We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop”
Review of Casa Favilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Favilla
Ranked #3 of 19 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Oslo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

+
Modern house
Comfortable B&B
-
Make your own continental breakfast (fine but in other B&B that is done for you)

Price 155AUD/night

Modern house; several rooms, nice owners. All in all a very nice experience. Breakfast in the morning is up to you. Plenty of bread and a few toppings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbond_ppk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

After deciding to find accommodation on the night we drove around for an hour with no luck till we found Casa Favilla at 7pm. Lucky they had two beautiful rooms. Knowing we were desperate they could have charged us double (as other places were trying to do) but instead charged off peak rates. So accommodating. Friendly couple and humorous. Next trip ill be stopping off especially. The studio room was perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTaylor1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great location and good value given the highs you can pay during the summer break. Clean comfortable and close to the main attractions. Would recommend for couples on a short break or travelling down the coast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I would definitely be happy to recommended Casa Favilla. Gerrard, the owner, is very helpful and very keen to make our stay comfortable. My wife and I had the red room. It was a very nice room however felt that a little less private than the other rooms as it opened directly onto the main lounge room and right at the main front door. It really wasn't that much of an issue but if staying I would probably go for one of the other rooms instead. But over all well appointed, very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: I would recommend the green or blue room over the red room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The personal touches are often what make a memorable stay, and the decor and the owners beautiful artworks are a distinctive highlight at Casa Favilla. All the rooms were very comfortable with their own ensuite and a very well fitted kitchen. A separate spa room can be booked and paid for separately. There is also a large dining/lounge room with glimpses of the water. Cereal, bread juice, tea & coffee are available for a do-it-yourself breakfast.
Apollo Bay is a great central location for exploring the Otway ranges and peninsular. The Great Ocean Road, beautiful rainforest, great bush walking, beaches, Cape Otway light station, and the unique attractions of the shipwreck coast are all easily accessible from Apollo Bay which is an easy 3 hour drive from Melbourne. You can travel via the Great Ocean Road for the sea views or the easier inland route on the Cape Otway Road through Birregurra and Forrest which is also beautiful.
We also had a magnificent night at Chris' Beacon Point Restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riccardo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst driving the GOR. Apollo Bay itself is a quaint little town, with a few nice cafes and good local shops. I wouldn't go here if you're looking for lively night life and great surf beaches, but its a great place to relax and a good stopping off point if heading further along the coast.

Casa Favilla is a lovely house, although we stayed in the fantastic apartment above the garage. This was a self contained, luxurious and very spacious unit. We had everything you could need in the well kitted kitchen, a very clean bathroom, fantastic bed and sitting room area. We had 2 sets of patio doors, with one leading to a lovely balcony that looked over the ocean.

This room was a little noisy, with random banging (perhaps a washing machine in the garage beneath) around and a quite thin roof.

The room came with a relatively well stocked fridge, with basic breakfast essentials.

The owners were very nice and exceedingly friendly, however you did end up having to sneak out your room, to escape a 30 minute conversation about setting the world to rights.

I would definitely recommend Casa Favilla if you're passing through Apollo Bay

Room Tip: Get the guest house above the garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We only had 1 night here, being on a fairly long trip visiting family across the south of Australia. It was very comfortable and the house is beautiful with some lovely artwork. Well situated, it's a pleasant walk into town. We did find the breakfast arrangements slightly unusual - not what we think of as breakfast back in the UK! But we were so full from the dinner we had the night before at 'Sandy Feet' that anything more would have been wasted on us.It was lovely sitting out on the terrace in the morning. The owner was very friendly - his wife was away so we didn't get to meet her. We did find it expensive but that's partly down to the exchange rate and the Great Ocean Road does seem pricier than elsewhere.

Room Tip: We had the blue room which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteHorseWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.6 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Captain's At The Bay
Captain's At The Bay
#1 of 19 in Apollo Bay
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Guest House
Apollo Bay Guest House
#2 of 19 in Apollo Bay
182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Favilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Favilla

Property: Casa Favilla
Address: 18 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Favilla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bed and breakfast, not a hotel or motel. There are differences as we don't, for example, have a spa bath in any room but instead we have a dedicated "Spa Room" that may be rented by guests of ANY room that has been pre-booked. It is NOT a shared spa room but instead designed exclusively for a couple. We have complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in each bedroom, including black, green and herbal teas. The breakfast menu is complimentary and "as much as you like" (within reason) type of service, including Continental type coffee, but is not a cooked breakfast. The main shared lounge room with quality leather furnishings has a gas log fire. With only 3 rooms guests rarely compete for its use at any time. Breakfast is typically self-serve but we are prepared to set it up. It is just that most guests prefer to choose themselves in the morning what time to start the day, rather than be called for breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Favilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Favilla Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing