We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Avondel Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avondel Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Benalla
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

stayed here for one night while passing through Benalla and got great value for money which included a light breakfast(toast,cereal, fruit, fruit juice, tea coffee) a fast broadband, some foxtel channels which included 3 movie and some sport with sky racing. The staff were friendly and helpful and would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
35
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you are passing through Benalla or even staying over a few nights and want a good motel, this one is good! My wife and I stayed over last night. Check in took about a minute and checkout not much longer. The heater and electric blanket worked, the shower was as good as you get (not always the case in many other places) the bed was (queen size) very comfortable, there was tea/coffee, real milk and a few biscuits, a spare blanket and pillow, in short, all we needed on this occasion. We could have asked for beer/wine etc but didn't need to. Well priced, and we felt we got our money's worth. We had an excellent breakfast in their breakfast room, but no doubt could have had it brought to our room if we had asked. While there we visited the Benalla Art Gallery, where we viewed the most astounding paintings and abstract floor piece by Asher Bilu.. We also attended one of the Gallery's Sunday series of concerts featuring Australian composers, including Paul Stanhope, but that is another story (and a good one too!).

Room Tip: Book ahead, Benalla rooms can be hard to get so the locals say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElgarG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lovely small Motel in Benalla on our way to Mornington Peninsular. Rooms are a good size and spotlessly clean, aircon unit a bit noisy though! The hot breakfast which was included in our price for the room and served in the little dining room was fresh and really good. If you are in need of a good Motel in this lovely town we recommend the Avondel Motel. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heathoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The motel has had some very tasteful renovations since our last stay in early 2012. by coincidence we were allocated the same room around the corner. The motel unit contained everything we required. A continental breakfast was included in the booking which was more than adequate for us. There is plenty to do in and around Benalla and its a great place to stop when travelling along the Hume Highway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Avondel is located on the Melbourne side of Benalla but week positioned for those headed South. It is worth the drive through town and is only a short drive back to find restaurants etc. It is quiet and comfortable with a pleasant, friendly management who provide a good breakfast. All in all a good travellers stop with the only negative being somewhat restricted room for parking and manouvering which make it not a good spot for anyone with a trailer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paulhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Arrived to friendly welcome. The room was quite small but very comfortable & much nicer than many, many other hotels of similar type thanks to a very tasteful refurb. Bathroom especially well done.
The extra (& free) room service was a lovely bonus as well.. Brendon happened to be picking up (exceptionally good) takeaway Thai and offered to pick some up for me. Not only did that, but it was delivered to my room with crockery, cutlery, & a friendly smile.. impressed!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaDaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Benalla is a good place to stay overnight when driving from Sydney to Melbourne. It is a good day's run from Sydney, then a short morning drive to Melbourne.
The motel is beautifully finished with clean, comfortable rooms that are not expensive. The management is friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinGMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalla
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Benalla
Comfort Inn Benalla
#4 of 6 in Benalla
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose City Motor Inn
Rose City Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Benalla
99 reviews
23.5 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Wangaratta
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
1.5 mi away
Glider City Motel
Glider City Motel
#1 of 6 in Benalla
163 reviews
4.4 mi away
Executive Hideaway Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondel Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondel Motor Inn

Property: Avondel Motor Inn
Address: 21 Bridge St W, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Benalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Benalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avondel Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avondel Motor Inn is an older building but has been completely renovated! New Beds and bedding in every room, new 43 inch flat screen TV's in most rooms, all new bathrooms! Every room has a microwave, kettle and toaster! Fresh milk tea, coffee and great biscuits in every room!Free WiFi available for all rooms! Our Dining Room provides freshly cooked breakfast every day! Outdoor swimming pool in a very secluded area for all our guests!We have an undercover outdoor area for all our guests to enjoy whatever the occasion! We are situated in the centre of Benalla within in walking distance to the Royal Hotel (150 meters) and the centre of the town with all our shops and cafe's! A great place to stay whether you're here for work or play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Avondel Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing