We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, newly furnished rooms that are really well thought out.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Top of the Town Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Benalla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2012

A lovely and refreshing change to find a really nicely done motel room in a small town. Really friendly owners and the small touches are thought about - E.g. snacks and toiletries in the room. Central location in Benalla and a great midway stop between Melbourne and hotham.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishtraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 112 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2012

We passed through Benalla on our way to Glenrowan and decided to stay here the night. We pulled up at this motel and asked if they had rooms available which they did. They let me view two different types of rooms for great prices and let me choose which we preferred. The staff were very helpful.

The hotel is right on the main street and is walking distance to McDonalds, KFC and Woolworths. The room was recently refurbished, like all rooms in the hotel I was assured, and was quite roomy. We had a lovely stay here and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellandbigchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is what every motel should aspire to provide its everday guests. Good price, friendly caring owner operators, clean refurbished rooms, all thongs you expect included are: crockery big mugs, tea coffee and bikkies, fully stoked toiletries, enough fluffy towels (these last items so often not supplied anymore) plus mini bar. Pool that stays open late enough to use. Everything works and maintained. I've stayed many more expensive places that don't come near this. I'll be back and recommending it to my work and friends. Please keep up the great work! Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellersT00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Hotels in country NSW range from the horrible to the best.This falls in the best category but like most good motels in the countryside it cannot be described as five star.It offers large clean comfortable rooms at reasonable prices .Although adjacent to the main road in Benalla we did not notice any traffic noise and note that the freeway is some kilometres from town.
What made it particularly attractive to us was the friendliness and helpfulness of Mark and his wife.
Mark if you read this thanks for mailing to me in Sydney the clothes I left behind.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whalemush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed at Top of the Town for one night whilst travelling for business and stayed in one of the 'executive' rooms which have been completely renovated with new bathrooms and big LCD TVs.
It is in the heart of town, so everything is accessible. Although it is on one of the main streets, I didn't hear any traffic noise from my room as the property is set back from the road. In fact, it was so quiet in general that you could almost forget that you were staying in a motel.
It was also very affordable at $115 per night, and juice and toast for breakfast was only $5.50. It was also very tempting to raid the mini-bar as prices were very reasonable!
Staff very friendly and welcoming, and I could not fault the service or cleanliness.
If you are going to stay anywhere in Benalla, make sure you choose Top of the Town!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the renovated rooms as they are completely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlwoo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

It's traditionally difficult to find wheelchair accessible accomm in small towns. We came across Top of the Town motel and they had accessible rooms. We stayed 2 nights and everything had been thought of. The bathroom was so clean and very accessible. The beds were very comfortable and many nice little extras provided such as windscreen washing buckets in carpark, mints on the table in the room and lovely fresh fluffly linen. Breakfast was perfect with great sausages, delicious bacon and golden yellow eggs. Would stay there again-very comfortable, accessible and immaculate motel. Great find!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Opalite-explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This motel is conveniently located in the city centre with immediate access to the supermarket, restaurants and petrol stations, and caters extremely well to those attending for motorsport events. Booking was straightforward and at a discount to the available online rates, and I would not rate this accommodation any less four or five star hotels in Sydney (which are three or five times more expensive). The drawcard was in being recently refurbished (clean, well-stocked and adequate for business travelers as well as couples). Service was good and appears to be a family-operated establishment. The positives reviews already provided on this motel are testament to the effort and quality provided by the owner-operator.

Room Tip: I carry my own mobile broadband, but prospective patrons may wish to enquire about on-site connectiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbournian3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalla hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Benalla
Comfort Inn Benalla
#4 of 6 in Benalla
61 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avondel Motor Inn
Avondel Motor Inn
#3 of 6 in Benalla
85 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose City Motor Inn
Rose City Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Benalla
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Executive Hideaway Motel
1.2 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Benalla
0.5 mi away
Glider City Motel
Glider City Motel
#1 of 6 in Benalla
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top of the Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top of the Town Motel

Address: 136-138 Bridge St E, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Benalla
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Benalla
Price Range: $102 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Top of the Town Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Top of the Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing