We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect stay for a couple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apollo Bay Guest House
Ranked #2 of 19 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oensingen, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the perfect stay for a couple”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had the pleasure to stay 3 nights - and it was just perfect! We selected this Guest House to relax and enjoy the beautiful ocean. The rooms aren't big - but there is enough space for a couple and you have your private bathroom. It is very clean and charming and very nice made. There is also a living room and a breakfast/tee room in the house available and since the Guest House only has 2 rooms in the main house (and a two floor apartment) - you can really enjoy the other rooms without getting disturbed. There is really a "beeing home"-feeling coming up. The veranda in front of the room faces directly the ocean - and no buildings disturb you. it is also really quite and you can enjoy your privacy. The hosts - Maree and Vin - are wonderful and very friendly. They take care about everything immediately. Sitting on the veranda drinking a cognac and observing the dawn was great and we miss it already. We want to thank Maree and Vin for their wonderful hospitality and friendliness which allowed us to relax and enjoy these days more than we could imagine. When we are back in the area, we will definitely book in this guest house again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMStiefel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
143
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed just the one night here, and wished it could have been longer. Maree is a wonderful hostess; it's more like staying with a family friend than a B&B. Her home-made granola (just launched in the shops, I believe!) is to die for, as is the rest of the breakfast. The location is superb, too - about 5 or 6 mins walk into Apollo Bay itself, so away from any traffic and totally quiet at night. Faultless.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thevoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed one night here during our road trip along great ocean road. It was a last minute booking, from the moment Maree answered the phone she was welcoming and a great host. She even recommended and booked us a table at Chris Beacon Point Restaurant which was amazing, even requesting a great view for us.

The location of the B&B is right on the beach with great views. We stayed in the suit which had a lovely fireplace to keep us toasty warm.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smccardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

An excellent B&B in a perfect location at the edge of Apollo Bay. I stayed in the guest house, which was like a home away from home! Lovely, well appointed, very clean.
Maree is an excellent host with many years of experience in the hospitality industry. She offers great tips on local restaurants and attractions. A wonderful stop along the Great Ocean Rd.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveler_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We only had a two night stay in poor weather. Maree and Vin looked after us with the utmost care, booking our restaurants and providing all 5 of us with anoraks . Breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed several interesting conversations with our hosts on the Australian economy and the state of the English cricket team ! We could not have felt more at home .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had the most amazing stay with Maree and Vin and their lovely guest house. We stayed in the studio building that is seperate to the main house. We were welcomed with a roaring fire and the cricket on the TV, a tick in both boxes. Everything was of top quality and the bed super comfy. It was a stormy weekend which made the stay even more cozy. Top marks also for booking our dinner for Saturday night at La Bimba's in town and organinsg the upstairs window table with a view. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukey145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Recently our children bought my husband and I a gift voucher to Apollo Bay Guest House. It turned out to be the best present. We arrived, after having had an afternoon at the Otway Fly Zip Line adventure, and were greeted by Maree and Vin who showed us around the main house with its two beautifully decorated bedrooms, lounge room and dining room and then onto our spacious studio apartment, with its downstairs lounge/ kitchen and upstairs bedroom and en suite, which included a spa. We could even have had the open fire lit if desired. No detail was left untouched, the décor, continental breakfast, little things like our own dressing gowns, slippers, beautiful French inspired furniture and fittings were all exquisite. We were even provided with binoculars to view the seal colony out to sea. It was an easy walk into Apollo Bay for dinner and to the harbour. I would highly recommend this Guest House and if anyone is looking for a different Christmas present then you couldn't go past a Gift Voucher to Apollo Bay Guest House.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maree1412, Owner at Apollo Bay Guest House, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sure your family will be pleased you enjoyed their gift. Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.8 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Captain's At The Bay
Captain's At The Bay
#1 of 19 in Apollo Bay
519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Bay Guest House

Property: Apollo Bay Guest House
Address: 4 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Bay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Apollo Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Bay Guest House Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing