We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in Apollo Bay”
Review of Beachfront Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beachfront Motel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a great motel to stay at before or after the Great Ocean Road experience. It is in a good location being right opposite the beach and within easy walking distance of shops & restaurants. Our unit was clean & comfortable with a separate kitchenette & also the tariff was reasonable. The motel doesn't serve breakfast but there are cafes close by. We didn't have a chance to look around Apollo Bay because of gale-force winds which thankfully abated by the time we reached the 12 Apostles!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 253 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the Beachfront Motel for 2 nights on our visit to the great ocean road.
We were not disappointed at all.
The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean and the cute little kitchen was all we needed.
It is so very quite with undercover parking at the door which was excellent especially as it had rained the whole time we where there.
The heating is great and good hot water service.
Would love to stay there again as Apollo bay was so quiet due to the bad weather
The beach is just across the road and on a good day the walk is beaut.

Room Tip: Sit back and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Location is perfect - on the main strip of Apollo Bay. Spacious clean rooms with comfy bed, well stocked kitchenette ( toaster, kettle, wine glasses, water jug etc....) and bathrooms with all the amenites. We added an extra bed for the twin room - and were pleasantly surprised that it was a good quality single bed (not the foldable type with wheels) that was added - the room still felt spacious even with the extra bed. Car park is at your door step. And all for 50+/pax. A definite recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Found managers very helpful. They let us check in early as we caught the bus down from Geelong. We chose this motel as it's all on ground level and the bathrooms have a shower recess. The rooms are spotless and comfy. We stay every year and love it's close access to the bus stop, beach & shops. We highly recommend it to anyone travelling the great ocean rd.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElderlycoupleGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

DON'T STAY IN THIS HOTEL!!!!!!! Here is my story....
I went this weekend to Apollo Bay to spend just one night. Arrived on Friday 7pm and left on Saturday at 10:45am... When I did the check in at the hotel, the owner asked me to sign off a "contract" where, according to him, was just saying that I had to pay if I break anything in the room... However... When I did the check out at 10:45 in the next morning, the owner charged me aditional $60!!!! According to the hotel "policies", the check out time is 10am and they were supposed to charge $20 of every 15 minutes that the customer is late!!! So... I said that I never saw a policy like this before and that it was not fare to charge me $60 for 45 minutes above the check out time (10am!!)... The owner did't care and said that I signed off the contract agreeing with this policy and he couldnt do anything!.... I said that I was going to complaint about it in TRIP ADVISOR and he said that he wouldn't care.... What a pity!!....I felt like he was just stealing my money from my wallet! So, DONT GO TO THIS HOTEL!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MarcoAntonioCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Another warm welcome and a good night's sleep. On main street close to shops and restaurants. Price was reduced by 10% because I'd joined Golden Chain after staying in another of their motels. A good centre for the Great Ocean Road. Well worth the drive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breyno6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here over Easter and, as with most hotels in Australia, the price was raised very high for the period. The motel is well located for walking around town, (but if you have a car, any hotel in the area would be fine) and all restaurants and shops are near. Indeed, there is a large supermarket (Food Works) just behind, and this has a good bakery section, hot & cold deli, and liquor shop – this makes preparing your own breakfast easy (though there is a popular bakery just minutes away if you want to have breakfast out). For those who want to eat in, there is a separate kitchenette with a decent size fridge, table and two chairs.

The motel room is a good size and you can park your car right outside your door. The bed is comfortable as are the pillows. There is a wardrobe to hang clothes and the shelving under the window can also be used. There is no in-room safe however. There is a separate, private toilet within the bathroom and the shower has great water pressure.

As others have mentioned, the owners are friendly and helpful. What you see in the photos other Trip Advisors have posed is exactly what you get – a clean, modern, well designed room. However, at AUD 270 per night, this certainly wasn’t value for money! And don’t pay for internet access – it runs at a snail’s pace!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Seaview Motel and Apartments
Seaview Motel and Apartments
#8 of 12 in Apollo Bay
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Motel

Address: 163 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range: $93 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfront Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in town and opposite the beach. Architect designed for comfort, privacy and convenience. 100 metres to restaurants and shops. Our motel units and are ideal for one or more days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beachfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Motel And Cottages Hotel Apollo Bay
Beach Front Hotel
Beach Front Motel
Beachfront Motel Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing