and the food arrived quickly with no impact on the quality. Spot on. Next visit to Oz will have to include this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gotta Give it a Crack”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Great Service, Great atmosphere and best of all, Awesome food. Worth the visit. Good value for money restaurant. Gotta give the calamari a crack!

Helpful?
Thank SMT888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great service & freindly staff.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We called with very short notice late on a Saturday night after visiting the penguin's. The restaurant told me they were booked out but asked me to hold for a minute while they double checked. They managed to squeeze in our 2 family's and said kids were welcome. On arrival the smiling staff gave the kids colouring pencils and served us straight away. They were busy but the staff all managed to smile and appeared to enjoy their jobs. I tried the Pale Ale and it was great. Everyone enjoyed their meals which were all creative, well presented and very tasty. The serving sizes were not huge which left room for dessert. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner, service was very friendly & attentive. There were 4 of us & we shared the garlic bread for entree. For main, two of us had the ravioli (entree size) and the others had the gnocchi and the duck Maryland. We all loved our meals.

Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Water Brewery Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Rusty Water Brewery Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing