We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stop over”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avondel Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avondel Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Benalla
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stop over”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to Melbourne from Brisbane and it was by far the best place we stayed the whole way down. The rooms were clean and appealing and the staff were pleasant and friendly. With a basic breakfast each the tab came to just over $100 which is brilliant. Thanks for the lovely stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MarzandJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
34
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Great value, excellent clean new room just a short walking distance out of town to plenty of eating establishments, one small gripe: the hissing noise of the airconditioner (turned off) due to the temperature differential spinning it's fan. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank FalconerIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed there after a long drive and were delighted with the room, friendliness of the hosts/staff and overall experience -a great welcome and no issues with anything. We also had the hot breakfast which was wonderful and will definately be back.

Room Tip: The. Ground rooms will be easier if you have much luggage, it's a steep trip to the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Another late arrival for us but no problems as the key was left out. Nicely refurbished room with quality fixtures. The Queen bed was very comfy with 4 pillows. Quality Linen & Towels. Lovely fleecy blanket available in wardrobe. Major bonus was the electric blankets - very cosy. Aircon worked well & not too noisy. TV a good size. Aside from the jug, additional appliances were toaster, iron, microwave, hair dryer (not diddly little wall mounted jobbie!) Beautifully appointed renovated bathroom with excellent water pressure. Impressed to find an air freshener - it's small touches like this that show the owners care. Most aspects of the room were of a very high standard of cleanliness. The only let down was that the bathroom light was connected to the fan which looked dirty & sounded like a chopper taking off. HORRID! Upon booking I was told that the GPS wouldn't find the place (& he was correct!) & was given fair directions though not enough landmarks for arriving in the dark. TIP for GUESTS: The Motel is located on adjacent corner of Police Station & across the road from the local tyre dealership & is walking distance from the Shell servo. Very good value for money & management friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrackaRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aireys Inlet, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff greeted us when we arrived late. Large room with comfortable couch. Spotless with modern bathroom with good quality towels, Good parking at front door. No noise. Pity more motels in country towns can't match their high standard.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden valley Victoria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a refurbished room. Very quiet and comfortable. Didn't have the breakfast but our companions said it was delicious-- choice of continental or cooked and very reasonably priced. Private Pool area excellent.

Room Tip: We were on ground level room 7 and away from the drive-in entry and looked onto a park. Didn't n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Overnight stay. Very comfortable in a well run hotel, it's clear the owners work hard to maintain the property and give visitors a great stay. Breakfast beautifully laid out. Couldn't ask for more. Look forward to next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalla
0.6 mi away
Rose City Motor Inn
Rose City Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Benalla
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Benalla
Comfort Inn Benalla
#4 of 6 in Benalla
48 reviews
23.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
76 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glider City Motel
Glider City Motel
#1 of 6 in Benalla
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Executive Hideaway Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondel Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondel Motor Inn

Property: Avondel Motor Inn
Address: 21 Bridge St W, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Benalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Benalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avondel Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avondel Motor Inn is an older building but has been completely renovated! New Beds and bedding in every room, new 43 inch flat screen TV's in most rooms, all new bathrooms! Every room has a microwave, kettle and toaster! Fresh milk tea, coffee and great biscuits in every room!Free WiFi available for all rooms! Our Dining Room provides freshly cooked breakfast every day! Outdoor swimming pool in a very secluded area for all our guests!We have an undercover outdoor area for all our guests to enjoy whatever the occasion! We are situated in the centre of Benalla within in walking distance to the Royal Hotel (150 meters) and the centre of the town with all our shops and cafe's! A great place to stay whether you're here for work or play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Avondel Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing