We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't believe it is a hostel ....”
Review of Apollo Bay Eco YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Bay Eco YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nothing against hostels .... we use them extensively. But, this felt quite different.

Had the plusses of a hostel ... communal kitchens, travellers, and the like. But did not have grimy bathrooms or scary carpets.

This is a great hostel. Cool design. Airy rooms. Wonderful common areas. And great staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 262 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This place is cheap, super clean and nice and quiet. Loved it. The staff were friendly and the room very nice. Great value for money. We had a good nights sleep. The kitchen and bath facilities were also immaculate. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mash_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Conveniently located on the great ocean road just a bit to the east of Port Campbell and the 12 Apostles. The room was clean and the staff were very friendly. There are two large kitchens and even a fireplace in the common area. The toilets are clean and everything seems very tidy in general. Being an "Eco hostel" means they have installed a bunch of nifty little features that are supposed to save energy and water, but it also meant freezing cold rooms in October...I reckon this place could do with some isolation in the walls as the next step in their eco-plan, that way the heat wouldn't escape through the windows so easily. But all in all, this hostel was very very nice!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice and clean hostel with comfy bed. There is a living room with fireplace for you to relax. Full equipped kitchen for you to cook. The staff is very friendly, they recommended us a few nice place to eat, place to buy groceries and place to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tieneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a fantastic hostel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the facilities are amazing with the kitchen looking like it is from a show home and the rooms are comfy. The whole place has a quality feel to it and combined with the people produces a vibe that just makes you feel great.
I cannot recommend this hostel highly enough

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esky10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Having experienced a fair amount of hostels, I had low expectations upon arrival to Apollo Bay. Wow, was I ever floored. Absolutely the best hostel I've ever stayed in, and honestly probably nicer than some hotels. The grounds were beautiful, it's a close walk to the beach and to tons of delicious restaurants. The kitchen is gorgeous and spacious, a place where we actually WANTED to cook unlike so many hostels I've been to. The common areas were absolutely lovely, with comfy couches and a wood burning fire place. The whole place is just such a relaxing escape, really heaven on earth. Gilbert, the owner, was the sweetest and really made everyone feel at home right from the start. There's a large collection of movies and a flat screen as well, for nights in. Overall, I can't speak highly enough about this hostel. It was absolutely beautiful and an amazing experience - we never wanted to leave.

Room Tip: We loved our room. Make sure to close the drapes before bed though, with floor to ceiling windows it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We arrived at the hostel and although booked in to a multi-share room the owner immediately asked if we were a couple and if we wanted a private room at no extra cost. He gave us a family room, which had a double and bunk beds. The room was large, clean and tidy and the bathrooms, also very clean, were just down the hall. The lounge is lovely, with a big log burning stove. The kitchen was very clean and well appointed. We definitely could have stayed a lot longer! Great hostel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donkjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.3 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
The Apollo Apartments
The Apollo Apartments
#8 of 33 in Apollo Bay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BIG4 Apollo Bay Pisces Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
0.4 mi away
Seaview Motel and Apartments
Seaview Motel and Apartments
#8 of 12 in Apollo Bay
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Bay Eco YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Bay Eco YHA

Address: 5 Pascoe St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia (Formerly Eco Beach YHA)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Apollo Bay
Price Range: $28 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Bay Eco YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Bay Eco YHA is a stylish and comfortable ECO Certified Nature Tourism accredited hostel located in Apollo Bay along the famous Great Ocean Road. Situated between the rainforests of the Otway Ranges and the Apollo Bay surf beach Apollo Bay Eco YHA is the perfect base for exploring this amazing region. Hostel facilities include free on-site parking, free Wifi Hot Spot, a wood heater, two spacious communal lounges, two communal kitchens, shared bathrooms, a TV and reading room, DVD hire, several outdoor balconies and a rooftop deck complete with a BBQ offering spectacular views. Passive solar design, clever zoning and water consumption techniques are used to reduce the level of energy consumption and give you a great getaway with the knowledge your bed doesn't cost the earth! Various room types are available including 4 multi-share, twin/double and family rooms. Each room is heated and comes with lockers and an individual bed light. Please note that all bathroom facilities are shared for all room types. Apollo Bay Eco YHA is close to all the action with only a 2-minute walk from restaurants, cafes and beach in Apollo Bay town centre and a 90-minute drive to the Twelve Apostles. The region is nature lover's haven with deserted beaches, Cape Otway Lighthouse (Australia's oldest lighthouse), the Great Otway National Park complete with rainforest and waterfalls and of course the Great Ocean Road drive! Head further into the Otways to try your luck spotting glow worms at Melba Gully, the elusive platypus at Lake Elizabeth or the wild koalas at nearby Kennet River. Feeling adventurous? Activities in the area include surfing, windsurfing, snorkelling, horse riding along the beach, hiking, paragliding, kayaking out to the seals and the Great Ocean Road walk. Apollo Bay Eco YHA is also a Rent-a-YHA hostel, and can be booked exclusively for large groups. Bookings can be made for either half the hostel, which sleeps up to 36 people, or the whole hostel which sleeps up to 72 people. Please call the hostel Manager for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollo Bay Eco YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Beach Yha Hotel Apollo Bay
Apollo Bay Eco YHA Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing