We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, awesome atmosphere”

Rusty Water Brewery Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 72 Restaurants in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Rusty Water Brewery Restaurant & Bar is home to Phillip Island's only handcrafted ales plus a selection of ales from other like minded craft breweries. We are sure to have an ale to tempt you.Our team of Internationally trained Chef's will amaze you with the variety of dishes they create, using the freshest,locally sourced products and ingredients wherever possible. Our menu changes with the seasons and is complemented by a variety of special dishes using seasonal produce. Gluten Free & Vegetarian Dining Options are available.Whether it's enjoying the relaxed atmosphere on the outside decking or warming yourself in front of the cosy wood fires, The Team at Rusty Water will make you feel most welcome.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for Saturday lunch upon arriving on the island. Nice atmosphere, lots of natural light and dark timber. Staff were attentive and pleasant, and very patient with my 3 year old who made a bit of a mess! Menu is varied and the food was fantastic. I had a Parma and it was delicious, my partner and daughter both had fish and chips and they enjoyed it. The kid's meals are a good size, and the beers brewed on site are pretty good. Overall a very pleasant experience and would definitely return again

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ash2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    139
    23
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best pasta I've had - delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband & I went for lunch on a Saturday - started off with the anti pasto plate - delicious, I had entree ravioli with pumpkin & burnt butter sauce - fantastic. Husband had the mussels & said they were very nice & for the beer lover they have a tasting range of four beers they brew. Great service, great food & nice atmosphere - would go back in a heart beat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KellyH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
1 review
“Good service and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very welcoming staff and great ambiance. Visited with wife and 2 kids, 2 & 6 yrs old and the menu had something for everyone. Variety of kids meals was good and quality excellent. We ordered the pie and parmigiana which were excellent and very ample portions. Great variety of beers, would recommend the tasting paddle and the dark toffee ale. Will definitely come back on the next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food. Great staff and quite relaxing place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a great dinner here. The service was top notch and our waitress gave us time to relax and look throught the menu before ordering. Drink list was good. Not a wine drinker but the had a separate menu for that and have a somewhat weird choice of beer all good looking too. Food was excellent and was not waiting ages for it. Perfect timing between starter to mains. Defo worth a look if you enjoy good food and a quite place to relax.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petershovlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous service for 2 families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to Rusty's over Easter, 2 families, and had a great time. Booking and changing time closer to the daye no problem. The service was so good with so much attention, kids getting colouring sheets. Food was fresh and yummy and good sizes. Pint tasters, and wine choice was enough for us. Would go again next time for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigTravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Water Brewery Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Rusty Water Brewery Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing