We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well appointed, comfortable motel with good service standards.”
Review of Avondel Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avondel Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Benalla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Avondel is located on the Melbourne side of Benalla but week positioned for those headed South. It is worth the drive through town and is only a short drive back to find restaurants etc. It is quiet and comfortable with a pleasant, friendly management who provide a good breakfast. All in all a good travellers stop with the only negative being somewhat restricted room for parking and manouvering which make it not a good spot for anyone with a trailer.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank paulhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Avondel Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 81 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Arrived to friendly welcome. The room was quite small but very comfortable & much nicer than many, many other hotels of similar type thanks to a very tasteful refurb. Bathroom especially well done.
The extra (& free) room service was a lovely bonus as well.. Brendon happened to be picking up (exceptionally good) takeaway Thai and offered to pick some up for me. Not only did that, but it was delivered to my room with crockery, cutlery, & a friendly smile.. impressed!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaDaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Benalla is a good place to stay overnight when driving from Sydney to Melbourne. It is a good day's run from Sydney, then a short morning drive to Melbourne.
The motel is beautifully finished with clean, comfortable rooms that are not expensive. The management is friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinGMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

On our annual Ladies golf trip we stayed here for 2 nights. The owners went out of their way to be accommodating. The breakfast was wonderful, the rooms whilst mine was dated (others had been renovated) were clean & comfortable. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Simone & Brendan went out of their way to make our stay very pleasant. The room was very very clean, bright & comfortable. The Beautiful new bathroom & Fantastic Shower were great.
Excellent value we will definitely be back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeekendOff_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay here due to its ranking and as so we had high expectations. We were not disappointed. The service was friendly the rooms were clean and quiet. The linen was new and not dated. We arrived just on check in time which allowed us to make the most of the pool, perfect chill out session and just what we needed. The town was lovely and friendly, totally worth breaking up your trip here!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Customerservicefinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way from Geelong to Sydney, Brendan was very welcoming. The rooms were very clean and spacious, the bathroom was nearly brand new. For the price this hotel was excellent value and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UsLot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalla
0.6 mi away
Rose City Motor Inn
Rose City Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Benalla
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Benalla
Comfort Inn Benalla
#4 of 6 in Benalla
54 reviews
23.5 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Wangaratta
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glider City Motel
Glider City Motel
#1 of 6 in Benalla
171 reviews
4.4 mi away
Executive Hideaway Motel
0.9 mi away
Top of the Town Motel
Top of the Town Motel
#1 of 2 in Benalla
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondel Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondel Motor Inn

Address: 21 Bridge St W, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Benalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Benalla
Price Range: $107 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avondel Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avondel Motor Inn is an older building but has been completely renovated! New Beds and bedding in every room, new 43 inch flat screen TV's in most rooms, all new bathrooms! Every room has a microwave, kettle and toaster! Fresh milk tea, coffee and great biscuits in every room!Free WiFi available for all rooms! Our Dining Room provides freshly cooked breakfast every day! Outdoor swimming pool in a very secluded area for all our guests!We have an undercover outdoor area for all our guests to enjoy whatever the occasion! We are situated in the centre of Benalla within in walking distance to the Royal Hotel (150 meters) and the centre of the town with all our shops and cafe's! A great place to stay whether you're here for work or play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Avondel Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing