We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant country motel with friendly staff.”
Review of Glider City Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glider City Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Benalla
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant country motel with friendly staff.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A typical country town motel. It's a few hundred meters out of town which makes it a bit quieter than others. They're happy for you to bring bikes into your room which is always a bonus. They also have secure storage for them during the day if you're not riding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    31
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
35
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in June, was clean, tidy and warm. Is good for an overnight stopover, but a little noisy being right next to a main road. Also, it's a bit further away from places to eat, we found there wasn't anything within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kato2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time this trip due to other motel I usually stay in being booked out. Clean and tidy rooms. Value for money is very good and a fairly good location as well. Only a short drive into town for a meal. Would quite happily stay here again in the future. Also very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southerntraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have regularly travelled through this region in recent years and I'm glad to have found this motel. It has met all my needs both as a one-night stopover on a work-related trip and more recently as a three night-stopover to visit the region. There are nice touches here as the management seeks to make visitors feel at home and well-pro0vided for. Not only are the
rooms of good size, usefully furnished with table and chairs, comfortable sofa and comfortable beds, the bathroom is clean and well-equipped. As I cannot seem to live without my computer the Wi-fi facility here was so valuable. Of particular use on every visit has been the advice about eateries. With its good location, good facilities, friendly and helpful service, I will happily book at this motel every time I travel through this region.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have stayed at the Glider City now on two occasions and found it to be very warm and comfortable just what I need prior to traveling to Winton Raceway for our track day.

Looking forward to my next stay at Glider City.

Regards

Dirk

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dvanheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt. gambier
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at The Glider City overnight recently as my motorbike had broken down on the Hume Hwy, Racv made the booking for me and dropped me and my bike there late in the evening. I had the last room in the complex but despite being busy Michael the host made sure all my needs were met for me personally and to make sure my bike could be repaired the next day. An absolute relief as I was still 1000kms from home and needed to get home urgently. He even lent me his car the next morning to source parts. Trusting helpful accomodating friendly. The spa room was spotlessly clean warm and comfortable. This experience turned around for me what could have been an inconvenient disaster into a positively memorable stay. Do youself a favour and stay at this motel. Thanks again Michael.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Travelling through country Victoria over the Christmas New Year period, we booked a Deluxe Spa Room (Room 1) for an overnight stay. We were checked in by one of the owners and he was a very friendly host. He was happy to recommend local restaurants and pubs for dinner as they don't have restaurant facilities on-site plus we were from Sydney and didn't know the area. Our room was a great size, spotless in every respect and had obviously just been refurbished with new carpet and linen, etc. All this, plus the extra little extra touches like a coffee plunger, quality tea, coffee and chocolates set this motel apart from the rest. Although located a little further from town than other accommodation in Benalla it is still only a short drive to restaurants, pubs, etc. We would highly recommend Glider City Motel for an overnight stay or longer. For families, they also have a pool and outdoor area plus a large selection of videos which would be great if it was a rainy day. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1 if it is available. It is a great size and also has a large spa bath. Although clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFADVENTURES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalla
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Benalla
Comfort Inn Benalla
#4 of 6 in Benalla
51 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rose City Motor Inn
Rose City Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Benalla
103 reviews
1.5 mi away
Avondel Motor Inn
Avondel Motor Inn
#3 of 6 in Benalla
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Wangaratta
71 reviews
22.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
3.6 mi away
Executive Hideaway Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glider City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glider City Motel

Property: Glider City Motel
Address: 2 Witt St, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Benalla
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Benalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glider City Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest motel in Benalla. Full room renovations completed 2016. Sparkling new bathrooms and excellent, modern facilities. BOOK DIRECT. Save 15% on 3rd party commissions paid. Courtesy Bus available. Catering for Australian Government Depts, corporates and leisure travellers. Only motel in Benalla with single rate tariffs. Quiet location away from freeway. Free WiFi - updated 2016. Large spacious rooms. Free FOXTEL TV. Private spa rooms. Charge-backs for meals accepted. Coffee and tea making facilities in-room: room-service breakfasts: stroll to shops, eateries, gardens, art gallery: separate swimming pool, BBQ/group area: all ground floor rooms with individual parking at your door. Local airport and Gliding Centre 500 metres. Train 1.5km. Victorian snowfields 120km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Glider City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glider City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing