We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, exactly what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colac Mid City Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Colac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed the night in a queen bed room. Facilities are exactly as expected, a bit dated but comfortable and everything works great. Heater warmed the room up very fast. Location was nice and close to the main part of town. Most importantly, staff were fantastic. They were helpful and flexible with the booking.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank west636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 54 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had stayed at this hotel many years ago. It was an over night stop. It had not changed all that much. It is a typical 80s looking hotel. Modest and comfortable. Clean. Great breakfasts. I didn't get to use their restaurant, it never appeared open. The Hotel is walking distance from the main shopping strip. I chose a single room with a queen sized bed. Separate bathroom, microwave (that came in handy) and a toaster (even handier). The heater was a necessity. It got a bit chilly during the week and the heater was more than adequate to keep me warm and cosy. Internet access isn't a problem although I used my own portable internet connection. They also have free video borrowing if you don't want to watch what is on tv. I ended up going to the movies at the Colac Cinemas only walking distance away.. Very affordable for the week.

Room Tip: Second story is good. I just happen to like the second story facing south.. I was not that impress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was not familiar with the area and am from North America but had heard this was the place to stay in Colac. I was very disappointed. I cannot say whether there is anything better in town however, I can only say that on its own merits this motel comes up short.

Let me start with a few positives. Cookies in your motel room, usually refreshed each day! Delicious instant coffee. Bed warmer. Close to Mackers (MacDonald's), about one block away. Lots of hot water, great shower (more about this below).

Onto the overwhelming negatives. No Wi-Fi. This is inexcusable and a deal breaker for business. The room was drafty and cold. No weather stripping around the door(at least it didn't work if there was some). The window in the bathroom shower was riveted open 6" causing a further cold draft in the shower itself. I am sure that works okay in the summer, but in the winter when it is in the single digit Celsius range it is unpleasant. They did have a wall heater and a forced air HVAC unit. Unfortunately the cleaning staff turned the heat off during the day when I was gone so that when I arrived back in the evening the room would be very cold again. I can see saving money by doing this but it is very chintzy and it made you feel like you were fighting with the staff over the thermostat. There are no outside lights, or at least they are off for most of the night when you may need them. I left early every morning and always had to negotiate the stairwell in complete darkness. In general the carpets, drapes and décor were dated and dingy.

I will give somewhere else a try next time I am in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RFA2249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Motel staff very helpful and the room was dated but clean and comfortable. Garden surrounds quite beautiful. Restaurant was more than acceptable with a good steak on day one of a two day stay. Second night meal was just OK as the schnitzel beneath the parma sauce was almost cold.
Despite this glitch would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The rooms were old and tired with tatty furniture. My pillowcases hadn't been washed/changed from the previous occupant with hair all over them. Wash cutlery before you use it , ours were still dirty. Good selection of free DVD's but no free internet and our room wasn't serviced.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank 1984_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at this Motel for 4 nights with a large group of friends. Rooms small but adequate. Bathroom had just been redecorated. Motel is a bit outdated however the owner is updating rooms as money becomes available. Linen was clean and each room had a different colour style. Hearty breakfasts started our day well. Had dinner in restaurant each night. Large portions were popular with the men but the veges were overcooked. Smorgasbord dinner on Friday night was excellent. Drinks at the bar were reasonably priced. Overall the friendliness of staff and cleanliness of the place made it very good value. It's a ten minute walk to the centre of town. Would stay there if I was in Colac again

Room Tip: Choose a room downstairs as there are a lot of steps to drag your suitcase to the upstairs rooms. Sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocam2750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

After checking out early from the horrid Otways Tourist Park, I instead stayed the next two nights nearby in Colac at the Mid City Motor Inn, which, for only $20 extra per night, represented outstanding value and service with a clean and spacious room with bathroom, big screen TV, free DVD hire, air-conditioning, a restaurant on site and a gorgeous swimming pool surrounded by manicured gardens, walking distance to all facilities in town and lovely personable owners/managers. In fact, I elected to stay an additional night at the Mid City Motor Inn as I was so impressed and it was so so much better than the terrible tourist park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colac hotels
1.0 mi away
Otway Gate Motel
Otway Gate Motel
#1 of 4 in Colac
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baronga Motor Inn
Baronga Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Colac
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
The Union Club Hotel
#2 of 3 in Colac
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Colac Mid City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colac Mid City Motor Inn

Address: 289 Murray St, Colac, Victoria 3250, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Colac)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Colac
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Colac
Price Range: $83 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colac Mid City Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Colac Mid City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing