We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, convenient place motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandpiper Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sandpiper Motel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice, convenient place motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

On a road trip from Brisbane to Adelaide, I booked two nights at the Sandpiper Motel (Sat & Sun). Very nice, contemporary room, had everything I needed, including free WiFi (what a bonus). The room wasn't huge but then it was just me and I didn't need anything bigger. The new manager is great and very easy to chat to. I would happily stay here again and highly recommened it.

Location is very close to town and 30 min drive to Cape Otway Lighthouse and 1 hour to Otway Fly. Both are highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowwhite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for these kind words. Just reinforces our view that Apollo Bay is a great place from where you can explore the Otways and its environs. Why not stay a couple of days and what better place to stay than Sandpiper Motel? Come on down!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    205
    44
    16
    4
See reviews for
91
366
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warragul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We picked up a 2 night stay for the Sandpiper on deals.com.au. The motel is located in easy walking distance off the main shopping strip. The staff are friendly & knowledgeable of their area. The room was well appointed clean & had a bit of a view of the beach. I say a bit because some one had decided it was a great view & built a 2 storey place further towards the beach!! It's the end of winter so the weather was a little overcast the 1st day but Apollo Bay turned it on for us the next. This is a great starting point for a trip to the 12 Apostles & The Cape Otway Lightstation. Our deal included a 30 min massage @ the Day Spa as well, which was very relaxing. The Sandpiper is somewhere we will come back to when we are next in Apollo Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeckardR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We also hope to see these guests again. There's no greater compliment than a return visit, or at least, the promise of a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Sandpiper Motel was where we spent our first night along the Great Ocean Road, and we couldn't have asked for a better 'pit-stop' than here in Apollo Bay. The hotel's location itself is pretty perfect too: walking distance to the beach (although the weather didn't cooperate with us and it was rainy) and to a whole lot of restaurants for dinner.

The room we were in was perhaps a little small for two of us, but it was very cozy, comfortable and designed in a modern, contemporary style. Most importantly (for us at least): the WIFI was working great - strong signal from our room (which was right behind the reception) and free for all guests. Both my husband and I have jobs that require us to be online often, and finding accommodation with reliable WIFI can sometimes be very stressful while we're on holiday - so this was a huge plus point for us!

No breakfast is included in the room rate, although there is the standard toaster, kettle and other basic cutlery in the room. However one very thoughtful service that the Sandpiper Motel provides is a 'breakfast order' service, where you can order basic items like milk, cereal and juice from them (at regular prices, no exorbitant markups!) and they'll leave it in your room for your breakfast the next day.

I especially loved the little 'garden' of the Sandpiper Motel: there was a lemon tree and a very lovely scent of lavender that hits you once you walk into the backyard. Wonderfully kept grounds and very well maintained lodging. Best of all - for the quality of the room, free WIFI, considerate service plus great location - the room rates for the Sandpiper are really hard to beat. I was really happy that I found this accommodation online, and would highly recommend the Sandpiper Motel as the place to stay (particularly if you're on a budget but still want a good degree of comfort and convenience) while in Apollo Bay.

Room Tip: If you're after a strong WIFI signal like we were, try to ask for one of the rooms immediately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellochubbybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I've written shorter letters than this review! However, it made good reading for us all at Sandpiper. We've just upgraded the wifi system for the very reason stated by the guest....we all live in a connected world and whilst most of our guests stay with us while they are on holiday they also need to be in contact with their business. Frankly, it's not expensive for us to provide wifi and it clearly adds value to our hospitality package as this guest has pointed out. Thanks for the feedback. It's also great to see the work we put in to the garden at the property is appreciated. If only we could somehow invite potential guests to smell the garden on our web site! It'll happen someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked two rooms in December 2012 for a one night stop on our way to Adelaide. Check-in staff were friendly. The room was clean and tidy with a little balcony and a nice view of the water. The price was a bit on the expensive side - but it was peak season in a tourist destination!

Room Tip: If you don't mind a few stairs, see if you can a room on ocean side with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishka1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Our Ocean View Rooms do command a small premium because you can not only see the ocean through the trees but you can hear it rolling in! A great way to fall asleep....very relaxing. We reckon that's worth paying for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay for two nights with our two young children. Family apartment had two separate bedrooms, a comfortable living area and a sensible shower room for after trips to the beach just 2 minutes away. Reliable wifi and free laundry for guests a real plus. Leanne and Richard made us feel very welcome and could not do enough for us, especially in helping us get some out of hours medical care.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_HZ755CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Leanne and Richard are mentioned again! Our new resident managers are helping our reputation grow. It's great to see all their hard work is recognised by our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Check in was awkward, gave our name and after awhile of checking, we were greeted with an awkward "Welcome", although during that pause I was wondering if they lost our reservation or something. The other reviews really had me thinking that this place was top notch, and it is nice, I'd stay here again. It's not something that I'd look forward to though...

Room Tip: Room #18 is a lower level basement room with basic amenities and a very firm bed. It has a nice priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We did have some issues with the reservation management system recently so that would account for the awkward check in. Nevertheless we did let ourselves down on this occasion. Our sincere apologies for that. However, it's great to see that the guest was not sufficiently upset to say they wouldn't stay with us again. If they were to contact us to make another reservation we would be sure to look after them well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have just stayed with my 3 adult children at the Sandpiper Motel for a night's stopover driving along the Great Ocean Road.
We stayed in 2 standard rooms which were just right for us - comfortable beds, TV, bathroom with generously sized wet-room style shower and lovely toiletries and an area with a good sized fridge, toaster and kettle plus a set of crockery and cutlery . We had a minor issue which was sorted out immediately with care and good grace. The heating was very efficient as we had a chilly morning - there was a decked area outside for finer weather. The rooms were absolutely spotless.
We had a very warm welcome and Leanne and her husband were friendly and chatty - perfect to run the Sandpiper. It is in a great location, immediately off the road along the seafront so no passing traffic, the car park was handy for our room. Finally the free wifi was brilliant and all 4 of us made full use of it. I fully intend to return.

Room Tip: Our rooms were facing the sea and were quiet they had a few wooden steps going up to them. Leanne sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annawe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Nothing much to add here. It's great to hear they plan to visit again. There's no better vote of confidence than a return visit.....we look forward to seeing them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Coastal Motel
Coastal Motel
#6 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Motel

Property: Sandpiper Motel
Address: 3 Murray Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpiper Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandpiper Motel has recently been completely remodeled and provides simple, stylish and contemporary accommodation at a reasonable price. The Motel caters for both couples and families and has sufficient flexibility to look after groups. We are only a gentle stroll from the many and varied restaurants in the centre of Apollo Bay and there is lots to see and do in the vicinity so why not stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sandpiper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Apollo Bay
Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing