We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most unusual ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apollo Bay Guest House
Ranked #2 of 20 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Beautifully situated and friendly b & b with a very helpful hostess. The place is completely decorated in this French colonial style which is somewhat incongrous to say the least. Not really my cup of tea, but it's very comfortable, clean, spacious and very well-appointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maree1412, Owner at Apollo Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Guest's individual ratings are 4 or 5 (Very Good /Excellent) however overall rating was only 3.
Guest has contacted us and confirmed that rating is incorrect and he tried to amend it to 4 stars however the system would not allow him to change his Review Rating. We ask that Review be amended or removed.
With thanks
Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 190 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a charming guesthouse with the most beautiful view across the estuary of a small river and out to sea. The whole place is decorated in a French style with plenty of oak panelling, doors and furniture imported from France. This was a treat. The rooms were comfortable and quiet and the guesthouse was close enough to the small town centre of Apollo Bay to take a casual evening stroll to find a restaurant of which there is a reasonable selection. Breakfast was continental but there was a cooked option at an additional cost. There was a free WiFi connection which is something lacking in many larger hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Traveling the Great Ocean Road we spent one night at Apollo Bay Guest House and we were so happy we did! Maree was a perfect host and made us feel incredibly welcome from the minute we walked into the beautiful garden courtyard that features a water fountain, statues, and greenery.

Our room was in the main house and it was the attention to detail in the french design and furnishings that was really memorable -- made all the more better by the great water view! Everything from the imported furniture, richly textured drapes, to the hand-crafted stained glass windows created a warm and comfortable space. We even had a pair of binoculars provided to see the seals on a nearby pile of rocks seen from the patio of our room.

A continental breakfast was included in the rate, but we opted for a hot breakfast of poached eggs and sausage that was served on a bed of bakery-fresh grain bread. Extra toast was prepared and served with a nice selection of marmalade and preserves. There was a fee of 12.50 Australian dollars, which I felt very reasonable. In the morning we had our usual long black and flat white coffees, but during the day there was instant coffee and teas available as well as yummy homemade shortbread cookies.

Attention to detail didn't just extend to the facility and food, but also to a kind offer of jackets. We were going to be touring at Cape Otway Lightstation and a light rain had started, worried for our comfort Maree kindly offered us jackets. This gesture exceeded my expectations for a B&B and why I can happily, unreservedly recommend Apollo Bay Guest House.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWNYO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed just the one night in the studio apartment that had a wonderful serene feeling to it. The whole property is beautiful with amazing views. The studio apartment has it's own little ocean viewing section around the back of the main property.
The studio is really well appointed and you can lie in bed and see the ocean. a continental breakfast is provided and the home-made granola is to die for.
It would have been lovely if we could have stayed a little longer.

Room Tip: The studio is self contained if you like more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverfox2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our room was perfect, its outlook was to the Gardens and Ocean beyond. The decoration was exquisite and of authentic French persuasion. The hospitality delivered by Maree and Vin was warm, friendly and extremely welcoming. The guest lounge was comfortable with beautiful stained glass window. There was plenty of reading material, television, radio etc. Continental breakfast was light and well presented.

Room Tip: All rooms were of the same very high standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanFelixstoweUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a beautiful room in the main house overlooking the gardens, river and sea. I really cannot explain just how perfect our stay was. This exclusive B&B is definitely one of the best we've ever stayed. The house is amazing with such wonderful attention to detail from the decor to the food provided. The homemade shortbreads and granola are not to be missed. The location is perfect with only a short walk to the main street, and lots to explore only a short drive away. Maree was a marvellous host making our stay even more special. The gardens are lovely too, planted with lots of native shrubs providing a perfect habitat for all those lovely birds. We spent a lovely afternoon on the deck outside our room bird spotting with the binoculars provided. All in all a fabulous couple of days spent in beautiful surroundings. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer but now we can look forward to our return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at this lovely b/b on our trip down Great Ocean Road. We had a lovely stay, everything in the studio was planned to perfection. Great hosts, nothing too much trouble for them even insisting on carrying our bags upstairs to the bedrooms. Thank you both and we did so much enjoy your lovely garden it too was perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank City/Countrycousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.8 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Captain's At The Bay
Captain's At The Bay
#1 of 20 in Apollo Bay
551 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
7.1 mi away
Points South By The Sea
Points South By The Sea
#1 of 3 in Wongarra
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Bay Guest House

Address: 4 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range: $213 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Bay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Apollo Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Bay Guest House Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing