We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay! Will Return”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apollo Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castaways Apollo Bay
Ranked #12 of 19 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stay! Will Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have just come back from 3 nights stay at Castaways. Wow, what a fantastic spot.
The accomodation is tasteful and spotless. Only a few minutes drive into apollo bay town centre but away from everyone. It is peaceful, and very private perched on top of a hill with beautiful seaviews/farmland. We stayed in room 2 which we were thrilled about, as we had a field to our right with cattle. Both rooms however, have amazing seaviews. The breakfast hamper was extremely generous - it fed us for breakfast for the 3 days and there were stil leftovers!
Many thanks to the hosts of castaways - we prepaid so we did not actually see our hosts, just came and went as we pleased - the way we like it. They have done a fantastic job. We will definately be back soon. Ps: the bed was super comfy and we had the best sleep we have ever had away from home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

My husband and I had stayed at Castaways back in March 2007 (see my review from 2007 posted as the Improper Bostonian - long story, but somehow I ended up switching accounts). On our return trip along the Great Ocean Road, we rescheduled our itinerary especially so that we could make another stop at Castaways - this time for 2 nights. I was worried that somehow my memory of our first trip wouldn't meet with reality - and I was not disappointed. We had a great stay! The room was clean, comfortable, and private. We actually didn't see our hosts at all, despite the fact that they live on the property. They just left us the code to the door, and we came and went as we pleased.

The one down side is that there is no internet service at Castaways and intermittent TV service...but, that left plenty of time to catch up on a good book!

Unfortunately, it rained for most of the 2 days that we stayed...but we did manage to get up to Marriner's Lookout during a break in the clouds. Great views of Apollo Bay! We also recommend the Otway Fly treetop walk - about an hour drive.

I hope that we can make a 3rd trip down the Great Ocean Road, and would definitely stay at Castaways a 3rd time!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

We had such a fantastic time at Castaways. Immediately when we arrived we felt relaxed and all smiles with such spacious private accomodation situated on a hill overlooking fields and the ocean over Skenes beach/ Apollo Bay. The room has a lovely relaxed feeling with timber floors, large comfy bed, clean furnishings, generous basket of continental breakfast for two days was brilliant. To be able to sit out on the front deck and have lunch and breakfast overlooking this stunning scenery and peacefulness was fantastic. We felt like we had the whole place to ourselves as there are only two rooms available for lease , totally away from the touristy area of Apollo bay. Although I would say Apollo bay is not that touristy say relative to other beach places like Noosa. We would definitely stay at Castaways again perhaps for longer, as we think the Great Ocean Rd experience is something we would do again and again

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights at Castaways - very relaxing. Echo-ing a lot of the previous comments, the location is great, and the hosts more than helpful getting you orientated, and helping if you need any advice. It is located just 5km from Apollo Bay. The comments in the Guest Book in the room sing praises I have never seen so much of a place, and as a result, this was a beautiful find for me, my wife and our 5 year old son. The weather was also perfect, and made this a superb beach break for us as part of a 4 week trip.

Breakfast was provided on the first day with fruit, bread, juice & cereals to last the period of the stay. We were in #1 of the 2 rooms, which captured the morning light, and was modern, equipped with fridge, microwave, all cutlery and crockery required, and tastfully decorated & dressed. The dual walk in showers were a bonus, and little sign of any wear or tear.

The local Skenes Creek beach is a very pleasant beach, and certainly the creek interested my son (5), and the sea provided great waves for boogie boarding and surfing. A walk further up Tiger Lane, a steep one at that, provides a good view across the coastline and into the hillside (personally, I found it more interesting than Mariners Point). Located about 90mins from the 12 Apostles, and around 30km to Cape Otway.

Thankfully we were able to extend our initial 3 day stay, believe me, try and stay for longer if you can... you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

My partner and I stayed at Castaways in December 2008 as a first romantic getaway together. Having travelled all over the world, bed and breakfasts have to be a favourite of mine. Castways is everything you expect in a Bed and Breakfast and more.

It is located a little way away from the actual town of Apollo Bay, making it very private and tranquil (and being on a cattle farm, you may get some visitors mooing at your window). The breakfast hamper was more than adequate. The rooms were well furnished and clean, and over looking the ocean. The hosts have thought of every detail in the room making the stay enjoyable. My partner loved the large bathroom with a double shower head! There are DVDs and books for you to enjoy if you wish to relax on the deck, or if your partner refuses to get up at a decent hour!

I would definitely stay here again - and only wished we had more than the two nights as it was a very relaxing place.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InsidiousSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed in this lovely place for three nights during our recent trip down the Great Ocean Route. We absolutely loved it. The views are just amazing and you can even hear the sound of the waves. The B&B has got two rooms, which are separated from the owner's part of the house. That means you have maximum privat sphere.

The breakfast hamper provided was nice and we could not have wished for anything more. The room is lovely as well - quite simple yet stylish, you can see they made an effort to make it nice, which I always really appreciate.

Apollo Bay is a fantastic place to stop for a few days and the Otways are beautiful. I recommend driving to Kennet River and do the Koala Walk - it's amazing!

To wrap it up, we loved pretty much everything and would have loved to stay longer.

  • Liked — The views and sound of the waves, the nice interior.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Schlump53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

Although previous reviews had given us high expectations of this B & B, the room we were given exceeded our expectations. We were lucky enough to spend 3 nights here, each morning sitting in bed looking out over the sea. The Breakfast basket supplied means that you can have your breakfast whenever you want each morning and there was more than enough to last the 3 mornings - we loved this set-up. The room is huge and has a small kitchen along with a luxurious bathroom. If you are travelling the Great Ocean Road make sure you stop here. It's just on the outskirts of Apollo Bay (at Skenes Creek) which means it is really quiet.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
3.0 mi away
Captain's At The Bay
Captain's At The Bay
#1 of 19 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
4.4 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.8 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
0.5 mi away
Seafarers Getaway
Seafarers Getaway
#2 of 32 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skenes Creek Lodge Motel
Skenes Creek Lodge Motel
#10 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Apollo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Apollo Bay

Property: Castaways Apollo Bay
Address: 75 Tiger Lane | Skenes Creek, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two separate, self-contained, King sized, Ocean View Bed & Breakfast rooms each with their own personal en-suite, entries and facilities, to ensure our guests privacy and solitude during their coastal getaway. Both rooms are identical and located side by side on the ground floor with guaranteed ocean views. Prices include a Continental breakfast basket and unlimited usage of the hammocks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castaways Apollo Bay Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing