We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in Every Way”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Benson House

Benson House - a spacious alternative for families or small groups
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Benson House - a spacious alternative for families or small groups
Full kitchen facilities in Benson House Benson House has been described a s a 'grand old dame
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Benson House - a spacious alternative for families or small groups
Full kitchen facilities in Benson House
Benson House has been described a s a 'grand old dame
Queen room in Benson House
Queen room in Benson House
Twin room in Benson House
Great backyard to unwind and relax in
Benson House bathroom
Off-street parking behind gates
Bathroom through to passage
Large secure backyard to chill out and unwind in
Relax in the sunroom at Benson House
Benson House dining space
Stay in Benalla accommodation is a Cycle Friendly Business
Relaxed dining space
Dining room
Central address in Benalla
Full kitchen facilities in Benson House
Benson House - a spacious art deco
Soar high at the Gliding Club of Victoria
Walk around the tranquil Lake Benalla
Soar high in a glider over Benalla
Benalla Art Gallery and lake views café – free entry
Benalla Lake and ceramic mural surrounded by walking track (suitable for wheelchairs)
Magnificent Benalla Regional Art Gallery (free)
They're racing at Benalla!
Birdwatching, cycling and walking at the Winton Wetlands restoration.
See 185 + species of birds at the Winton Wetlands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Benalla, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annetteh6...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

Due to work we spent 2 weeks at Benson House and what a treat it was. We fell in love with the house and Benalla. The house was so homely, beautiful clean and the yard was perfect for us and our little dog to use. We had friends stay and the house easily accommodated a wheelchair to move freely around. We did lots of walking, Gallery visiting and enjoyed chatting to the very friendly shop owners. The Street Art is stunning as you turn every corner. We ran out of time to play tennis. The beautiful shade trees everywhere kept us cool. Ray and Liz are fabulous hosts, nothing is too much trouble. We are booked for June and really looking forward to Benson House again. You would not find better value or house in Benalla or surrounds. Enjoy

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne M
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Benson House and Benson Lodge was ideal accommodation for 4 couples. It location is within easy walking distance of the shopping centres and many of the wonderful "things to see and do" in Benalla. Benson House and Lodge were cosy, very comfortable beds, great shower, large house full of character. It features a lovely garden and outdoor area. Ray, our host, is full of life, very helpful and goes the extra miles to ensure his guests enjoyed their stay. We look forward to our next visit. Thank you Ray.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex06520...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful location awesome accomodation plenty to do”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house is located in a beautiful tree lined street in the heart of Benalla. You are close to all the shops, supermarkets and all other amenities . The house itself is perfect for a family or a group of friends with its spacious bedrooms, facilities and privacy. You have all what you need and you can enjoy your stay by visiting all what Benalla and its surrounds offer. I go every year without fail for a small break and i would not stay anywhere else.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A perfect family getaway!”
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A perfect family holiday! Benalla is a quiet pretty little town which was perfect for a mid year vay kay to rejuvinate the batteries.
Benalla House is a great period home which more than catered for our two famalies with small children, the sunroom was a great place for the kids to play with the toys provided and the weather was terrific for the children to play in the secured yards.
Ray was a fantastic host providing a cot at short notice and we were pleasently suprised to find chocolate, milk and juice provided as a welcome.
Why would you stay in a motel or caravan park when you have this as an option?
Full kitchen, free wifi, secure yards, central heating, dvds, full bathroom and laundry, everything you could possibly need.....RECOMMEND!
Thanks Ray

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DayTrip71...
1 review
“Great location. Central to all Benalla attractions.”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house and gardens are spacious. The surrounding trees with autumn leaves were gorgeous. We were surprised by the amount of local attractions. The host Ray was extremely helpful with his local knowledge. We will definitely return. We will also take our dog as pets are permittred

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griff L
1 review
“Perfect weekend away in Benalla”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Terrific location close to the town centre and most things well within walking distance. A well maintained and clean house full of character, charm and with a nice garden/lawn area out the back. Perfect for a weekend getaway with some friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shimmerla...
Wangaratta, Australia
1 review
“Spacious, grand historic house with a green backyard that gives privacy.”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Benson House is a three bedroom house. Each bedroom isquiet large with high ceilings. There are two dining areas plus a sun room which is an enclosed back veranda with a lovely view of a private back garden. Such a quiet place to stay all within a ten minute walk of the highly regarded Benalla botanic Gardens and an art Gallery by the lake.
I don't think there could be a better place to stay in Benalla...so close to the botanic gardens.
The kitchen was thoughtfully stocked with condiments and muesli....you could arrive hungry and find a quick meal in this kitchen. I also liked the organised shelf of local tourist information. laid out so you could easily see what was of real interest. This accommodation is among the very best I have encountered in regional Victoria.
I am already planning a return visit....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing