We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Bay Eco YHA

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Apollo Bay Eco YHA
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place was fantastic! The lounge and kitchen are so lovely to relax and chill in. One night of our stay the woodburning stove was on and with gentle music on in the background and a glass of wine in my hand it was really cozy and we sat there reading for quite some time and relaxing from our busy day.
There was lots of space for food and cooking etc. The room were really nice and clean and everywhere was tidy and clean. There are lots of little extra home comforts around the place which make it feel homely. Not that I saw much of them but the staff are great and really helpful and friendly. A fab place to stay in Apollo Bay. Apollo Bay is also a great place to stay and explore as well as venture out to surrounding areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda S, Marketing Coordinator at Apollo Bay Eco YHA, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for the great review Sara T. We love to make sure our guests feel at home when they stay here and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed Apollo Bay town. We hope to see you back here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    59
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
89
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Friends and I stayed in a family room over two nights as part of our road trip along the Great Ocean Road and we were left suitably impressed.
One of the newest, nicest hostels I've stayed in. Kitchen, rooms and bathrooms all modern and excellent. Service friendly and helpful. Location only a short walk from the seafront, pub, reastaurants and the local supermarket.
A great stop along the Great Ocean Road.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dso1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
124 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Was a great place to stop off at whilst driving the Great Ocean Road. We were recommended a fabulous restaurant called La Bimba - you must go there. Clean, lovely, welcoming youth hostel. Nice open kitchen and shared living spaces. Fantastic to see so many eco initiatives being implemented. This place walks the talk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss-b20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lovely place, run by a lovely couple. Spent the long weekend there fishing and golfing, nice, clean place with great facilities. Even a fish cleaning area out the back!
In winter, the place is very cosy with it's fireplace.
Will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woahwoah17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda S, Marketing Coordinator at Apollo Bay Eco YHA, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for the review woahwoah17. We hope to see you back for a 6th time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night.

It is located one street away from the main beach front road, and is a short 5 minute walk to centre of town.

We stayed in a double room with shared facilities. Room was basic but very comfortable, and had floor-to-ceiling windows and a balcony. It did get cool at night so we made use of the heater, which worked well.

Shared bathrooms were very clean, to the extent we did not feel like we were staying in a room without en-suite facilities.

Communal kitchen was 'shiny' new and had all possible utensils / gadgets - almost made you want to cook. Free herb garden outside had a variety of herbs to spice up our dinner.

Lounge on the ground floor had a real log fire, which gave it a very cosy feeling.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms feel more private and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VikBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This accommodation is great for those who want to visit great ocean road. It is close to 12 apostles and has lots of eateries and beach nearby.
Most importantly, it is very organized and the staff are the best people I have ever met during my aussie trip.
They are helpful and thoughtful to customer.
We like this accommodation very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nguwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Such am amazing 1 night stay from the second we checked in! The owner was friendly and very hospitable, our room was clean, cool, spacious and very comfortable, The kitchen was also clean and well equipped.
Its in a very good location and well worth a recommendation!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.5 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
1.4 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Bay Eco YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Bay Eco YHA

Property: Apollo Bay Eco YHA
Address: 5 Pascoe Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia (Formerly Eco Beach YHA)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Bay Eco YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Bay Eco YHA is a stylish and comfortable ECO Certified Nature Tourism accredited hostel located in Apollo Bay along the famous Great Ocean Road. Situated between the rainforests of the Otway Ranges and the Apollo Bay surf beach Apollo Bay Eco YHA is the perfect base for exploring this amazing region. Hostel facilities include free on-site parking, free Wifi Hot Spot, a wood heater, two spacious communal lounges, two communal kitchens, shared bathrooms, a TV and reading room, DVD hire, several outdoor balconies and a rooftop deck complete with a BBQ offering spectacular views. Passive solar design, clever zoning and water consumption techniques are used to reduce the level of energy consumption and give you a great getaway with the knowledge your bed doesn't cost the earth! Various room types are available including 4 multi-share, twin/double and family rooms. Each room is heated and comes with lockers and an individual bed light. Please note that all bathroom facilities are shared for all room types. Apollo Bay Eco YHA is close to all the action with only a 2-minute walk from restaurants, cafes and beach in Apollo Bay town centre and a 90-minute drive to the Twelve Apostles. The region is nature lover's haven with deserted beaches, Cape Otway Lighthouse (Australia's oldest lighthouse), the Great Otway National Park complete with rainforest and waterfalls and of course the Great Ocean Road drive! Head further into the Otways to try your luck spotting glow worms at Melba Gully, the elusive platypus at Lake Elizabeth or the wild koalas at nearby Kennet River. Feeling adventurous? Activities in the area include surfing, windsurfing, snorkelling, horse riding along the beach, hiking, paragliding, kayaking out to the seals and the Great Ocean Road walk. Apollo Bay Eco YHA is also a Rent-a-YHA hostel, and can be booked exclusively for large groups. Bookings can be made for either half the hostel, which sleeps up to 36 people, or the whole hostel which sleeps up to 72 people. Please call the hostel Manager for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Apollo Bay Eco YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Beach Yha Hotel Apollo Bay
Apollo Bay Eco YHA Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing