We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Balcony view”
Review of Sandpiper Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandpiper Motel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful Balcony view”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It is such a cozy place we didn't want to leave. We had the view of the bay, cool sea breeze and it was very close to the shops. We had free internet access via wifi. The rooms were spotless clean. Services by Leanne, Richard and staff members are extremely helpful very friendly and they make you feel very welcomed. Check ins and checking out was very fast. There is a laundry downstairs next to the carpark, which was very convenient. Don't be afraid to ask for anything, they are very helpful and they make your stay enjoyable as possible!! Defiantly will return. 10/10

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ocean View Room Style 2. You get the view of the nature straight ahead and on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Not only do the View Rooms have a special view you can also hear the ocean rolling in. It's great to fall asleep listening to the ocean roll/roar in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    205
    46
    17
    4
See reviews for
92
377
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed one night late January and although the rooms were comfortable and the greeting from the reception area very warm to start with this friendliness disappeared somewhat when our friends from China unfortunately became confused about the check out time and were about 30 min past the 10 o'clock "deadline". This trip to Australia was their first and they had very limited English (my son arranged their particular booking and accompanied them because he speaks Chinese). The cleaning staff and reception lady (manager?) were quite rude to myself and to my son and embarrassed him in front of the Chinese family friends/business associates. A little bit of flexibility on this occasion would have made a big difference.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We apologise if we caused embarrassment or displeasure, we take on board the criticism. I think everybody has a bad day from time to time and this must have been one of them! Thanks for the feedback, both positive and negative, it's how we learn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

From the warmth of greeting when you arrive through the helpful suggestions for dining and places to visit through to the genuine interest as to your experience during the stay this place is top notch for the area it is in. We had an upstairs room with a view to the bay and although we did hear the neighbouring guests coming up the stairs in the evening we were not disturbed. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and the location was good for exploring the delights of the Great Ocean Road. Options for dining in Apollo bay are a little limited if you are looking for a gastronomic experience although we did find a good venue if you look up my other reviews.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Great review..thanks very much! Nothing more to say here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed 1night in this lovely clean motel, a bit expensive but understand this was high season.
Welcoming & very Friendly staff.
Would have loved to have stayed longer & explored the area more.
Just a shame the weather was cold.
Nice local bar, cafés, shops & restaurants.
Great Ocean Road is a must do.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Overall, a very positive review. We would have loved to have this guest stay longer but at this time of year we have been fully booked since a long time ago. It pays to get in early and book 2 or 3 nights then. We have people booking 6 months ahead for this time of year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
162 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We visited Apollo Bay during the Christmas holidays, so a high price was hard to avoid. The sandpiper offers average rooms, perfect for when travelling the Great Ocean Road.
The check in was fast and friendly. We received the wifi password and wifi worked perfectly. We liked the free laundry facility. Also you will have a good big tv.
We could eat our breakfast on the patio in the morning sun, that was lovely. Also we liked the heating in the room. One day it was rainy and very cold. The airconditioning provided goot heating in the room. And in the bathroom there was also a heating element. In the room you will find plates, glasses and cutlery etc.
If you stay here, please ask for a room on the first floor. Staying at ground level, you can hear the neighboors upstairs walking in the room (and in our case they walked a lot!).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dekpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Currently we have a small minority of rooms that have a room above them. When the peak season is over we will be taking remedial action to reduce the level of noise transfer from rooms above to rooms below. If guests are particularly sensitive to noise then we have plenty of rooms available that do not have rooms above. Please make reference to that when making the reservation and we will do our best to accommodate. Apart from that issue, this guest was clearly happy with their stay and scored us highly overall. We welcome all feedback. If you don't like what you see, tell us; if you like what you see, then tell your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Sandpiper is situated on a quiet street a few minutes walk from the centre of Apollo a Bay. We arrived after a long day's driving and the friendly welcome we received immediately told me that we had made a good choice for our overnight stay. The rooms are comfortable, clean and nicely appointed and there's free wifi - something that other motel managers could learn a useful lesson from. If you're passing through this neck of the woods and looking for a place to stay the Sandpiper is definitely well worth checking out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuanshyaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Simple, Stylish and Contemporary are the 3 words we used to describe the motel when we remodelled back in 2005. It's great to see guests still recognise that Sandpiper meets the description we started with. A great review, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at the Sandpiper for 1 night on Christmas Day 2013 and it was lovely place to stay. The rooms were spotlessly clean, really well furnished and comfortable. Our check-in was nice and easy, notably the owners were patiently waiting for all the guests to check-in before celebrating Christmas themselves! The location of the motel is ideal with the beach a few minutes walk down the road and the main part of Apollo Bay also only a short walk away. We spent Christmas Day on the beach after a BBQ (shame about the flies, there were so many!). The beach itself was fab.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room but you could possibly see the sea from a first floor room - could be wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaH201401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
The beach at the end of the road is really very good. It's, literally, 5 minutes walk from the front door of the motel. In the summer the water is really refreshing and a great place to relax. Very kind words in this review, we are pleased with how the motel and staff are perceived. After all, perception is reality to those who perceive it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.4 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Coastal Motel
Coastal Motel
#6 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Motel

Property: Sandpiper Motel
Address: 3 Murray St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpiper Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandpiper Motel has recently been completely remodeled and provides simple, stylish and contemporary accommodation at a reasonable price. The Motel caters for both couples and families and has sufficient flexibility to look after groups. We are only a gentle stroll from the many and varied restaurants in the centre of Apollo Bay and there is lots to see and do in the vicinity so why not stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Apollo Bay
Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing