We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandpiper Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$101
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn The International(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$158
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Seaview Motel and Apartments(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$90
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$68
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Marengo(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$75
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$89
$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coastal Motel(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$89
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachfront Motel(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$76
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveler rating
360
216
49
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
216
49
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomthe great ocean roadfree laundryone nightroom was cleancheck in was quickguest laundryplace to stayshort walkgreat roomoff street parkingground levelfamily apartmentthe main roadocean viewa great staycafes and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 646 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked two rooms in December 2012 for a one night stop on our way to Adelaide. Check-in staff were friendly. The room was clean and tidy with a little balcony and a nice view of the water. The price was a bit on the expensive side - but it was peak season in a tourist destination!

Room Tip: If you don't mind a few stairs, see if you can a room on ocean side with a view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trishka1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Our Ocean View Rooms do command a small premium because you can not only see the ocean through the trees but you can hear it rolling in! A great way to fall asleep....very relaxing. We reckon that's worth paying for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay for two nights with our two young children. Family apartment had two separate bedrooms, a comfortable living area and a sensible shower room for after trips to the beach just 2 minutes away. Reliable wifi and free laundry for guests a real plus. Leanne and Richard made us feel very welcome and could not do enough for us, especially in helping us get some out of hours medical care.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_HZ755CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Leanne and Richard are mentioned again! Our new resident managers are helping our reputation grow. It's great to see all their hard work is recognised by our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Check in was awkward, gave our name and after awhile of checking, we were greeted with an awkward "Welcome", although during that pause I was wondering if they lost our reservation or something. The other reviews really had me thinking that this place was top notch, and it is nice, I'd stay here again. It's not something that I'd look forward to though...

Room Tip: Room #18 is a lower level basement room with basic amenities and a very firm bed. It has a nice private patio.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

We did have some issues with the reservation management system recently so that would account for the awkward check in. Nevertheless we did let ourselves down on this occasion. Our sincere apologies for that. However, it's great to see that the guest was not sufficiently upset to say they wouldn't stay with us again. If they were to contact us to make another reservation we would be sure to look after them well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have just stayed with my 3 adult children at the Sandpiper Motel for a night's stopover driving along the Great Ocean Road.
We stayed in 2 standard rooms which were just right for us - comfortable beds, TV, bathroom with generously sized wet-room style shower and lovely toiletries and an area with a good sized fridge, toaster and kettle plus a set of crockery and cutlery . We had a minor issue which was sorted out immediately with care and good grace. The heating was very efficient as we had a chilly morning - there was a decked area outside for finer weather. The rooms were absolutely spotless.
We had a very warm welcome and Leanne and her husband were friendly and chatty - perfect to run the Sandpiper. It is in a great location, immediately off the road along the seafront so no passing traffic, the car park was handy for our room. Finally the free wifi was brilliant and all 4 of us made full use of it. I fully intend to return.

Room Tip: Our rooms were facing the sea and were quiet they had a few wooden steps going up to them. Leanne said when I return with my older mum in a few months time to phone in advance and she would book us a room without steps.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annawe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Nothing much to add here. It's great to hear they plan to visit again. There's no better vote of confidence than a return visit.....we look forward to seeing them again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have been to a lot of hotels/motels both here in Australia and overseas, but I have to admit that my wife & I have never been looked after better like the service we received at the Sandpiper Motel at Apollo Bay. From the moment you walk in you are treated with first class service, the rooms are neat & modern, the spa is huge & soothing, and the tv has Foxtel. The choice of breakfast is great considering it`s a healthy menu and there is room for all guests to park their car within the complex. They also have a laundry for guests which is handy. By the way, if you stay at the Sandpiper Motel, it entitles you to 50% off the bill for main meals at the Great Ocean Hotel bistro which serves quality meals (and the portions are generous too). All in all, Apollo Bay and the surrounding district provides you a great weekend to enjoy & remember. I would definitely come back here again, no questions asked.

Room Tip: As I`m sure that all rooms are great at the Sandpiper, however the Spa suite is second to none. Spacious, the room is cosy with a private courtyard and the spa itself has the best jets in the tub for all those sore spots under your feet and for your back.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubuoy, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

It doesn't get much better than this in the hospitality industry! This is the result we all strive for...a contented customer who is happy to share their experience with everybody.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews