We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry standard has dropped significantly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit. The first visit was filled with great memories but this time the experience was terrible. The place was dirty. The oven was oily and not cleaned. The fridge smelled of old food and fishy fragrant. The dishes and utensils were dirty. Not only this, service was terrible. The aircon kept stopping without reason and having asked the person on duty to fix this on 3 occasions, all he could do was blame the hot weather for the breakdown in aircon. If the weather was not hot, would we need the aircon? I have stayed in more than a dozen holiday homes on Great Ocean Road, this must count as the worst. Avoid!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Hsueps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 196 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Very attractive premises, looked very quaint as we arrived. Each "boathouse" is very quaint and self sufficient. We were travelling as a group and had a lovely evening on one deck enjoying the open air and lovely seafood we had brought with us.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Bronwyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

These little apartments are great. I'm not sure what other people are talking about when they say it is dirty. I'm staying in a very VERY clean apartment which is 2 stories. Full kitchen with clean oven/fridge/cutlery.
I'm amazed as to what you get for the price. I love the fact that my room has a fireplace and spa. Perfect for unwinding after a long days work.

I highly recommend this place. The manager is very hard working/very friendly and professional (he will even walk with you to your room to show you where it is which not even high end hotels do). It has a home away from home feel and is close to the beach and short walk to the shops. 10/10 from me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottWooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

After the invention of the 3D printer, i wish I had a 4D (time) one to create a few extra moments to enjoy this paradise a little longer. It was fabulous, romantic, very clean and close to everywhere. We stayed in the Loft Villa and really enjoyed the fires opposite of the large bed. Long walks along the beach directly from the villa. In the evenings we went to Casalingos.

Room Tip: Definitely the Loft! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a 'deluxe loft villa' and were ready to leave the day we arrived! We couldn't believe how filthy it was. Underneath the couches were filled with crumbs. A pan still had egg on it. The scourer in the kitchen was wet and dirty. There were crumbs in the cupboards. The kitchen table was not wiped down properly as it was sticky and the spa was definitely not cleaned. My husband and I could feel the soap scum as we ran our hands around the spa and could see the brownness of it. We contemplated on going to buy our own bleach and clean it ourselves so we could use it but didn't bother and we missed out on a spa! I have never ever seen any sort of accommodation this dirty before. As a cleaner myself, I could not have missed any of this!! Will definitely not be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antara59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in the penthouse unit, absolutely lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed out stay. But for some reason the manager was in a lousy mood and was very unfriendly!! He continued to sign loudly aas he checked us in and I wish I had asked him if he was having a bad day!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We wanted to go away to celebrate our 25th year of Wedded Bliss and could not have asked for more, when we arrived we were greeted with a bottle of Champagne to celebrate our occasion and were then left alone to enjoy the accommodation that was provided. The owners were very helpful and respectful of our privacy and did everything to make our stay enjoyable, we will return again

Room Tip: Although you don't get an ocean view you can still hear the waves rolling in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.4 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
1.3 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse

Address: 9-13 Noel St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Apollo Bay
Price Range: $124 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OVERNIGHT AND HOLIDAY ACCOMMODATION - Rayville Boat Houses provides overnight and holiday accommodation in fully self-contained deluxe villas with a nautical theme on the ocean side of the Great Ocean Road - inside Apollo Bay. The stylish * * * * 4 Star Rayville Boat Houses are self-contained, deluxe, stand-alone Villas (AAA Tourism Rating) and a luxurious Penthouse. RECEPTIONAt our reception you will receive a warm welcome and advice about all the adventures of the Great Ocean Road as well as FREE WIFI, golf clubs, fishing rods, etc.. . Linen, towels, soaps, tea/coffee and wood for the woodfires are being provided.WHERE ARE WE?Walk to the beaches (60m) across the golf course, to the harbour or back up to the Great Ocean Road (60m) and to the shops and restaurants, attractions and markets of Apollo Bay.Enjoy being lulled to sleep by the roll of the waves from the ocean. The property is directed off the Great Ocean Road towards the golf course and the sea and is therefore quiet, away from crowds or traffic. VILLAS & PENTHOUSE. The modern and spacious Boat Houses are tastefully decorated in a nautical theme and all villas have cozy wood-fire, large corner spa, private balcony, full kitchen, television, stereo, video, individual car-port, air-conditioning and are fitted with all the latest amenities.While the Ocean View Villas have views from their terrace towards theocean, the romantic Deluxe Loft and 2 Bedroom Villas are not only cozy but also provide a view of Apollo Bay's amazing ranges from their verandah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayville Boat Hotel Penthouse
Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing