We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price”
Review of Lone Pine Bistro

Lone Pine Bistro
Ranked #9 of 20 Quick Bites in Cowes
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our goal is to provide you the best possible service, quality food and beverage products within a warm welcoming atmosphere. Located at the gateway to Cowes venue features modern comfortable surrounds with a great range of food and entertainment options.Our 220 seat dining area features an alfresco balcony; highly visible children's play room and a fantastic value for money menu at affordable prices. Gluten free options as well as kids and seniors menus are available. Our wine list features the best of our local wineries along with a great range of Australian favourites and quality house wines.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Good food at great prices and always good to support the RSL. Its a great venue and has heaps of parking.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Jacques196810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2018

Thank you Jacques for your recent feedback after your visit to our venue. We are thrilled to read you had an enjoyable experience and we met your expectations. There certainly are plenty of car parks and lots of disabled parking close to the entry. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 260 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2018

Very impressed by the building and the venue and the greeting upon arrival - but that's where it all stopped. My husband ordered the 300g RUMP steak with 'mustard SAUCE' and veggies and I ordered the gummy shark with chips and salad. Upon receiving our meals, I hope no one saw our faces when my husbands mustard sauce arrived in a pre packed 23gm jar, as you would buy from a shop off the shelf, of seeded MUSTARD....yes - just seeded mustard.....NO SAUCE......As for the steak itself - it was a poor quality cut of rump - uneven in cut, completely overcooked for a medium request and tuff. As for the vegetables - they were ALL boiled and just slopped on the plate....Completely overpriced at $32.00 for what you received. We did speak to a waitress putting forward our disappointment, but nothing was followed up or any feedback was given to us.
I had the local gummy shark grilled which I was charged an extra $2 for (just to have grilled not battered and deep fried) - and chips and salad (which was mainly carrot) - also very average for $26. On leaving we informed the front desk of our disappointment - at least there we received an apology - and she did mention that she would pass our disappointment on to the kitchen staff. (Not sure this has worked in the past as we now read other reviews - it seems to be a common theme over the past couple of years especially......) We did decide not to order dessert after such a disappointing expensive dinner - and stopped and Coles to buy ice-cream instead......We certainly won't be rushing back any time soon, and also won't be recommending the Bistro to any of our friends.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bcaccaviello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We take constructive criticism seriously and do follow through with genuine complaints such as yours. After discussion with staff, it sounds like it was a communication problem. We have mustard sauce available as well as mustard pots. Had you asked for mustard sauce, we could have rectified immediately when the meal was served. We are disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations and do hope you will return one day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

It’s hard to go wrong at this RSL bistro

Meals were large and very tasty

Roast lamb was melt in the mouth tender

Great choice of children’s meals and a kids play area to keep them occupied

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Jesswakeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

Hubby said.. “give it a go, it’s an RSL they should be to a standard” - that’s what he said the second time we were here and my meal was bad then... oh well, it was late, he was hungry and we wanted somewhere we could have a drink. Alright.
So for the third time eating here, this was our third bad meal. The local gummy was oily and you could see the oil squishing out when I cut it. The chips weren’t fresh, maybe they sit in a Bain Marie, not sure, but they were luke-warm and gluggy and undercooked. The lettuce and grated carrot was good though. I can’t have tomato or cucumber, but there was a sign on the register saying that the sides were strictly the sides, and there was no chance of swapping anything out. So I pushed them onto hubby’s plate.
We ordered drinks from the bar. My moscato was nice, but he asked for a Great Northen, got back to the table, took a drink and it tasted like more like cascade - definitely wasn’t Great Northern.
*sigh* That’s it. Won’t come here again. Shame coz to look at, it’s a nice place, even if overpriced.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 2_macks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit to our venue. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations and surprised that you did not advise our bistro staff of your specific issues on the day. Had you done so we may have been able to rectify immediately.
Best wishes from the team at Phillip Island RSL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

The extensive menu at the RSL offers plenty of choices, from expensive to affordable fare. Our group of five was able to have a main each for under $100, so I'd call that good value. Drinks are not expensive, which is great. Everyone enjoyed his/her food. Sure it's standard pub grub, but well cooked and in a pleasant setting.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nocatnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Thank you for our 4 star review after visiting our venue in April. We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable experience and found it to be good value for money. We hope that you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Pine Bistro also viewed

 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Lone Pine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing