We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice apartment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandpiper Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sandpiper Motel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We were checked in by the relief managers, who were very nice. The two bedroom apartment was tasteful, clean and spacious. The motel was just off the main strip. Thanks for supporting the Leukaemia Foundation, too!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank possum88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Reviews can't get any better than this, thank you! It's also reassuring to see that our staff are well appreciated. This is Donna and David's first stint as relief managers so we are delighted that their presence is recognised positively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    205
    44
    16
    4
See reviews for
91
366
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a two night stay in January. The sandpiper motel is in a great location for exploring the ocean road and appollo bay itself is a lovely place for beach, restaurants and pub!
We found the room to be very clean and comfortable. It was nice having some outside space to relax also. The provision of plates, cutlery etc was great although we found washing up a struggle with no towels etc!
I would definately return to sandpiper for the comfort and location

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Comfort and location....we love to hear those words! We reckon we've got a good thing going at Sandpiper. it's great to hear our guests agree. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Could not fault this Motel in any way,exept a microwave would have been very handy. Staff were very easy to get on with, nothing was too much trouble. Room was very comfy and clean and quiet. Would have no reservations about returning to this Motel if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Room 10 across from laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neville L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We got top marks here. We get requests from time to time for Microwave ovens to be placed in the rooms. We've haven't been keen to place them in all rooms as there is so little room to fit them in and we believe there are other amenities with a higher priority. We do have facilities for guests to "zap" a meal or a babies bottle in the back office which guests are welcome to use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

On a road trip from Brisbane to Adelaide, I booked two nights at the Sandpiper Motel (Sat & Sun). Very nice, contemporary room, had everything I needed, including free WiFi (what a bonus). The room wasn't huge but then it was just me and I didn't need anything bigger. The new manager is great and very easy to chat to. I would happily stay here again and highly recommened it.

Location is very close to town and 30 min drive to Cape Otway Lighthouse and 1 hour to Otway Fly. Both are highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowwhite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for these kind words. Just reinforces our view that Apollo Bay is a great place from where you can explore the Otways and its environs. Why not stay a couple of days and what better place to stay than Sandpiper Motel? Come on down!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We picked up a 2 night stay for the Sandpiper on deals.com.au. The motel is located in easy walking distance off the main shopping strip. The staff are friendly & knowledgeable of their area. The room was well appointed clean & had a bit of a view of the beach. I say a bit because some one had decided it was a great view & built a 2 storey place further towards the beach!! It's the end of winter so the weather was a little overcast the 1st day but Apollo Bay turned it on for us the next. This is a great starting point for a trip to the 12 Apostles & The Cape Otway Lightstation. Our deal included a 30 min massage @ the Day Spa as well, which was very relaxing. The Sandpiper is somewhere we will come back to when we are next in Apollo Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeckardR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We also hope to see these guests again. There's no greater compliment than a return visit, or at least, the promise of a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Sandpiper Motel was where we spent our first night along the Great Ocean Road, and we couldn't have asked for a better 'pit-stop' than here in Apollo Bay. The hotel's location itself is pretty perfect too: walking distance to the beach (although the weather didn't cooperate with us and it was rainy) and to a whole lot of restaurants for dinner.

The room we were in was perhaps a little small for two of us, but it was very cozy, comfortable and designed in a modern, contemporary style. Most importantly (for us at least): the WIFI was working great - strong signal from our room (which was right behind the reception) and free for all guests. Both my husband and I have jobs that require us to be online often, and finding accommodation with reliable WIFI can sometimes be very stressful while we're on holiday - so this was a huge plus point for us!

No breakfast is included in the room rate, although there is the standard toaster, kettle and other basic cutlery in the room. However one very thoughtful service that the Sandpiper Motel provides is a 'breakfast order' service, where you can order basic items like milk, cereal and juice from them (at regular prices, no exorbitant markups!) and they'll leave it in your room for your breakfast the next day.

I especially loved the little 'garden' of the Sandpiper Motel: there was a lemon tree and a very lovely scent of lavender that hits you once you walk into the backyard. Wonderfully kept grounds and very well maintained lodging. Best of all - for the quality of the room, free WIFI, considerate service plus great location - the room rates for the Sandpiper are really hard to beat. I was really happy that I found this accommodation online, and would highly recommend the Sandpiper Motel as the place to stay (particularly if you're on a budget but still want a good degree of comfort and convenience) while in Apollo Bay.

Room Tip: If you're after a strong WIFI signal like we were, try to ask for one of the rooms immediately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellochubbybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I've written shorter letters than this review! However, it made good reading for us all at Sandpiper. We've just upgraded the wifi system for the very reason stated by the guest....we all live in a connected world and whilst most of our guests stay with us while they are on holiday they also need to be in contact with their business. Frankly, it's not expensive for us to provide wifi and it clearly adds value to our hospitality package as this guest has pointed out. Thanks for the feedback. It's also great to see the work we put in to the garden at the property is appreciated. If only we could somehow invite potential guests to smell the garden on our web site! It'll happen someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked two rooms in December 2012 for a one night stop on our way to Adelaide. Check-in staff were friendly. The room was clean and tidy with a little balcony and a nice view of the water. The price was a bit on the expensive side - but it was peak season in a tourist destination!

Room Tip: If you don't mind a few stairs, see if you can a room on ocean side with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishka1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Our Ocean View Rooms do command a small premium because you can not only see the ocean through the trees but you can hear it rolling in! A great way to fall asleep....very relaxing. We reckon that's worth paying for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Coastal Motel
Coastal Motel
#6 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Motel

Property: Sandpiper Motel
Address: 3 Murray Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpiper Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandpiper Motel has recently been completely remodeled and provides simple, stylish and contemporary accommodation at a reasonable price. The Motel caters for both couples and families and has sufficient flexibility to look after groups. We are only a gentle stroll from the many and varied restaurants in the centre of Apollo Bay and there is lots to see and do in the vicinity so why not stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sandpiper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Apollo Bay
Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing