We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Otway Gate Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Otway Gate Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Colac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Have stayed here on multiple occasions when in Colac on Business. Excellent facilities and has everything you need. Clean and Comfortable and the staff will go out of there way to assist. Would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighP699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beryl T, Owner at Otway Gate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your review Leigh. Our aim is to make you as comfortable as possible with what we have (larger rooms would have been great). A good bed, warm room, hot shower, breakfast and a back up team if needed. What more could you need. Hope to see you again soon and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 107 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at this motel twice recently on our way to and from Portland. While not luxurious, this motel was very clean and the rooms contained everything one would need for a short stay. Nice extras were a microwave oven, free Foxtel and being allowed to bring our dog (as long as he slept in the car). We ordered room service breakfast which was reasonably priced, arrived on time and was still hot. The coffee was brewed and of good quality. The bookings, check-in and check-out were all efficiently and politely managed. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest back from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beryl T, Owner at Otway Gate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hello Vicki and thank you for your review. We try to make everyone comfortable and knowing in advance of special needs as in your dog we were able to put you in an end room and not stress your pet with people walking past the car. Pleased all 3 of you got home safe after the fishing trip and yes, the tuna was mouth watering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Had a three day stay at the Otway Gate Motel. Clean, comfortable and well looked after by Beryl and Ray, the hosts. Beryl does a great breakfast by the way.
Would recommend Otway Gate Motel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beryl T, Owner at Otway Gate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hello Richard. Wow, what a great review. In all honesty we didn't have to do much in service other than breakfast as you were such an organised guest. I do hope you find what you are looking for in Colac. It is such a lovely area and so central to so much. I also hope you got home safely with that oil leak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

There's nothing fancy about this motel's accommodation so I think it must be the friendly and conscientious managers who make the difference. I saw Beryl volunteering sightseeing and travel advice to guests. And she told me about the effort put into ensuring guests stay quiet at night, whether indoors or around their cars, so those sleeping are not disturbed.

Room Tip: low numbered rooms (1 onward) are behind the two-storey reception and managers' residence buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alys-Schatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beryl T, Owner at Otway Gate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Hello Alys and thank you for your review. As I have said before when we bought this motel we decided to run it as if we were the guest and try to cover the needs of both the sort stay traveller and worker in for a week at a time. Part of that is trying to keep noisy guests at a lower volume. As at Easter we had 5 rooms book together and thought they could party into the night without any thought for other guests. If you want to party here you need to book the whole motel so there is no disruption to others. Car doors banging in the early hours I cannot do much about but the other I can and do. Hope your stay was comfortable and you do return at some stage. We are not flash and do not profess to be but try to make you comfortable both here and in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Thank you Otway for a most enjoyable stay .
The room was clean ,fresh and for its age is very modern , the staff could not be any more friendly or helpful nothing was to difficult for them :) They gave us a discount voucher for the RSL that served great meals .
We ordered a hot breakfast and Beryl had it to the room on time piping hot and eggs cooked just right . I would recommend if staying in Colac the Otway gate is the place to stay I know we'll be back when passing through again.
The only annoying thing was and this was no fault of the Motel elderly DEAF guests loading their car at 7:30 in the morning yelling at each other weather or not they have everything lol

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beryl T, Owner at Otway Gate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Hi John and thankyou for a great review.
Our job as moteliers is to make you feel welcome, give you good clean comfortable rooms and advise you as best we can on the local area. If I cannot do that I should not be here.
We are very lucky with the choice of quality eating places in Colac and yes the RSL do a lovely meal at a reasonable price. The vouchers are just a bonus.
Once again thank you for your great review and we may see you again if passing through Colac.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We pulled in without a booking and Beryl was very friendly and most helpful ,the room was basic for great value. We had a breakfast that was great.
Everything we needed was supplied ,laundry was useful ,but a really nice garden ,we didn't get to use as raining
Overall we value the friendly welcome ,we would defiantly return
Thanks Beryl for a friendly welcome on our honeymoon

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beryl T, Owner at Otway Gate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Hi Sharon and thank you for a great review. We do our best to make all guests feel welcome but some make our job so easy. I hope you are having a fantastic trip despite the four seasons in a day weather. I would wish you well in your new marriage but you have obviously just put the icing on top of an already beautiful cake. Best wishes and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

For anyone staying a night or 2 in Colac, this is an excellent choice. My daughter and I stayed for one night. Our rooms (pretty much identical) were clean, spacious and bright.
In any hotel room, but especially one in a country town, there are 3 things I look for:
1. Cleanliness
2. Comfortable bed
3. Good shower
The Otway Gate ticks all 3 boxes, and the welcome was friendly and professional.
Wifi is free, and we were given a discount voucher for the RSL, which is a short walk away.
All in all, 2 very happy customers, and if work or pleasure takes you to Colac, I'd recommend the Otway Gate with enthusiasm.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFLonergan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beryl T, Owner at Otway Gate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Hello JL and thank you for a wonderful review. I know from our conversation that you have stayed in some beautiful properties both here and overseas so this review means a lot to me.
As stated before I would not expect my guests to stay in a room I would not stay in. I have high expectations that the cleaners have to meet. We are lucky to have a good relationship with the RSL in Colac. Their food is good and prices reasonable but the discount cards are a bonus.Hope all went well with your daughters short visit in town. Once again thank you very much for this outstanding review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colac
1 mi away
Colac Mid City Motor Inn
24.5 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
204 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Lorne Bay View Apartments
0.1 mi away
Baronga Motor Inn
Baronga Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Colac
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otway Gate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otway Gate Motel

Address: 52-56 Murray St E, Colac, Victoria 3250, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Colac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Colac
Price Range: $87 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Otway Gate Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel has both family and singles catered for. We have a range of rooms to suit most sinarios. Queen rooms, Bunk rooms for small families and Family or Interconnecting rooms for larger groups. We now also have our fully renovated 2 bedroom house available. Both bedrooms with King size beds, flat screen t.v. and ensuite to both. Our motel is just one hour inland from the Great Ocean Road and central to Warrnambool, Ballarat, Geelong and 1.15hrs from Avalon airport. Colac is the Gateway to the Otway National Park and is on the end of the Volcanic chain with stunning views of the lakes and craters in our district. Wanting to plan a short adventure?. Ring or email and we can help you plan your day trips while having a base to come back to at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Otway Gate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing