We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colac Mid City Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Colac
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Motel staff very helpful and the room was dated but clean and comfortable. Garden surrounds quite beautiful. Restaurant was more than acceptable with a good steak on day one of a two day stay. Second night meal was just OK as the schnitzel beneath the parma sauce was almost cold.
Despite this glitch would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    19
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
19
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were old and tired with tatty furniture. My pillowcases hadn't been washed/changed from the previous occupant with hair all over them. Wash cutlery before you use it , ours were still dirty. Good selection of free DVD's but no free internet and our room wasn't serviced.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 1984_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emu Plains Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at this Motel for 4 nights with a large group of friends. Rooms small but adequate. Bathroom had just been redecorated. Motel is a bit outdated however the owner is updating rooms as money becomes available. Linen was clean and each room had a different colour style. Hearty breakfasts started our day well. Had dinner in restaurant each night. Large portions were popular with the men but the veges were overcooked. Smorgasbord dinner on Friday night was excellent. Drinks at the bar were reasonably priced. Overall the friendliness of staff and cleanliness of the place made it very good value. It's a ten minute walk to the centre of town. Would stay there if I was in Colac again

Room Tip: Choose a room downstairs as there are a lot of steps to drag your suitcase to the upstairs rooms. Sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocam2750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

After checking out early from the horrid Otways Tourist Park, I instead stayed the next two nights nearby in Colac at the Mid City Motor Inn, which, for only $20 extra per night, represented outstanding value and service with a clean and spacious room with bathroom, big screen TV, free DVD hire, air-conditioning, a restaurant on site and a gorgeous swimming pool surrounded by manicured gardens, walking distance to all facilities in town and lovely personable owners/managers. In fact, I elected to stay an additional night at the Mid City Motor Inn as I was so impressed and it was so so much better than the terrible tourist park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Small rooms.. Good tv reception. This motel is old inside but clean. Value for money a bit over the top. Take your own pillows otherwise use their big hard pillows. A good in out keep traveling location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyHoliday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I chose the Colac Mid City Motor Inn quite by chance, and we were so pleased that we did!

A friendly welcome led to us booking into room number 1 overlooking the pool and the colourful flower beds surrounding it.

We felt so comfortable that, instead of going out for dinner, we ate in the motel.

Again, we were so glad that we did.

The flathead tails we chose were generous and tasty, the chips cooked to perfection and - a nice touch - served on a poppadom along with one of the most delicious salads I have ever experienced.

All this and the wine too at a very reasonable price - we will be back if in the area again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Colac Mid City twice this past year while in town to visit family and friends. The hotel offers our family a very nice package, which makes it an affordable option for all. The staff are very friendly and helpful in every area of the motel. I especially love the beds!! very very comfortable. I dont think I have had a great sleep like that in a long time!! It's important to be able to sleep well at night after you have been out and about and in this case last weekend after a very long wedding day/ weekend. The level of service is above what is expected. We feel that this is the service that other motels should strive for.
The motel itself has all the amenities that we've come to expect but what sets this property apart is the staff. Thankyou so much Trevor & Doreen. We will all see you again very soon. With warmest regards, The Buzza Family Xo

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colac
1.0 mi away
Otway Gate Motel
Otway Gate Motel
#1 of 4 in Colac
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
0.9 mi away
Baronga Motor Inn
Baronga Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Colac
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Otways Tourist Park
Otways Tourist Park
#1 of 2 in Gellibrand
40 reviews
11.3 mi away
Birregurra 1865 Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colac Mid City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colac Mid City Motor Inn

Property: Colac Mid City Motor Inn
Address: 289 Murray St, Colac, Victoria 3250, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Colac)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Colac
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Colac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colac Mid City Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colac Mid City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing