We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reccomended in Apollo Bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandpiper Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandpiper Motel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
La Venaria Reale
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reccomended in Apollo Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

A short stop in Apollo Bay but enough to appreciate this Motel, I would say 4 star hotel. I assume it is brand new or at least recently refurbished, rooms are modern, clean and very comfortable. All services are provided, included free wifi, a complimentary small bottle of milk and kitcken cups and cutlery available in their proper boxes to respect a common higienic rule. I have been to many other motel in the last two weeks and none of them applied the same quality of services.
I definitively reccomend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ombromanto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    205
    44
    16
    4
See reviews for
91
366
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Sandpiper was a great value place to stay. Comfortable beds, amazing shower (water pressure and steamy heat), little kitchenette. There was a deck we didn't use since it was winter. The room wasn't that bright, but it was nicely done. Also the free wireless was high speed and a nice touch. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Garden view might be less natural light. Try for 2nd floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed in the family 2 bed room apartment, very satisfied with the cleanliness. LOVED how they provided you with nearby sightseeing locations/list & map of restaurants in Apollo Bay. Sofa and LCD TV all fairly new, great ambient heater in the toilet, well equipped kitchen. Only complain is the lack of a radiator/heater in the living space and a couple of windows that could not be locked as they were damaged.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yada_yada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here in August and the first thing we noticed was how cold the room was on arrival - we discovered a window had been left open despite it being 8 degrees max outside. A reverse heating/cooling system is provided but despite setting it to 25 degrees and leaving it on for hours, the room never really warmed up (we eventually asked for a second blanket and slept in jumpers!). What is worse is that the unit was really noisy and kept us awake for most of the night - and if we switched ours off, then the neighbours unit made just as much noise (and somehow seemed to interfere with the digital TV signal!)
The other odd thing is that the bathrooms are really big but the shower did not have a shower tray so the bathroom floor was soaked most of the time!
That all said, the motel is in a good location and is clean. I would imagine that during the summer it is a better place to stay than we found this winter (although not if needing air conditioning).
Of note, the guest laundry is free but only available for use in late afternoon when the motel has finished washing the sheets etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We booked over the internet and were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The rooms were well laid out with unexpected extras includintiesg an ironing board and iron, toaster, kettle, crockery and cutlery. There were also good bathroom amenities and a good size shower.Minutes down the road are a good selection of restaurants for all meals and a handy supermarket. Great value motel.

Room Tip: We chose a garden room that was not facing the road so it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calexandraI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

A great hotel close to the beach. Very clean, comfortable and modern amenities, A short 5 minute walk into the town center. Highly recommend this hotel to people iif staying in Apollo Bay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilly979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Decided to give here a try after comparing the surrounding motels at apollo bay. I had been to motels where pics and actual was way off but I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the door.
The room was well maintained, comfortable feeling. Shower was nice. Owners were friendly. Near to shops and supermarkets and its a great location, not a long drive to the 12 Apostles. Visited the Apostles but missed the light house so will sure to stay there again when I have the chance to visit Melbourne and complete my light house trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda_See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Coastal Motel
Coastal Motel
#6 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Motel

Property: Sandpiper Motel
Address: 3 Murray Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpiper Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandpiper Motel has recently been completely remodeled and provides simple, stylish and contemporary accommodation at a reasonable price. The Motel caters for both couples and families and has sufficient flexibility to look after groups. We are only a gentle stroll from the many and varied restaurants in the centre of Apollo Bay and there is lots to see and do in the vicinity so why not stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sandpiper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Apollo Bay
Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing