We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality meals and great value”
Review of Hotel

Hotel
Ranked #37 of 76 Restaurants in Cowes
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Pizza, Australian, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hotel is Phillip Island's premier Bar, with great food, amazing cocktails and even better music!Eat, drink and enjoy the atmosphere of our street-side licensed areas or the intimacy of our courtyard and deck.Pizza at Hotel is the place to go for traditional and gourmet pizza, whether in-house, take-away or delivered to your door. Open til 2:30am Fri & Sat nights.Friday and Saturday, Hotel Phillip Island is the regions’ only late night venue. Party with our resident DJ's as well as internationally renowned special guests.From lunch until late, you will always find a vibrant and friendly atmosphere at Hotel Phillip Island.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good quality meals and great value”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I'm not usually driven by price however we enjoyed great food and service at a very modest price indeed. If you're Cowes and particularly if your on the hungry side, the the Phillip Island Hotel is the place for dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MCMLVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    61
    35
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not bad but a bit $$”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We got into cowes and decided to grab a pub style meal. We were hungry so ordered straight away.

We ordered burgers a bit over priced at $23 each and a soft drink which was flat.

They were big but you couldn't fit your mouth over the burger so ate with knife and fork. Meat tasted a little funny but chips were good- nice and crisp

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great cocktails!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

we had brilliant cocktails from this establishment. the bar has a very good vibe. we also got pizza from next door which was tops!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jolie_Boyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Such a dissapointment”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Three of us decided to stop at the Hotel for a bite to eat and a few drinks after a day at the beach. The benches outside were draped in lazy sunshine and it looked like an ideal spot to stop. Perusal of the menu showed typical pub fare; we thought 'why not?' and went inside to order. It was 5.57pm and we asked if food was being served? We were told 'yes, from 6pm'. Excellent timing, we thought, and commenced to relay our orders. The barman insisted we wait for three minutes until he was able to take our order. Well okay, we thought, let’s order some drinks in the meantime. Being a bit warm and parched two of us asked for iced water along with our wine and beer and were directed to the water urn at the other end of the bar. Sure we can pour our own water but please may we have some ice in a glass? We were advised glasses for water were kept on the bar by the water urn. Thus we had to collect our own glasses, return them to the barman for ice and then plod back to the urn to fill our glasses with water. This was not getting off to a good start.
Upon completion of our drinks order, which took an extraordinarily long amount of time, we proceeded to place our food orders. By now a queue of three further customers had formed for the attention of the only barman, whom at this point gave the other customers a look which suggested he was exasperated by us for ordering food AS WELL as drinks! Imagine! A torturous 25 minutes later we had managed to order our drinks, two scotch filet steaks (medium) and an Asian beef salad totalling $125. We went to sit in the sunshine, consume our drinks and wait for the food. We were very perturbed by the cacophonous horde of seagulls feasting on leftover food at the adjacent table; we really wish someone had come to clear the old plates away. Almost as perplexing was the mystery of why there were leftovers when food orders had only commenced 25mins beforehand? Curious.
When our food arrived the disappointment really set in. Our steaks were certainly not filet, a grisly fatty porterhouse at best, and they were both very very well done. The accompanying rosemary roast potatoes had been deep fried, there was no trace of the rosemary and they were really not good. The grated carrot and beetroot on the side was old, dry and tinged with white (possibly mould). Quite honestly it was the most disappointing meal I have ever been served and at the bargain price of $32. The Asian beef salad was slightly better, but it was clear the same fatty grisly beef had been diced and overcooked for the salad too. My friends politely soldiered on and commenced their meals but I could not. At that moment the manager came out to ask if everything was okay? It was not. He agreed immediately that the steaks were far too well cooked and offered to replace both dishes, I accepted the offer but my friend choose to persevere. He also offered complimentary drinks which were gratefully received.
In summation the Hotel is in a great location but sadly let down by slow moody bar staff and awful food. The Manager was the one redeeming factor in the whole experience but not quite enough to discourage this review or ever ever inspire me to return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essendon
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Quite enjoyed 'hotel'. Only called in for a quick aperitif but the service was very friendly and accommodating and the views arguably the best on the island.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groeneveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing