We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
Review of Coastal Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coastal Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed overnight in its Family room during the Easter weekend. I thought that it was very decent and spacious for the five of us. I would stay here again next time. We didn't hear our neighbors talking and the receptionist was quite friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkzymug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 202 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel as there are better similar priced hotels in the area. The receptionist was unhelpful and rooms are very dated. The walls were so thin that we couldn't get to sleep for the noise of our neighbour snoring.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jet400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Walked in at 5:30pm and they were happy to have us.
Little motel with 15 rooms only - a few different configurations. Payed an extra $10 for a room with a spa.
Bathrooms are a little dated - but not as much as your usual motel.
Very clean, very affordable.
Aircon (cooling only) and gas fire in each room, very well equipped kitchenette (no hotplates).
Wonderful, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astrophysicist_wanab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We were travelling the GOR on our bikes and were very hot and tired so we decided to stay close and have some luxury rather than camp at a caravan park. We were offered special bike parking and were personally shown to our room. Very helpful fella. It was perfect for our needs and was VERY close to the beach and restaurants.

It also has laundry facilities and clothes line or dryer if you ask.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwizikle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

we stayed here while traveling the Ocean road and it was a great stop. the two of us got a large room with a kitchen for only 95 dollars. that is a great price for this area and the location was wonderful. we would definitly stay here again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: call different hotels for rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobncamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed here over Easter break and what a great location. On the main road through Apollo Bay and 5 mins walk to the shops and restaurant. Rooms are fairly clean and quite large. Wifi is not free though and if you get room 1 then you can hear traffic noise from the road,

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank BlueBayou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I was really apprehensive about booking a night here because of the other reviews that I had read on tripadvisor. In one way it may of helped because it was the only motel not fully booked out for such short notice for a public holiday extra long weekend being Easter Monday and Anzac Tuesday. The room was exactly as decribed, very clean and very spacious but still very cosy. I did pay the highest premium price but the gamble paid off. Had a wonderful time being able to walk to the beach and shops so easily and the view of the mountains is pure magic just from the doorway alone. Look forward to going back with fond memories, especially of my young six year old being so excited to sleep in the top bunk upstairs!

Room Tip: bring your own pillow and toilet spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mynd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Motel
Beachfront Motel
#9 of 12 in Apollo Bay
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Motel

Address: 171 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range: $116 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastal Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Coastal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastal Motel Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing