We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Show”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Lifestyle Benalla
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Show”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at Benalla Lesiure Park for one night on my way back from Warrnambool to Canberra. We booked a 2 room family cabin which was quite neat, clean and actually we liked it. Kitchen was handy with all the neccesary tools. There was A/C and ceilings fans in our cabin however we didn't used them as temp at night was pretty reasonable although it was summers when we visited Benalla. There is a small to medium sized pool where my kids enjoyed a quick dip. Free pancakes for the guests from 9:00-9:30am with cream and jam is a good initiative and we fully benefitted from that offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aqib_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenallaLP, Manager at Gateway Lifestyle Benalla, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and we do hope that you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    12
    1
    9
See reviews for
12
14
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porepunkah, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have just returned from a few days staying at Benalla Leisure Park, we went to basically try out our new camper trailer and booked an Ensuite Suite, when we arrived there was no room to put up our camper trailer due to to much concreat so the lady in the office gave us a beautiful shady spot next to the Ensuite and it was great to have the lovely shade trees as it was very very hot on one of the days.
The park was very clean although a small playground would have been good.

BUT.......as we were leaving we heard the manager tell one of the residents off regarding her dogs, he was very nasty and we believe very uncalled for. The lady was very nice and has two very well behaved beautiful dogs, she always follows them with a pockeful of Doggie Doo bags but he told her to shut her barking dogs up!!! We did not here them at all and we were just beside her, he said the people in the village complained, I think this was very unfair as the barking was coming from one of the over 55 cabins and I sincerely hope he apologises to this lovely lady and her dogs. She was quite upset and it ended our lovely stay on a very bad note!
Sandy & Grant Williams

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenallaLP, Manager at Gateway Lifestyle Benalla, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for writing this review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay - all parties involved in the dispute have since apologised and we have not had any issues since.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Well situated and set amongst a nice leafy park the budget cabin (no ensuite) we stayed in was one of the dirties lodgings my partner and I had ever seen. Original fittings, rotten floor, noisy A/C and filthy crockery really ruined our stay here which would have been pleasant otherwise. The amenities block is reasonable (despite poor showers) and the free pancake breakfast was awesome.

In conclusion I would absolutely avoid the cabins here but you could have a nice stay if providing your own lodgings.

Room Tip: Avoid the budget cabins at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenallaLP, Manager at Gateway Lifestyle Benalla, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, both positive and negative - the budget cabins are indeed old and very basic, which is what we tell guests on the phone and on arrival we insist that guests view the cabin first which allows them to upgrade if they wish. Unfortunately in this instance the guests arrived after office hours and we were unable to offer them this option. The cutlery is unfortunate and I do apologies that this was not picked up when the cabin was checked.

We have 48 cabins to suit all budgets ranging from the cheaply priced $55 non-ensuite budget cabins to 4-star AAA rated cabins for $110.
It would be a great shame to condem all our other cabins based on a few .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalla hotels

Guyra, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here in a deluxe villa. Very well priced. Plenty of room for us (3 adluts). Cabin was clean. Friendly staff. Quiet park. Have stayed here several times before and look forward to staying here again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenallaLP, Manager at Gateway Lifestyle Benalla, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were stuck in Benalla during the deisel shortage last week. We found Tony at the Benalla Leisure Park extremely helpful and hospitable when we were stuck in town and unable to get home. Tony went out of his way to help us. We definitely recommend the Leisure Park as a place to stay. A pleasant, well maintained caravan park, with lovely facilities for the kids. The customer service was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Ange_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenallaLP, Manager at Gateway Lifestyle Benalla, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your review - I am gald that we were able to assist you and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

When we arrived he made our stay hell with using a blower vac, lawn edger, whipper snipper, lawn mower very close to where we and our friends, who we had not seen for 3 years, were sitting and talking. When he was approached about creating lots of noise and dust, he immediately threatened to throw us out if the caravan park. He returned several times looking for a fight. I found his behavior threatening and not what I would expect at a caravan park.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank grobbo1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenallaLP, Manager at Gateway Lifestyle Benalla, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review - all reviews both positive and negative are taken very seriously by all the staff at Benalla Leisure Park.

Our check-out time is 10am and check-in time is 2pm - this short 4 hour window allows our staff to complete all ground maintenance and cleaning without disrupting the guests, this will include mowing the lawns, using the blower etc.

In this particular case the park was extremely busy the night before and we were again expecting a full house, this puts added pressure on our staff to complete all that is required within the 4 hours. We do not have an issue with guests arriving before 2pm, as happened in this case, however we do ask that "early birds" understand that they will run the risk of the park not being as peaceful as it normally is.

If any of our guests are not satisified with any aspect of the park or the staff, we do encourage them to let the Managers know as we are on site 24hrs of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Having arrived at the park at midday and booked into our powered site, we just sat down outside our van with our friends with whom we had met up with after 2 years, and began a chat and lunch. Immediately we began conversing the leaf blower came out and with a breeze as well, we were getting dust everywhere. My friend and I headed to the vans to close them up. We tried to converse loudly but were amazes that he kept blowing. No sooner that ended, he started up the lawn edger, then the whipper snipper making more dust and noise. I was amazed that he didn't come and tell us what he intended to do and that perhaps we could move to the pool area or elsewhere. Next was the mower and then I decided to go and say something. Nicely. Well, he immediately started telling me off, my friends husband also tried but it was no use trying to reason. Five minutes later he was back again and abused us while we sat, dumbfounded, told us we could pack up and leave (twice) etc.
There was no reason for this and as we have been travelling for 6 years constantly on the road with no dramas so felt compelled to make a complaint. I know that he and his wife are there temporarily and feel that perhaps it is time he went travelling. I might add that my husband and I have been in the hospitality industry, including caravan parks, and nothing like this has ever happened until now. Will not be recommending this park for a while.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalla
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Benalla
Comfort Inn Benalla
#4 of 6 in Benalla
49 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rose City Motor Inn
Rose City Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Benalla
99 reviews
2.1 mi away
Avondel Motor Inn
Avondel Motor Inn
#3 of 6 in Benalla
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Glider City Motel
Glider City Motel
#1 of 6 in Benalla
164 reviews
23.9 mi away
BIG4 North Cedars Holiday Park Wangaratta
22.8 mi away
Wangaratta Caravan & Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Lifestyle Benalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lifestyle Benalla

Property: Gateway Lifestyle Benalla
Address: 115 Sydney Rd, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Benalla
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Benalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Lifestyle Benalla 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Lifestyle Benalla is a popular park located in the picturesque Hume region, of Victoria's scenic High Country, just two hour's drive from Melbourne. Benalla is famous for its Ned Kelly Trail. With easy access to Lake Eildon, ideal for swimming and boating, and also surrounded by parkland, biking and walking tracks. Benalla is known for botanical gardens, rose gardens, Art Galleries, museums, local wineries and nearby Winton Raceway. Benalla is only one hour from ski resorts of Mt Buller. The park is set on flat grassy acres, on the outskirts of town, with an abundance of activities within one hours drive, this is your perfect location to see all Victoria has to offer. Some appealing facilities and features at this well-appointed holiday park include- - Pool - BBQ facilities - Camp kitchen - Function Centre Gateway Lifestyle Holiday Parks are dedicated to providing you with the best holidays possible and wish to advise some locations are undergoing development as we continue to improve our parks. You may experience some noise during your stay, for further details, please contact our friendly park managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your Gateway Lifestyle Benalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing