We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for seniors”
Review of Lone Pine Bistro

Lone Pine Bistro
Ranked #25 of 76 Restaurants in Cowes
Price range: $5 - $41
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our goal is to provide you the best possible service, quality food and beverage products with a warm welcoming atmosphere. Located in Cowes our fantastic refurbished venue features modern comfortable surrounds with a great range of food and entertainment options.Our 220 seat dining area features an alfresco balcony; highly visible children's play room and a fantastic new menu at affordable prices. Our wine list features the best of our local wineries along with a great range of Australian favourites and quality house wines.
Auckland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for seniors”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I took two elderly people for several meals there, as great cheap food for them avail lunch and dinner Mon to Fri. I think it was only $10 for the roast, or fish and chips or a few other options. Soup $2 and dessert (only 2 simple options) also only $2.
Always busy over Christmas so we booked a table every time. Very long wait if you happened to arrive at a popular time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are happy to read that your guests enjoyed their Seniors meals - our Executive Chef is keen to ensure that we offer good value for money and quality meals for all to enjoy. January is our peak season and can be very busy. The easiest way to book during this time and of course, any other time is on line by using the BookaRestaurant service accessed via our website www.pirsl.com.au. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    70
    44
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very impressed”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I ate here twice in three nights. I had the steak that was cooked to perfection. I also had the gluten free option for the beer battered flake. This was also excellent. Our group stayed in quite a while after eating and didn't feel pressured to order more or leave.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Foodgirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We are thrilled to hear you have enjoyed your past three experiences at the Lone Pine Bistro and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Best wishes for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you enjoy throwing up...eat here!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had dinner here last night (a group of 8 of us) and I was the only one who ordered the flake and the lucky one to get food poisoning as a result! God forbid, it could have been my kids! It ruined the entire experience and is not acceptable. I would not recommend nor would I ever set foot in your restaurant again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJV76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great for Families, Gluten Free options”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Family of 15 ate here Sunday lunch and really enjoyed the meal and atmosphere. Little play area for the kids was great, fast service (wasnt super busy) and food was excellent. Rib Eye Beef was REALLY good. Heaps of Gluten Free options which was good as had a Coeliac in our party. Standard prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ughhh..”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Clearly being the ONLY large venue with the ability to feed the masses is the ONLY reason why this rsl is even in business.
The fact remains no matter how crap the food ends up being, you'll stupidly have no real choice but to go back again if you visit Philip Island again. And thats the sad part. T here just is not anywhere else that you can go with kids play area...large bar..tab..pokies ...outside dining...they have the market sewn up.
UgHhhhh
Food was not good at all
Chips cheap and floury
Roast dry as shoe leather
Vegetables cold and half raw
Fish way overlooked .overpriced and dry.
Steak ordered med rare. Came med well.
Kids meals about as nutritious as a rock
It seems to be ALL about chips...let's put heaps of scrap chips on a plate and not worry about much more.
The worst part is, when our group is back at the track in few months..we will have to go again.
Sigh...no where else to go!!!
And I'm guessing that's exactly what the management knows too. And they fleece it for all its worth.
Members also seem to get not very much.
Really sad and disappointing for the name of .SL..this place needs a new manager.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank likomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Pine Bistro also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Lone Pine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing