We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring the Great Ocean Road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dolphin Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a beach level apartment. The apartment was clean, spacious and well equipped. Next time would opt for a sea view apartment though. The apartment is close to the beach and all amenities in Apollo Bay. Service was friendly and efficient. Location was great for exploring the Otway National Park, Otway Fly and Twelve Apostles.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank IndigoAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 429 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

Everything there at The Dolphin was excellent.
Bravo for Michael and Emily, he is very helpful and friendly.
He helped my kids to transfer all data from the camera into flesh-disk using his private laptop, otherwise we could not get thousand pictures from the Twelve Apostles the next day.

Room Tip: Get The Apartment for Higher floorl to get the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kurniadi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily M, Manager at The Dolphin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Kurniadi S,
Thank you for your kind words. We very much enjoyed having you stay with us and are always happy to assist where possible. Safe travels and we look forward to welcoming you back to Apollo Bay and The Dolphin Apartments in the future.
Warm regards,
Emily Mansfield
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Dolphin apartments is the perfect place to stay. It would be fantastic to see this type of accommodation around more often. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Will stay again, if we're down that way again. What a credit to Apollo Bay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily M, Manager at The Dolphin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Jayne F,
Thank you for your glowing review of The Dolphin Apartments. It is very pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the accommodation.
We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you back in the area soon.
Warm regards
Emily Mansfield
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Best place . Very helpful staff. The room had everything we needed .
Everything was so clean and neat . It would be the perfect place if had a cafe or a restaurant .
The whole town of Apollo Bay don't have a decent place to eat pretty rubbish all the places we tried . You might deliver our comments to the places you suggest your customers to go and have a meal.
Apart of that loved The Dolphin apartments .
Definetely reccomend it !! See you soon !!!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Salpi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily M, Manager at The Dolphin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Salpi4,

Thank you for your positive review of The Dolphin Apartments. I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy all of your experiences in Apollo Bay.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Emily Mansfield
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I purchased a groundfloor two bedroom apartment for my family to stay in. as my father hasn't been well I searched for something that would be comfortable for him and my mother and sister. I haven't personally stayed in the apartment, but my mother rang to tell me that she was very happy with my choice she told me that it was spotless and that it was perfect for their needs. they stayed for two nights and loved it. my mother has since told me that nothing could compete to the standards of the dolphin apartments so everywhere else they went was a disappointment. I hope to go there myself in august.

Room Tip: groundfloor great for older people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily M, Manager at The Dolphin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Good morning Kim T,
Thank you for your five star review on behalf of your family who stayed with us in June.
We are very glad to hear the apartment was suitable for your family's needs and they enjoyed their time in the area.
We look forward to welcoming you to Apollo Bay and The Dolphin Apartments very soon.
Safe travels
Kind regards
Emily Mansfield
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Dolphin Apartments in Apollo Bay and it won't be the last. We were taking our overseas friends to the 12 Apostles and originally chose Apollo Bay as a good place for a day trip to this tourist landmark. This time we booked a room with a seaview which I would recommend. The rooms were clean and spacious and having a small lounge and dining area was certainly a bonus especially when watching the World Cup in the early hours of the morning. The staff at the Dolphin were very friendly and helpful.
Would happily recommend this accommodation to anyone looking to stay in Apollo Bay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily M, Manager at The Dolphin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear PaulK,
Thank you for your five stay review of The Dolphin Apartments following your second stay with us recently.
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review as we find a number of our guests read reviews such as yours before making a final decision.
I am really glad you enjoyed your time in the area and found Apollo Bay and The Dolphin Apartments suitable for your visit to the 12 Apostles with your international guests.
Thank you once again for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Emily Mansfield
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Myself and my wife enjoyed our stay. It was clean and tidy but we found that the amenities were extremely poor quality, particularly the TV in the bedroom, which didn't have all the channels and half of the picture was cut off. More appropriate mood lighting within the living space would be nice, and lastly a gripe I have with all accommodation apart from a select few that we have stayed in is the tea and coffee provided is always the cheapest available in Nescafe Blend 43 (I'd rather drink warmed water from a muddy puddle) and Lipton's, it surely isn't too hard to offer a better selection, especially for the price paid to stay. It's these little things that get neglected that can make all the difference to your customer's experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N1gel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily M, Manager at The Dolphin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear N1gel2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Apartments.
We appreciate your feedback as we are constantly reviewing our standards in order to improve on our guests experience.
We are in the process of replacing some of the bedroom televisions to ensure all guests receive all channels available.
Your comments regarding the tea and coffee provided will certainly be taken into consideration for our next purchases.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Dolphin Apartments in the near future.
Kind regards
Emily Mansfield
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apollo Bay
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
22.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
2.3 mi away
Seafarers Getaway
Seafarers Getaway
#2 of 32 in Apollo Bay
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Apartments

Address: 2 Thomson St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Apollo Bay
Price Range: $142 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dolphin Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Apartments offer stylish and comfortable accommodation in Apollo Bay. With Two Bedroom Two Bathroom apartments over 3 levels there is something for everyone. All apartments have single spa baths, fully equipped kitchens with new Smeg cooking appliances, king and single beds with cosy quilts and impressive views from the Penthouse Apartments. Free wifi and car parking are also available. The convenient location is directly across from the beach and 5 mins walk to shops, supermarkets and restaurants. Enjoy a touch of luxury when you stay at The Dolphin Apartments Apollo Bay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Dolphin Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Apartments Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing