We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrible experience”

Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar
Ranked #33 of 85 Restaurants in Cowes
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Under new management, the Panhandle Restaurant serves an array of Mexican and Texan food, with a fully stocked bar; including frozen Margaritas and a selection of local and imported beers and wines. Warm, relaxed atmosphere with front and rear alfresco dining areas.
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile

We come to Phillip Island once a year for Motogp, and we always eat at least one night at this restaurant. Last year the quality was worse than usual, and this year we heard that there’s a new owner, so we hoped that things would have improved. Tonight we’ve had one of the worst dinners ever, we had to wait 1 hour 40 minutes for the nachos, and the restaurant wasn’t even full! A table of 10 of some colleagues left before even receiving food, and all the customers were complaining. The food quality was average at best, they didn’t even offer drinks to apologize for the terrible service, for sure tonight they lost al least 30 customers!

1  Thank Luca_Gaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony C, Online Content Manager at Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Hi Luca, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. The owner, Colleen, had actually told me about your experience before I even saw this review. I believe that you spoke to her on the night before departing? We are very sorry that you and your team had an unsatisfactory visit, as you are very aware from past visits to the island that long waits for food are unfortunately expected during the Moto GP. Even though the restaurant didn't look completely full,they were very busy and the kitchen received the other group's orders all at once prior to your order, and they also arrived with more in their group than was booked for, so there was quite a lot of pressure on the kitchen at that particular time. Your order was not far from coming out when you decided to depart, but we completely understand your feelings in deciding to go and we hope that you were able to find another dining option. On a usual night perhaps offering drinks or some kind of compensation for extended waits on food would be an option, but during times like GP we would need to do that for far too many patrons as everyone has long waits and would want the same as the table before them. As a small business you can see that would get far too expensive. But again thank you and we wish your team all the best for future meets :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile

Friendly service! Open late so a good option after the Penguin Parade (most other places stop serving at 8 pm). Recently under new management. Nachos good - small portion enough to share between 4! Burrito also good as was Quesadilla. Remember to ask for spicy/chilli sauce.

1  Thank TheFrankens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

The best Mexican food in 100k, cold drinks and a variety of beers. This place often has live music too. If you're visiting Phillip Island this is a great place for the family and also for a night out.

2  Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony C, Online Content Manager at Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you so much for your review! The new owners Paul & Colleen really appreciate you taking the time to rate us. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

We had always been curious about Panhandle so decided to go for a meal . Should have realised when we walked in that there was a few people at the bar but nobody eating.
The food was ok ,ribs were a bit dry just another disappointing eateries on Phillip Island

Thank bart12342017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony C, Online Content Manager at Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thanks for reviewing! Did you know that Panhandle has new owners and only just reopened last weekend? Very close to the school holidays so will likely be busy but I hope that you might consider trying us again sometime soon? We are already receiving great feedback about our food, we have completely overhauled how the food is prepared. The new owners are Paul & colleen who were the original owners of Flynns Inn. We hope to see you again for another review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile

Ok where to start. When wife and myself arrived we were not even acknowledge on arrival had to seat ourselfs. Waited 5 minutes to see someone when he arrived ask if we were ready to order. Ha we hadn't seen the menu. Foood was well Safe. I was hoping for some flavour but unfortunately was disappointed.

Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony C, Online Content Manager at Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thanks for your review Leigh. Paul & Colleen are the new owners and reopened Panhandle last weekend. We are already receiving great feedback about our food and are committed to making it into the great family restaurant it should be. We hope you might try us again sometime and re review! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing