We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Benson House

Benson House - a spacious alternative for families or small groups
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Benson House - a spacious alternative for families or small groups
Full kitchen facilities in Benson House Benson House has been described a s a 'grand old dame
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Benson House - a spacious alternative for families or small groups
Full kitchen facilities in Benson House
Benson House has been described a s a 'grand old dame
Queen room in Benson House
Queen room in Benson House
Twin room in Benson House
Great backyard to unwind and relax in
Benson House bathroom
Off-street parking behind gates
Bathroom through to passage
Large secure backyard to chill out and unwind in
Relax in the sunroom at Benson House
Benson House dining space
Stay in Benalla accommodation is a Cycle Friendly Business
Relaxed dining space
Dining room
Central address in Benalla
Full kitchen facilities in Benson House
Benson House - a spacious art deco
Soar high at the Gliding Club of Victoria
Walk around the tranquil Lake Benalla
Soar high in a glider over Benalla
Benalla Art Gallery and lake views café – free entry
Benalla Lake and ceramic mural surrounded by walking track (suitable for wheelchairs)
Magnificent Benalla Regional Art Gallery (free)
They're racing at Benalla!
Birdwatching, cycling and walking at the Winton Wetlands restoration.
See 185 + species of birds at the Winton Wetlands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Benalla, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vickym830
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed December 30, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We spent one night here en route to Melbourne. We found Benson House on Booking.com. It was a bit different from our usual choice of bigger motel accommodation and we were very pleasantly surprised at what Benson House offered. We were shown into our own little apartment which had everything we needed. Breakfast items were supplied in the fridge and cupboards so we could help ourselves in the morning. This suited us perfectly as we wanted a very early start. The accommodation is extremely comfortable and very close to the town centre. We could walk to the restaurants. Our host was very friendly and helpful. Benalla is a pretty town and we enjoyed our brief stay. Would definitely stay there again.

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha...
Cranbourne, Australia
1 review
“What a beautiful home !!”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at this beautiful house for the weekend and i couldn't be happier
Ray was very helpful, he made sure there was plenty of room for 5 adults and also 3 children
The house was immaculate with so much room for everyone not once did it feel crowded, and the complimentary breakfast supplies was great aswell
And only a 5 minute walk into benalla, i would highly recommemd this beautiful house to everyone and cannot wait wait to come back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2015
We are really pleased Samantha that you and the family enjoyed your stay at Benson House. Thank you for taking the time to prepare a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvisser52
Narre Warren, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect place for a family getaway!”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

From the moment i enquired about renting this property Ray was more than helpful!
He accomodated for 10 adults and 1 child in the end and a couple of those were last minute ad ons but it was not and issue for Ray.
We were spending the weekend for a wedding and i was expecting it to be a bit squishy, instead i was plesently surprised. The property is quite large and we didn't once feel like we had too many people.
It was equipt with absolutely everything we needed and more! Bedding is very comfortable, there was a great selection of dvds and games which came in very handy on one of the days when a storm came in. Its in a great location only about 1km walk from main street which has everything you need.
I highly recommend this property for a family get away or for anyone else wanting to stay in the area this property is perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl026
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Easy Access All Areas”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We went to Benalla for the Bush Poets and Musicians Muster held at the bowling club and Benson House was a short stroll away. We also enjoyed walking through the Botanical Gardens and watching the local cricketers on the way to the Art Gallery. Another short walk over the river into town and on to the Antique Fair. A great location and a fun week end in a peaceful setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2015
thank you for taking the time to prepare a review. We are pleased you found Benson House central to many local attractions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie R
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend!”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a wonderful place to stay on our Girl's Weekend!
Benson House is a very spacious, clean and very comfortable house and the extra touches by Liz and Ray were thoughtful and generous.
The beds were comfortable and the kitchen very well set up. The central heating was much appreciated!
As well as the many tourist pamphlets available, Ray gave us some excellent suggestions for things to do. The best of these was the suggestions about the wineries and to eat at Rustik Café and Winebar in Benalla-a must if you are looking for a fabulous meal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful hosts, clean and spacious property.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We aspire to making our property a home away from home,for our visitors and something different from the usual accommodation offerings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin3134
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Relaxed and refreshed!”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at the Benson house last weekend and were more than pleased when we arrived. Our host was extremely friendly, and made us feel right at home. The house is so spacious! We couldn't believe how large the bedrooms and yard was. Talk about value for money!
A weekend was not long enough and we will definitely be coming back.
Feeling relaxed and refreshed.
Thankyou. Erin

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2015
Thank you Erin. We are thrilled when guests really enjoy their short stay in our accommodation in Benalla.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne W
Wynyard, Australia
1 review
“Benson House - The Dreaming Jewel of Benalla”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a fine accommodation experience. Prior to our arrival, Ray was on the ball, obliging and helpful via phone or text. Liz, who met us, was an easy-going person who put us at ease with encouragements like, "You've got the run of the place" and "Don't be afraid to turn up the heat." This turned out to be sound advice when we discovered ice on our car windscreen next morning. Once inside the stately house, we warmed instantly to the high ceilings, the sense of space and elegance, and the immaculate presentation of each room. One look in the main bedroom and we knew we were in for a great night's sleep. Indeed, a bomb would not have roused us. Central heating to each room helped ensure our comfort.

We washed our clothes and cooked night and morning, grateful for the thoughtful kitchen provisions that included refreshments, fruit and breakfast foods. We loved the house's setting; a wide, tree-lined and quiet street. Had we stayed longer, we would have wandered down to a restaurant because these and many shops were within easy walking distance. Also accessible by foot were the rose gardens, gallery and beautiful lake. We liked Benson House very much as it was a peaceful, relaxing place to stay. We also think Benalla is a wonderful place to stop over on a trip from Sydney to Melbourne or as a springboard to the mountains or Murray River.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing comfort of the house.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review of Benson House - a property we are really proud of and willing to share with travelling guests. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and sampled some of the many delights of our home town, Benalla.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing