We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Larger Window would help”
Review of Sandpiper Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandpiper Motel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Value, Larger Window would help”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Overall the Hotel was great, clean, tidy and comfortable.

Good location and excellent layout, of the rooms.

There is really no views for the garden rooms as there is only one poorly placed window.

However I would happily return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Overall a very positive review, thank you. The issue with the window is a difficult one to respond to. With the remodelling we had to try and balance the desire to allow as much natural light into the rooms while protecting the privacy of the in-room guests. For this guest's personal taste, we probably got the balance wrong. We would love to see the guest back again and they can choose a different room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    209
    46
    17
    4
See reviews for
98
381
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The experience was bliss from start to finish. A very welcoming lady checked us in, and provided us with the local taxi drivers number and different options for where we could have dinner and drinks.
The apartment we stayed in was super clean and comfortable.
It was a wonderful place to celebrate my 50th

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vics63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
"Bliss from start to finish". That's a first for us! Nothing more to add.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Traveling from the US, this was my second overnight stop on the Great Ocean Road. Super friendly young ladie at reception was very helpful and accomodating. Garden room was spacious, very clean and modern looking while keeping an ocean-garden type feeling to it. Stayed here again, a week later, on my way back through to Melbourne. This time in a Terrace room and it was great listening to the waves
while sitting on the patio. Plenty of easy parking on-site, good instant coffee and kettle, good water pressure in shower and free guest laundry. I saw other motels from the outside around AP, and will save you the trouble and tell you there is no reason to stay anywhere else than the Sandpiper.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank dlowdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Leanne, our Manager, will be flattered to learn she is a "young lady". We try our best to make our guests feel welcome and Leanne clearly has achieved this. This guest clearly loved our property as they came back for a second stay. Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent one night at the Sandpiper Motel and everything was really lovely. We had everything we needed for our stay and the staff were able to direct us to a lovely Fish n Chip shop for dinner. Would like to stay here on my next trip to the Great Ocean Road....maybe in a warmer month!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceylou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Perfect! We love to see our guests saying they would return for a second visit. it's the ultimate accolade. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Located within walking distance to town, clean newly renovated room, free parking on site. Overall conveniently located. Reception culd be more friendly when we checked in. Her disposition did improve when we checked out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thor333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
The receptionist must have been having a bad day. We apologise for that. By the time the guest was ready to leave things had obviously improved. The vast majority of our reviews include a comment about the helpfulness and bubbly nature of our reception. We all have bad days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Purchased a "deal" for nights accommodation in Apollo Bay as a way overdue visit to Great Ocean Rd was planned .. What a great find!! The days weather was cold wet and windy but the welcome at the Sandpiper so warm and friendly. As far a motels go was a lovely surprise to find somewhere with such great presentation from the welcoming reception to the immaculate rooms. Part of "deal" ..breakfast was supplied in basket to enjoy next morning in our room. Gardens were beautiful and I noticed native birds enjoying the blossoms as well.
Dinner as part of deal was at local Great Ocean Rd hotel.. was enjoyable too.
Great place to spend a long weekend and explore Apollo Bay and surrounds.. Pity weather was not as inviting... But definitely will return for another stay sooon!!!!! And definitely recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Our deals have been very popular this year. Look out for new deals in 2014. We will be adding value to our accommodation with the opportunity to enjoy local restaurants and a relaxing massage, perhaps. We are pleased this guest took advantage of our deal this year and enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in the family room, lots of room, clean, all the things from home you need (i.e. iPod dock, DVD player etc) and free laundry facilities. Friendly staff, quick and easy check in/out. Would come back again and again. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PullingPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thanks! We hope you do come back again and again. We like guests who like us and tell all their friends. We've recently been endorsed again for 4 star AAA rating so there are others in the know who also like us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apollo Bay
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.4 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
22.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
1.8 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Motel

Property: Sandpiper Motel
Address: 3 Murray St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpiper Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandpiper Motel has recently been completely remodeled and provides simple, stylish and contemporary accommodation at a reasonable price. The Motel caters for both couples and families and has sufficient flexibility to look after groups. We are only a gentle stroll from the many and varied restaurants in the centre of Apollo Bay and there is lots to see and do in the vicinity so why not stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Apollo Bay
Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing