We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Day!”

Wildlife Coast Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.56*
and up
Phillip Island Seal-Watching Cruise
Ranked #1 of 9 Tours in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wildlife Coast Cruises is an environmentally accredited business which operates around the beautiful waters of Phillip Island and Wilsons Promontory. The wide range of cruises include trips to Seal Rocks, Twilight Bay cruises, Scenic Lunch Cruises, Winter Whale Cruises and more. The flagship is the Kasey Lee, a state of the art catamaran 65 feet in length, manned by friendly and professional crew who are happy to care for and entertain you along your journey.
Healesville, Australia
2 reviews
“A Perfect Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The boat trip to seal rock was the highlight of our Philip Island Trip, the seals were beautiful, the staff amazing! A big thank you to Paul for all your great advice, especially the Japenese Restaurant. Would highly recommend.
Mia & Harry (Healesville, Yarra Valley)
Karen & Lexy (from England)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank miamckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    69
    7
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great day! Seals, dolphins, sun, wind, ocean view and a beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

went with my wife and 2.5 yo daughter. We all had a great time!

Went on the 2 hr cruise just after xmas, but it wasn't packed. Enough seating for all and not a fight to get to see anything when we arrived. My parents purchased tickets as a gift so I cant comment on value though. The tickets included free refreshments of tea/coffee and cake. It was a bit rough and some young kids were a bit seasick (saw about 3), so bear this in mind if you or your family are prone to it. My 2 yo seemed to think it was fun :)

The ferry took us to Seal Rocks where we were able to get really close to the seals playing in the water. They were recently born pups at this time so pretty cute. There were lots of them everywhere. Apparently 14,000 seals on the rocks overall! Everyone was able to get a great view and we stayed for the right amount of time before we went back. (See pics below).

On the way back the captain stopped the boat and told us he saw Dolphins. This was a really nice bonus and we saw a pod of 4-5 swim really near the boat and chase fish. Very cool! The captain had personality and was interesting with what he said over the PA. Staff were friendly and helpful. On the way back, the captain even let the kids have a "steer" of the boat and they got a certificate. Would have been a big thrill for the older kids. They even let my 2 yo have a go. It was all 100% safe though!

You can buy coffee and beer on-board too. I had a beer on the way back and must admit thought "this is the life" to myself as I sat in the warm sun, drinking a cold beer, in the cool breeze (which also kept flies away finally) with my family.

Best tourist thing I've done on the Island!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sadpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Highly recommend it.customer service at its best.loved the cruise experience and watching the seals.my 9 month old enjoyed the whole trip too.she loved sitting on the deck watching around.had a great time.enjoyed a free coffee too,which was nice.since Dec was the breeding season, we saw a lot of seals and the staff had a good knowledge to answer all our questions .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank peterndee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great crew!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Went out to sea under pretty rough condition and at one stage, kids were vomiting and adults were getting pretty seasick. But the crew did a great job ensuring that everyone is well looked after and the captain's steady hands ensured that we got a great view of the seals.

One advice though - the seals are really (and i mean Really) smelly. Bring along some minty lollies or breath fresheners...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank deskylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Memorable twilight cruise to view the Christmas fireworks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Last week a group of friends and colleagues embarked on the SS Kasey Lee to cruise from Rhyll jetty to Cowes, to view the Christmas fireworks from the water. What a splendid occasion it turned out to be! We were fortunate to enjoy mild, still weather, which contributed greatly to our experience on board the boat. After cruising around Western Port for about 45 minutes, we took up a position near Cowes jetty, upwind of the fireworks installation. At about 9.30pm the display began, and we had a brilliant clear view of the colourful display, while benefitting from the smoke blowing away from our location. On board, the company, Wildlife Coast Cruises, supplied lots of nibbles, tea and coffee, and offered alcoholic refreshments at modest prices ($4.50 for a glass of wine). After the fireworks finished, and we cruised back to Rhyll, they put on a fantastic spread of hot and cold finger food, and platters of fruit, cheese and other yummies. At $40/32 a head, this is good value for money. This was my second cruise with Wildlife Coast Cruises. On both occasions I have found the staff to be very pleasant, friendly and helpful. They seem to enjoy their jobs, and their warmth and enthusiasm is infectious. On a more serious side, they conduct themselves with great professionalism, and I have always felt safe on board the Kasey Lee. It has to be one of the very best experiences you can have while visiting Phillip Island. I'll definitely book for another one of their excellent boat trips.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Millefleurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrd_50, General Manager at Wildlife Coast Cruises, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thanks for the great review, as being captain that evening it was a great night with a festive atmosphere on-board. As you indicated everyone was having a good time, and we have a great and energetic crew to boot, thanks again for the great review, regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildlife Coast Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Wildlife Coast Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing