We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old El Paso yeah right!”

Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar
Ranked #30 of 72 Restaurants in Cowes
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old El Paso yeah right!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stay clear of this place. Should have known better when the sign on the door said the place is for SALE! The worst mexican food I have EVER had. Dinner for two with a drink each was $85.00AUS

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank alaskansurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    38
    41
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rozelle, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loosing its Tomale”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Been visiting this tex mex during race week for a few years and I am not sure it will continue to attract our group.
The restaurant is for sale, so I guess even the owner has had enough.
Food and drink is ok, but how do you run out of chicken!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Not sure why this place has great reviews - it made Taco Bills seem gourmet! Service was terrible and all the food really was almost inedible. We had nachos and tacos so pretty easy food and I found it to be one of the worst meals we have had. The chicken tacos had some sort of horrible stew and the meals came with a tiny bit of mexican rice with nothing else (no beans, salsa etc).
Very expensive too. My daughter and I (both who had the chicken tacos) also had the runs the next day. The waitress on payment asked how our meals were and when I should "Not great" was totally uninterested - responded with 'Everyone has different opinions". Umm yes...
Don't do it!!!
Margarita was nice though...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneMontymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“True Tex Mex for the family”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The menu has all the tex mex favourites, margaritas are quite tasty, with food that is of good quality.

The only negative a little expensive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brucefil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good but expensive”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

First time to a mexican restaurant. food was very good and tasty. however thought pice may be little too expensive. recommend if you don't mind the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tella64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing