We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel and good price”
Review of Coastal Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coastal Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great motel and good price”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This motel was great. It's modern, friendly, cheap and near everything you could want. We tried a couple of motels before this one but they were a bit rude and too expensive. You won't regret it. Clean, modern and convenient, what more could you want after a long day on the road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suemicro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    85
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
47
104
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Central, Fiji
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Warmly welcomed and had everything we needed for our overnight stay. There were 3 of us travelling so I had chosen the unit with a loft and it was perfect. Great beach across the road. Coming from Fiji, the freezing water was a shock to the system though! Clean, comfortable, spacious, adequate cooking facilities, tea and coffee making facilities, couple of minutes walk to grocery store and restaurants and flat screen TV was great for keeping up with the Australian Open I would recommend the Coastal Motel for anyone wanting to break their Great Ocean Road journey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Myself and my partner went for two nights in May 2012. We were skeptical as it was cheaper than we thought but what a surprise! When we arrived we were welcomed by the most pleasant owner. He was a delight. Full of helpful information and a thorough map of the local area. Our room was MASSIVE- fair enough the decor isn't fully up to date but I am an interior designer and thought it was a beautiful seaside inspired room. Extremely clean and comfy, Air-con (cold and heat) great flat screen TV, kitchen full of EVERYTHING you need for your stay, and even a welcome basket of tea, coffee and biscuits! On our last morning we sat in the reception for an hour chatting away about our stay. The owner is a lovely family man who loves to travel and with advise on anything you need help with.

P.s- the bed was the comfiest we have slept on in the 10 months of being in Australia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allsmallletters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

What a pleasure to be welcomed! Ideal set up - double downstairs and mezzanine with single and bunks. (They have four of these units, as well as standard configurations)

We had a bathtub as well as a shower, another bonus for kids.

Otherwise all as expected. No complaints at all, and a fair price in what is an expensive town (we were quoted a 'special' price in Best Western which was 80 bucks more, and only offered a foldout for the third child)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenmean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed overnight in its Family room during the Easter weekend. I thought that it was very decent and spacious for the five of us. I would stay here again next time. We didn't hear our neighbors talking and the receptionist was quite friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkzymug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel as there are better similar priced hotels in the area. The receptionist was unhelpful and rooms are very dated. The walls were so thin that we couldn't get to sleep for the noise of our neighbour snoring.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jet400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Walked in at 5:30pm and they were happy to have us.
Little motel with 15 rooms only - a few different configurations. Payed an extra $10 for a room with a spa.
Bathrooms are a little dated - but not as much as your usual motel.
Very clean, very affordable.
Aircon (cooling only) and gas fire in each room, very well equipped kitchenette (no hotplates).
Wonderful, helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astrophysicist_wanab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.2 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
1.7 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Motel

Property: Coastal Motel
Address: 171 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastal Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Coastal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastal Motel Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing