We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you expect and more!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaways Apollo Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apollo Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castaways Apollo Bay
Ranked #12 of 19 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything you expect and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

My partner and I stayed at Castaways in December 2008 as a first romantic getaway together. Having travelled all over the world, bed and breakfasts have to be a favourite of mine. Castways is everything you expect in a Bed and Breakfast and more.

It is located a little way away from the actual town of Apollo Bay, making it very private and tranquil (and being on a cattle farm, you may get some visitors mooing at your window). The breakfast hamper was more than adequate. The rooms were well furnished and clean, and over looking the ocean. The hosts have thought of every detail in the room making the stay enjoyable. My partner loved the large bathroom with a double shower head! There are DVDs and books for you to enjoy if you wish to relax on the deck, or if your partner refuses to get up at a decent hour!

I would definitely stay here again - and only wished we had more than the two nights as it was a very relaxing place.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InsidiousSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed in this lovely place for three nights during our recent trip down the Great Ocean Route. We absolutely loved it. The views are just amazing and you can even hear the sound of the waves. The B&B has got two rooms, which are separated from the owner's part of the house. That means you have maximum privat sphere.

The breakfast hamper provided was nice and we could not have wished for anything more. The room is lovely as well - quite simple yet stylish, you can see they made an effort to make it nice, which I always really appreciate.

Apollo Bay is a fantastic place to stop for a few days and the Otways are beautiful. I recommend driving to Kennet River and do the Koala Walk - it's amazing!

To wrap it up, we loved pretty much everything and would have loved to stay longer.

  • Liked — The views and sound of the waves, the nice interior.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Schlump53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

Although previous reviews had given us high expectations of this B & B, the room we were given exceeded our expectations. We were lucky enough to spend 3 nights here, each morning sitting in bed looking out over the sea. The Breakfast basket supplied means that you can have your breakfast whenever you want each morning and there was more than enough to last the 3 mornings - we loved this set-up. The room is huge and has a small kitchen along with a luxurious bathroom. If you are travelling the Great Ocean Road make sure you stop here. It's just on the outskirts of Apollo Bay (at Skenes Creek) which means it is really quiet.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

Well, where to begin? A really relaxing and comfortable place to stay. Really loved the design of our room, which complimented the lovely ocean view outside.

The room had a mini kitchenette area which allowed you the freedom to have breakfast when we wanted (breakfast being left in a hamper for us), and therefore Castaways could be used as a self-catering base and not just a B&B.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't kind enough for us to enjoy relaxing on a hammock outside, but we were lulled to sleep by the steady distant crashing of the waves.

There was a good collection of DVD's to watch and books to read.

Castaways is the perfect base to explore the Great Ocean Road and surrounding attractions, and we only wished we could have stayed longer.

Dinner at Buff's Bistro can be recommended - although beware the size of the dessert portions!!

  • Liked — Loved the room!
  • Disliked — Staying only one night
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CrazyGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2007

Castaways was an excellent overnight stop on the Ocean Road. A house high above the sea has two B&B units built in at a lower level. ( See picture ). There are no other houses adjacent, so a quiet position. But if you like a little background noise step out onto the deck and listen the waves pounding far below.

There was a microwave and generous breakfast provisions in the room, so no communal breakfasting. We were in unit 2 and its worth noting that unit 1 gets the evening sun, and unit 2 the morning. Castaways is actually Skenes Creek rather than Apollo bay and it’s a five minutes drive if you want dinner in Apollo bay. We enjoyed Buff’s Bistro in that regard.

It’s a steep pull up the unpaved Tiger Lane to reach the house. ( named for the Tiger snakes that used to be common there ) I loved the isolation and sat for hours on the deck admiring the coastline. And then the stars came out!

The fittings are all very modern. The twin shower for not just big enough for two but has two shower heads! The wicker sofa was a little snug for two. There was a hammock and two outside wicker chairs available. Also Dvds. Around £80.

The only thing that is a bit of a nuisance with B&Bs is that you have to arrive at an agreed time. We cut short our sightseeing to make the appointment, as we would never have done for a hotel. But you cannot expect B&B owners to stay at home all day waiting for you.

I really should stay at these high end B&Bs more often because they are so much better than hotels. You get away from the crowds and feel as if you are staying in a home. And the views were superb.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank AlMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Castaways in late March for one night on our drive from Adelaide to Melbourne along the Great Ocean Road. We very much enjoyed our time at Castaways, and wished we could stay longer! Here's the highlights:

* Amy was very accomodating in terms of arrival time and in answering our questions about the area and travelling in Australia in general

* Room was clean and large. Beautiful and relaxing decor. Comfortable bed. FANTASTIC views of the ocean - although keep in mind it's not waterfront property.

* Breakfast basket had a wide variety of cereal, fruit, breads and juices provided. Small kitchenette with sink, fridge and microwave suited our needs perfectly.

* Lots of DVD's and books to choose from

* GREAT value for the money (we spent roughly $165AUD for one night - I think)

A few things to keep in mind which did not in any way impact our stay but you might want to know:

* Property technically is not in Apollo Bay - but it was less than a 10 minute drive into the center of town.

* Owners live on-site - but we had more than enough privacy (we typcally choose hotels over B&B's because we've found other B&B's didn't give us enough privacy)

* Like many parts of Australia, they're very concerned about water conservation and encourage you to take short showers

  • Liked — Great view from room; clean and comfortable decor
  • Disliked — No laundry facilities or internet connection
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheImproperBostonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2007

What a place!

This accommodation was our first as we travelled along the Great Ocean Road from Melbourne to Adelaide and it meant that the rest of the accommodation had a lot to live up to.

The welcome was fantastic and the personal touches were evident throughout the whole stay - from the breakfast basket to the hammock and the guest pack.

The rooms are decorated to a very high standard and the views are fantastic!!!!!

The owners are very friendly and will advise you on what to do and see in the area. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Liked — Personal touches made the stay!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Have a go in the hammock on the decking!!!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nikmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
3.0 mi away
Captain's At The Bay
Captain's At The Bay
#1 of 19 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
4.4 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.0 mi away
BIG4 Apollo Bay Pisces Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
3.2 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
3.2 mi away
Apollo Bay Guest House
Apollo Bay Guest House
#2 of 19 in Apollo Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Apollo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Apollo Bay

Property: Castaways Apollo Bay
Address: 75 Tiger Lane | Skenes Creek, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two separate, self-contained, King sized, Ocean View Bed & Breakfast rooms each with their own personal en-suite, entries and facilities, to ensure our guests privacy and solitude during their coastal getaway. Both rooms are identical and located side by side on the ground floor with guaranteed ocean views. Prices include a Continental breakfast basket and unlimited usage of the hammocks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castaways Apollo Bay Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing